wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

They are still killing alleged witches
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 9:38:28 AM

Am looking at today's daily nation of.22 and are saddened to see residents of a village in nyamira county burnt a 75 year old granny to death on suspicion of practicing witchcraft.

In 2016... smh! Why do we even bother sending tsc teachers there ? It's a wasted effort. Let them go back to hunting and gathering. And you will find the idiots filling their churches on Saturday and Sunday!

Can someone explain to me how common sense can be so acute in a community. What terrifies me is that we are forced by the katiba to allow such people to vote and we shall actually count and consider those votes.

What did Africans do to God to end up like this ?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 10:12:27 AM

Am looking at today's daily nation of.22 and are saddened to see residents of a village in nyamira county burnt a 75 year old granny to death on suspicion of practicing witchcraft.

In 2016... smh! Why do we even bother sending tsc teachers there ? It's a wasted effort. Let them go back to hunting and gathering. And you will find the idiots filling their churches on Saturday and Sunday!

Can someone explain to me how common sense can be so acute in a community. What terrifies me is that we are forced by the katiba to allow such people to vote and we shall actually count and consider those votes.

You should have asked "What did kisiis do to God to end up like this ?" You shouldn't drag me into abagusii problems.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 10:32:02 AM

to add @hardwood... God has nothing to do with this! Belief in witches and superstition is a phase in the phases societies evolve through. Each ethnic at one point has believed in these things... Ujinga ni kukwama nazo in a world that has free flowing information. Lakini watu ambao wanabelieve these things watachanuka tu....or will die off and their children will be born into a more open world... it's a matter of time.
Atheismo
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 10:33:00 AM

F.u.c.king dolts!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 11:51:16 AM

Is 'alleged witch' the same or equal to 'suspected robber'?

I wonder whether it's reasonable to say that 'witches' don't exist, therefore do not burn them if you find them.

Or even still, consider the Witchcraft act ... it's like the issue is who is to mete justice to the witch not if the witch exists.

So burning witches may be unjust, but not necessarily 'primitive'.
mkeiy
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 11:57:26 AM

@FRM2011. I am not a Kisii, i hold no brief.

However, there are facts of Yang & Ying, positive & negative, male & female, good & evil. God & devil.

In God you find good, in the devil, you find evil. The bible, God's word, talks of witchcraft, sorcerers , miracles etc.

All the above have nothing to being Africans. It is the way God mandated. He threw Lucifer down to earth to rule [the Bible, not me]. Those Kisii witches are manifestation of Lucifer's rule. When the witches wreck havoc with wanton impunity, the villagers may or may not react.

In the above case, they reacted violently. Others react spiritually, through the word of God or "mganga maarufu".

Otherwise legally there exists little or no redress to victims. How would you prove witchcraft? Evil spirits/casts?

Not unless you say the God of years gone is different from today's God , accept the word of God in its entirety. Uchawi upo kwa Bibilia, uchawi upo duniani.
Jesus Himself used to cast out demons [read witchcraft].
To say otherwise would be contradicting the word of the living God.

Are you contradicting His word?

#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 12:20:26 PM

Why are you generalizing?
daggy254
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 12:27:23 PM

i dont believe in those things
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 4:39:18 PM

mkeiy wrote:

However, there are facts of Yang & Ying, positive & negative, male & female, good & evil. God & devil.

In God you find good, in the devil, you find evil. The bible, God's word, talks of witchcraft, sorcerers , miracles etc.

All the above have nothing to being Africans. It is the way God mandated. He threw Lucifer down to earth to rule [the Bible, not me]. Those Kisii witches are manifestation of Lucifer's rule. When the witches wreck havoc with wanton impunity, the villagers may or may not react.

In the above case, they reacted violently. Others react spiritually, through the word of God or "mganga maarufu".

Otherwise legally there exists little or no redress to victims. How would you prove witchcraft? Evil spirits/casts?

Not unless you say the God of years gone is different from today's God , accept the word of God in its entirety. Uchawi upo kwa Bibilia, uchawi upo duniani.

My mouth is still open. Did you say uchawi upo ? Like seriously. Am sorry if I sound rude but that thinking is like 200 years old. It was a lie that was supposed to work 200 years ago but Africans being the slowest, the coin is yet to drop.

Please repeat after me, witchcraft is not real.

I can offer myself as a guinea pig. Let's summon all famous wagangas to my house. Provided I don't eat anything the give me.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 4:52:49 PM

it's interesting how there is a nexus between ignorance and superstition. The sooner people emancipate themselves from this sort of self enslavement - the better!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 5:21:02 PM

it's interesting how there is a nexus between ignorance and superstition. The sooner people emancipate themselves from this sort of self enslavement - the better!!

You are right @masukuma. There is a very strong correlation.

I grew up in Nyeri and I have never heard of withcraft upus all my life. Apart from the folklore given to us by our grandmothers.

Could it be coz of the early mzungu missionaries' influence ? early adoption and acceptance of formal education, the great schools they bequeathed us ?

Btw mathira constituency in nyeri was sending over 200 students to public universities in the early 80s every year. It was once the subject of a heated debate in parliament.

Guess then we should understand where our brothers are on the evolution timeline.

But how will those young men and women ever catch up with the rest of us ?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 5:32:32 PM

I grew up in Nyeri and I have never heard of withcraft upus all my life. Apart from the folklore given to us by our grandmothers.

Could it be coz of the early mzungu missionaries' influence ? early adoption and acceptance of formal education, the great schools they bequeathed us ?

Btw mathira constituency in nyeri was sending over 200 students to public universities in the early 80s every year. It was once the subject of a heated debate in parliament.

Guess then we should understand where our brothers are on the evolution timeline.

Kuna vitu zingine hauwezi saidia watu nazo... have you ever seen the villages where these people burn witches? or sijui a wizard has been nabbed... really poor places! As one of my friends once said... mahali umasikini ni mingi mpaka inapiga mbinja! I think it's a worldview - a way to explain their state of affairs. The more you know and the more you decide not to allow fate to control your affairs the less your need/expect a deus ex machina showing up everytime you hit a snag.
¿
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 6:02:50 PM

Superstition evolves with the times.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 6:06:15 PM

#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 9:46:45 PM

It's disappointing that some of us will rush to close the matter by making declarations instead of investigation. It's a form of superstition really ...
#16 Posted: : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 10:57:54 PM

Mathira ma githomosmile
¿
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2016 10:59:27 PM

It's disappointing that some of us will rush to close the matter by making declarations instead of investigation. It's a form of superstition really ...

Interesting.How did you investigate the investigations?
UpcomingPaperChaser
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 3:53:39 AM

I do not believe in such satanic beliefs, but after living in Dar Es Salaam, i have encountered so many people who have been affected in one way or the other, or so they purport.....issue na majini, almost everyone here believes in such....especially our Muslim brothers.............there are very many scary stories about such majini stuff here........
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 7:46:46 AM

¿ wrote:

Interesting.How did you investigate the investigations?

You can find out for yourself.
mkeiy
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2016 8:06:40 AM

mkeiy wrote:

My mouth is still open. Did you say uchawi upo ? Like seriously. Am sorry if I sound rude but that thinking is like 200 years old. It was a lie that was supposed to work 200 years ago but Africans being the slowest, the coin is yet to drop.

Please repeat after me, witchcraft is not real.

I can offer myself as a guinea pig. Let's summon all famous wagangas to my house. Provided I don't eat anything the give me.

@FRM2011, Spare me the drama. Is your mouth still open?

Do you believe in the God/Bible? If yes, dude, read your bible well.