KRA wants access to bank accounts without court order
kiash
#21 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 7:16:24 PM

With what am reading then we are seeing a Greece in Kenya not very far from now
Plimsoul
#22 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 7:47:48 PM

mkeiy wrote:
As much as i personally don't like the proposed bill,the bigger picture looks colorful.

A good law for the country but painful to the concerned citizenry.

But KRA already has access to bank accounts, they just need to explain to a judge first why they want it. This is an attempt to remove the courts that protect honest taxpayers from abuse of power.
kimugaman
#23 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 8:23:06 PM

Yes, basically they want a search warrant, without going to court. Imagine how powerful KRA agents will become. They will look for anything suspicious then extort money from people. ...I see you have 1 million in your a/c.. Give me 50k or else! Plus you can't say, "I am broke". Agent will say, here isn't this your bank statement?

Meanwhile, MPs will find a way to exempt themselves from this law. Wanjiku is the one to be shafted.
enyands
#24 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 8:28:06 PM

kimugaman wrote:
Yes, basically they want a search warrant, without going to court. Imagine how powerful KRA agents will become. They will look for anything suspicious then extort money from people. ...I see you have 1 million in your a/c.. Give me 50k or else! Plus you can't say, "I am broke". Agent will say, here isn't this your bank statement?

Meanwhile, MPs will find a way to exempt themselves from this law. Wanjiku is the one to be shafted.

Man if this people will reason that way then they will be the most short sighted fools on earth . They think they will be MP's forever ?? One time they will be like me and you and that's when they will realise the stupid decision they made there is coming to haunt them baadaye.embiciles
streetwise
#25 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 9:09:29 PM

Not acceptable. can you imagine your bank details being posted on whatsapp
Spikes
#26 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 9:38:45 PM

kimugaman wrote:
According to the article, KRA wants free access to all bank accounts without necessarily getting a court order.
The propose this in the finance bill.

I take it to mean, they can just go peeking at every account, and compare it with your tax return (or lack thereof).

Is this even constitutional? Right to privacy?
How about harassment. Imagine some KRA agent just looking at your bank a/c. All that power.

Will it lead to capital flight? Will wanjiku who banks at equity and sells milk put money under her mattress to avoid explaining her account?
Will nakumatt run out of mattresses?
Will politicians even vote for this? Imagine all the kickbacks they get. They will have to keep money at their homes and lobby for more bodyguards to protect their homes where they stash their loot.

Is it rectoactive? How will akina Moi and others explain their bank statements?

KRA seeks free access to taxpayer's bank accounts

This is the best thing that ever happened after I realized that my dick has other uses apart from urinating.

There are some characters in this republic of Kenya and republic of wazua who do not pay taxes and are the biggest noise makers of how the government is under performing,underfunctioning and going under.

Let KRA have the power to freeze your account if there is no relation between the taxes paid and your bank account health.

But considering governments is made up of corrupt cartels, this will never see the light of the day-if it does, that law will be applied selectively

Why pay taxes when I can smartly enjoy my super profits of between 3500-7000% without being noticed. Pure tax avoidance na hakuna mahali wataweza nipeleka. I know that is why they are targeting bank accounts. When you get an opportunity shaft the government to the highest. Life is too short to be poor.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
enyands
#27 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 9:41:34 PM

Spikes wrote:
kimugaman wrote:
According to the article, KRA wants free access to all bank accounts without necessarily getting a court order.

I take it to mean, they can just go peeking at every account, and compare it with your tax return (or lack thereof).

How about harassment. Imagine some KRA agent just looking at your bank a/c. All that power.

Will it lead to capital flight? Will wanjiku who banks at equity and sells milk put money under her mattress to avoid explaining her account?
Will politicians even vote for this? Imagine all the kickbacks they get. They will have to keep money at their homes and lobby for more bodyguards to protect their homes where they stash their loot.

This is the best thing that ever happened after I realized that my dick has other uses apart from urinating.

There are some characters in this republic of Kenya and republic of wazua who do not pay taxes and are the biggest noise makers of how the government is under performing,underfunctioning and going under.

Let KRA have the power to freeze your account if there is no relation between the taxes paid and your bank account health.

But considering governments is made up of corrupt cartels, this will never see the light of the day-if it does, that law will be applied selectively

Why pay taxes when I can smartly enjoy my super profits of between 3500-7009% without being noticed. Pure tax avoidance na hakuna mahali wataweza nipeleka. I know that is why they are targeting bank accounts. When you get an opportunity shaft the government to the highest. Life is too short to be poor.

Spikes you always talk of 3500- 7900 percent returns . What is this deal .you want to share ?
Spikes
#28 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 9:53:41 PM

enyands wrote:
Spikes wrote:
kimugaman wrote:

Why pay taxes when I can smartly enjoy my super profits of between 3500-7009% without being noticed. Pure tax avoidance na hakuna mahali wataweza nipeleka. I know that is why they are targeting bank accounts. When you get an opportunity shaft the government to the highest. Life is too short to be poor.

Spikes you always talk of 3500- 7900 percent returns . What is this deal .you want to share ?

If I buy an item @5 bob and I sell @400 bob that is a smart deal. I discovered that there is a particular way customers behave when they don't have market information.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
enyands
#29 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 10:24:34 PM

Spikes wrote:
enyands wrote:
Spikes wrote:
kimugaman wrote:

If I buy an item @5 bob and I sell @400 bob that is a smart deal. I discovered that there is a particular way customers behave when they don't have market information.

Gimme your email . We need to talk
#30 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 12:27:22 PM

Minimal progres being realized

he target is 100,000 landlords paying taxes by the end of the next fiscal year with the intention to raise at least Sh1 billion in real estate-related taxes.

“There are at least 1,000 landlords who have taken up the amnesty that we gave to declare and pay up tax. We are expecting many more will come forward especially as we approach the deadline in June,” said Mr Njiraini.

As of now, there are a total of 13,000 landlords who are paying tax, including the 1,000 who have been recruited in recent months.
#31 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 12:58:37 PM

he target is 100,000 landlords paying taxes by the end of the next fiscal year with the intention to raise at least Sh1 billion in real estate-related taxes.

“There are at least 1,000 landlords who have taken up the amnesty that we gave to declare and pay up tax. We are expecting many more will come forward especially as we approach the deadline in June,” said Mr Njiraini.

As of now, there are a total of 13,000 landlords who are paying tax, including the 1,000 who have been recruited in recent months.

there will be alot of hide and seek game on this front,rent will be paid on mpesa if they succeed in the bank thing....and especially because of the anger on how taxes are mis-used in kenya
rryyzz
#32 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 4:44:41 PM

mlennyma wrote:

there will be alot of hide and seek game on this front,rent will be paid on mpesa if they succeed in the bank thing....and especially because of the anger on how taxes are mis-used in kenya

Mpesa transactions have not been left behind. KRA working with Safaricom and Equity on the off bank transactions.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Ash Ock
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2016 11:40:09 AM

Safaricom rejects KRA bid for free access to taxpayers M-Pesa accounts

Extract:

Safaricom said it will not give the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) customer data unless laws touching on confidentiality are changed to allow the mining of such information.

The KRA is seeking to gain unrestricted access to taxpayers’ bank and mobile money accounts as part of the efforts to catch tax cheats and improve revenue collection as its targets continue to rise.

“As you are aware, the Constitution of Kenya restricts access to confidential customer information,” Stephen Chege, Safaricom’s corporate affairs director, told the Business Daily in an email response.

“Other laws such as the National Payment Systems Act and the regulations thereunder — which govern M-Pesa — also restrict access to such information unless by a court order.”

Treasury secretary Henry Rotich has, through the Finance Bill 2016, amended a section of the Tax Procedures Act (TPA), laying the ground for KRA’s wish to be granted.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310