7 Pages«<4567>
House Sinks in Huruma
#101 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 3:47:44 PM

githundi wrote:

The length of a bed is 2m. Does this mean a bed can't fit into those rooms? I think the minimum habitable room size by law is 2.4x2.4m. And 2.4m height.

Poor
Sensational reporting. ..hakuna nyumba ya kuishi narrower than human height Shame on you

Githundi you are absolutely right. The Kenyan media is just shameful to say the truth. And they know it.

it's easy to say it was a bedsitter. Do you honestly think anyone wants to live in such conditions?

How can someone build a house on a property that is public land. Then builds a house that is more than 4 storeys without a lift. Then builds a house that is a danger to living beings. Then collects rent. Then illegally shuts of electricity and does not provide water as is enshrined in the consititution.

No let's blame the victim.

Masukuma please tell me where someone who's paid 10k per month is supposed to live. After all its he's responsibility.

We have indians setting up factories that earn billions of shillings but these fellows pay their "employees" 300 per day. Where is this labor supposed to live?

Nation newspapers even rewards these slave dealers with top 100 by 100 or something awards.

Then we have a labor movement who's leader is only interested in the latest gold chain.

Then the "entreprenuer" who bribes city and government officials to build death traps. The motto is "if you build shit, the assholes shall come".

We even have a thread on wazua on how you can build shit and charge the slaves all their wages....It's called property investments forum.

This Huruma thing is just what Kenya is. Ohh people died. Let's jail a few fellows for 2 weeks. Ohh lets bring down 5 houses and use selfies in Huruma.

Nope that's not the problem. The problem is that public land has been grabbed. Private developers are building on road reserves and waterways and bribing government officials to do so.

Why isn't Kidero today at Nakumatt with a bulldozer. I remember they beat the hell out of Wangari Maathai when she complained. The same cop who beat her up, probably has a relative who died in Huruma.

I think God has had enough of Kenyans. There shall be more to come.

By the way like seriously, what happened to that architect who used to tell us that stealing public land is good for the economy?

#102 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 4:56:35 PM

githundi wrote:

The length of a bed is 2m. Does this mean a bed can't fit into those rooms? I think the minimum habitable room size by law is 2.4x2.4m. And 2.4m height.

Poor
Sensational reporting. ..hakuna nyumba ya kuishi narrower than human height Shame on you

Githundi you are absolutely right. The Kenyan media is just shameful to say the truth. And they know it.

it's easy to say it was a bedsitter. Do you honestly think anyone wants to live in such conditions?

How can someone build a house on a property that is public land. Then builds a house that is more than 4 storeys without a lift. Then builds a house that is a danger to living beings. Then collects rent. Then illegally shuts of electricity and does not provide water as is enshrined in the consititution.

No let's blame the victim.

Masukuma please tell me where someone who's paid 10k per month is supposed to live. After all its he's responsibility.

We have indians setting up factories that earn billions of shillings but these fellows pay their "employees" 300 per day. Where is this labor supposed to live?

Nation newspapers even rewards these slave dealers with top 100 by 100 or something awards.

Then we have a labor movement who's leader is only interested in the latest gold chain.

Then the "entreprenuer" who bribes city and government officials to build death traps. The motto is "if you build shit, the assholes shall come".

We even have a thread on wazua on how you can build shit and charge the slaves all their wages....It's called property investments forum.

This Huruma thing is just what Kenya is. Ohh people died. Let's jail a few fellows for 2 weeks. Ohh lets bring down 5 houses and use selfies in Huruma.

Nope that's not the problem. The problem is that public land has been grabbed. Private developers are building on road reserves and waterways and bribing government officials to do so.

Why isn't Kidero today at Nakumatt with a bulldozer. I remember they beat the hell out of Wangari Maathai when she complained. The same cop who beat her up, probably has a relative who died in Huruma.

I think God has had enough of Kenyans. There shall be more to come.

By the way like seriously, what happened to that architect who used to tell us that stealing public land is good for the economy?

TRAGEDY is our generation of professionals, here is the conversation. http://wazua.co.ke/forum...px?g=posts&m=556518

a4architect.com wrote:
XSK wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:
Seems Sonko is the saviour for mot of Nairobians. It makes no point to demolish buildings in a country having issues with making financial ends meet.

@A4

Even when someone has built on your land without your consent? Sad

@xsk, if its built on land belonging to an individual, then demolition is a solution. If its built on land belonging to Govt, then demolition is not a solution. Ministry of lands/agric appropriated the land from govt to individuals hence what is required are more detailed laws on how idle govt lands should transfer to the public within the confines of law.

In other developed countries, they check all idle underutilized govt lands then use well crafted laws to resell the same to the public for development.

http://www.parliament.uk...nd%20Reform%20Paper.pdf

Its true in some sense but the role of gov in developed countries is to lease zoned pieces of land but the approval of buildings or any development is passed by the council and the public living in that city participate by voting for or against those developments.

#103 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 5:53:38 PM

[

unaniuliza kwa nini? Mimi sijasema watu wasilale kwa mto! Nimesema wajue ni shauri Yao wakilala kwa mot! Kila mtu alijileta Nairobi and the last I checked kuna basi za kurudi shags Nairobi ikiwa Ngumu. Waendelee vivyo hivyo....kwani ni nani anakufa?
#104 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 7:59:32 PM

[

unaniuliza kwa nini? Mimi sijasema watu wasilale kwa mto! Nimesema wajue ni shauri Yao wakilala kwa mot! Kila mtu alijileta Nairobi and the last I checked kuna basi za kurudi shags Nairobi ikiwa Ngumu. Waendelee vivyo hivyo....kwani ni nani anakufa?

presumptions of the 'middle class'...and those who think everyone has options available to them. unfortunately, not everyone has a shag to go back to.
#105 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 8:20:58 PM

mkenyan wrote:
[

presumptions of the 'middle class'...and those who think everyone has options available to them. unfortunately, not everyone has a shag to go back to.

Mkenyan its called thinking that everyone in life has the same experiences and outcomes. Which for a programmer is a strange thought.

Masukuma there are people who are poorer than you. Just to stop you going into the normal stories about how poor you started, please also understand that there are people who started much much poorer than what you think is poor.

You have yet to explain how a company in the NSE still keeps people in their payroll who earn 300 bob a day. Even has industrialist of the year awards. This is slavery and they know it. But shall call it capitalism. Last time I checked, the first world countries pay their slaves more.

Ati kila mtu alijileta nairobi. As if the ones left behind are any better.

Being poor does not equate to a tenderprenuer building death holes to buy mbuzis for wazuans. That's evil. Plain evil.

sitaki.kujulikana
#106 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 8:42:35 PM

mkenyan wrote:
[

Mkenyan its called thinking that everyone in life has the same experiences and outcomes. Which for a programmer is a strange thought.

Masukuma there are people who are poorer than you. Just to stop you going into the normal stories about how poor you started, please also understand that there are people who started much much poorer than what you think is poor.

You have yet to explain how a company in the NSE still keeps people in their payroll who earn 300 bob a day. Even has industrialist of the year awards. This is slavery and they know it. But shall call it capitalism. Last time I checked, the first world countries pay their slaves more.

Ati kila mtu alijileta nairobi. As if the ones left behind are any better.

Being poor does not equate to a tenderprenuer building death holes to buy mbuzis for wazuans. That's evil. Plain evil.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ati the first world companies pay their slaves more, hata ka ni kissing ass, apple, the clothes stores, wallmarts and tescos. so how much do you people pay your house helps, your employees.
#107 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 11:06:58 PM

just saying! ukishindwa na maisha nairobi panda basi uelekee shags ukikataa hiyo - utapandishwa basi tu... only that utakuwa kama mzigo! people should stop giving excuses and start living. but what do I know.... give all the excuses you want... live in those leaning towers of riverside.... risk the lives of your children.... all because KIDERO IS TO BLAME! right? how can we sort this out? let's live in these houses until 2017... kick out kidero and in the crapshoot we call elections pick some other rich dude/dudette then roll the dice again... see if he/she works for us. Let's delegate our responsibilities to marking on a check box with a complementary pen. I am not urging group thinking... I am just urging individual thinking.... wenye wanangoja things to happen for groups - good for you! but what do i know right?
#108 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 7:35:51 AM

just saying! ukishindwa na maisha nairobi panda basi uelekee shags ukikataa hiyo - utapandishwa basi tu... only that utakuwa kama mzigo! people should stop giving excuses and start living. but what do I know.... give all the excuses you want... live in those leaning towers of riverside.... risk the lives of your children.... all because KIDERO IS TO BLAME! right? how can we sort this out? let's live in these houses until 2017... kick out kidero and in the crapshoot we call elections pick some other rich dude/dudette then roll the dice again... see if he/she works for us. Let's delegate our responsibilities to marking on a check box with a complementary pen. I am not urging group thinking... I am just urging individual thinking.... wenye wanangoja things to happen for groups - good for you! but what do i know right?

A poor person doesn't rent a room courtesy of group think. And I'm certain that few if any of the poor are waiting for Kidero to help them. So you don't have to urge anyone to do anything. But you can desensitize yourself from the plight of others and avoid seeing the weakness of your convictions thus.
Anti_Burglar
#109 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 11:07:32 AM

Wewe ndiwe prefect wa Nairobi? They are more resilient than you can ever be but see how lowly you look at them.
#110 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 1:10:54 PM

Shida at the coast:

http://www.the-star.co.k...y-construction_c1346842

A section covering five floors of Mombasa's Nyali Centre collapsed on Monday morning due to what residents said was poor construction.

No injuries were reported but police cordoned off the area amid an evacuation exercise. Business owners were not allowed into the building.

County Urban planning executive Francis Thoya said sections of the premises, including Java House, the Boxing Lounge and several banks, were closed.

Officials will inspect the building before making recommendations, he said, adding the authorities were searching for the engineers and contractors who did a "shoddy job".

Mtu Biz
#111 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 1:46:28 PM

These banks and businesses setting up shop in this nyali building have only themselves to blame.

Do they see joho's business there? Ni joho anaishi hapo?

These banks and other establishments should just go back to shags ama zitapelekwa na sanduku!

Au sio @magreens?
Sola Scriptura

#112 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 3:37:35 PM

#113 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 4:20:58 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
These banks and businesses setting up shop in this nyali building have only themselves to blame.

Do they see joho's business there? Ni joho anaishi hapo?

These banks and other establishments should just go back to shags ama zitapelekwa na sanduku!

Au sio @magreens?

If thats how you understood it, you missed the point by a mile
#114 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 4:40:01 PM

@baba tears due to teargas will not go unpunished.

IEBC must vacate office for these misseries to end.

#115 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 10:09:49 PM

Hapo ndio tumefika

#116 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2016 12:25:41 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

Wewe ndiwe prefect wa Nairobi? They are more resilient than you can ever be but see how lowly you look at them.

LOL @ NBO prefect.
sitaki.kujulikana
#117 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 2:59:25 PM

Wish the people will learn a lesson, the story has been pushed to the back, no one will console with them at the funerals, no body will come to view the dead, the families will foot the bills, the fundraisers if any will be low key affairs, then the sad thing is that the same people will wake up early join long lines just to vote in the same leadership that is now singing praises to their fallen cronies who have looted public coffers.
#118 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 4:04:32 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Wish the people will learn a lesson, the story has been pushed to the back, no one will console with them at the funerals, no body will come to view the dead, the families will foot the bills, the fundraisers if any will be low key affairs, then the sad thing is that the same people will wake up early join long lines just to vote in the same leadership that is now singing praises to their fallen cronies who have looted public coffers.

These people shall vote back their current MCA, MP and Governor. You can take that to the bank.Sad

#119 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 3:07:07 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

their resilience is not in question (perhaps a derivative of their worldview)... it's their decision am questioning. Their fatalism makes them take risks that they should not! When people were being chase from those houses I saw people complaining... hawaoni!! now another building has collapsed

If they were to have their way... I am sure a bunch of people would be buried under that building now...
kiash
#120 Posted : Sunday, June 05, 2016 8:03:47 PM

Wewe ndiwe prefect wa Nairobi? They are more resilient than you can ever be but see how lowly you look at them.[/quote]
their resilience is not in question (perhaps a derivative of their worldview)... it's their decision am questioning. Their fatalism makes them take risks that they should not! When people were being chase from those houses I saw people complaining... hawaoni!! now another building has collapsed

If they were to have their way... I am sure a bunch of people would be buried under that building now...[/quote]

Saw the photos of the yellow blue house and partner on the left and wondered how they are supposed to be on completion. Some guy said the owners are putting paint on the NCCK 'X' and then put a company advert, wondered how people can be so cunning.