Sports
ANOTHER TROPHYLESS SEASON NOW CONFIRMED
really wapi mwenza wetu? he has been MIA for sometime. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Bkismat, That's the kind that commit suicide....Strange but being a fanatic is no good.We must realise that it is just a game and losses are 50% part of it....I say this coz last evening,i watched the game at "the" club.To my amazement,when Arjen struck the killer goal,one lad sitted next to me broke into heavy sweating.....at the end of it all,he became speechless and had to be driven home.Let's keep it easy and once again,who said life is fair? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Jangwa la Jangili wrote:Haiya kwani EPL clubs are over rated? All the big boys have been knocked out by Italian, German and Spanish opposition. Not overrated I think. There's many factors - the rest of the Euro leagues - I think all except EPL - take a winter break, so players are fresher and slightly less susceptible to injury. Injury is another - just ask Arsenal, and to some extent ManU. Chelsea was a different story - they just got out foxed by Maureen. Rooney doesn't just bring goals to ManU. Just look at Gibson's goal. He plays the pass to Gibson and everyone in the Bayern backline (including the goalie) thinks that the next move is a pass back to Rooney and Gibson, who has a good shot, opts to shoot and scores. His reputation precedes him. Even with him not fully fit, he draws defenders to him and opens up options for other players. Once Rooney's injury was aggravated, it was a bad idea to keep him on. Against Barca, there was really a 10-20% chance for a heavily depleted Arsenal squad (arguably 5 certain starters) to win over 2 legs against a team of Barcelona's depth, not to mention 'MakMessiMende' Lets see how next season pans out. If we have a similar outcome - we could start saying that EPL is in decline..
tuvok wrote:
Chelsea was a different story - they just got out foxed by Maureen.
and I can bet my right arm he is going to fix messi and co. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Like bkismat, I too think Maureen will do a Hiddink on Barca, and probably prevail...but this time the return is at the Nou. Mpira ni karata...ask us! BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
Rank: Member Joined: 3/5/2008 Posts: 532 Location: Nairobi
yep...like i have said here before..the english premier league is thoroughly overated, yet completely lacking class, style and pedigree.i rest my case! Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
I have seen Mwenza peeping.........The lad is alive.Praise be to God!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@bkismat..............No comments thus far since this thread is now self-propelling and its becoming, as @willin2learn has said, factual by the day. @blackthought.............Eti what are you asking Wazua to do to this thread? If you feel the thread has become too cumbersome to read, you are at liberty not to bother with it. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Someone seems ready to pick a fight!!....Wooiee...!!Hasira haita saidia....! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
kivairu wrote:yep...like i have said here before..the english premier league is thoroughly overated, yet completely lacking class, style and pedigree.i rest my case! Over-rated my black behind. Quick question: Which League has class, style and pedigree and makes as much money as the EPL, has more die-hard supporting fans and generates more excitement to watch? Italian, German, Brazilian, Portuguese, Spanish, Kenyan? Which one? Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Kivairu.....so where were all these other teams from Germany, Italy and Spain when three English teams reached the semi-finals last season?
Italian? Why is Mourhino so eager to come back to the EPL? Spanish look at the difference between the top 2 and the rest.20 point gap. German? cant say It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
German league is quite interesting btw. and they are more or less financially stable/
EPL may be on top for now but the financial situation of the clubs is a cause for worry - Look at Portsmouth for instance, Liverpool is another case, especially now that UCL is looking increasingly unlikely. ManU and the Glazers fiasco - though Man U have quite a large revenue. A lot of stuff on the state of the financial side of the premier league is online. Sobering stuff.
Spanish league - well the tax break was the main draw for players but that looks to be scrapped.
There's also several measures being put in place to ensure that clubs 'live within their means' - will be interesting to see how things pan out.
Soccer wise: Spanish & German are probably worth watching. Italian can be boring. English - I'm pretty sure if it's not one of ManU, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal playing most people wouldn't watch.
I think we need to get our facts right on something... The EPL is widely regarded as the best league in the world (by the English press). Now, all of us football lovers know that Spanish football is head and shoulders above not only English football but even Italian and German However,the FA has marketed the EPL so widely and well that it has the biggest no. of fans worldwide and makes the most bucks (until now they've decided to cap the amount of money a station can bid for rights to air the EPL). That is why the English say it's the best, just like saying Allan Shearer is the best striker of all time in the EPl since he's the one who has scored the most goals! Of course the English game is also fast paced and adrenalin inducing for the players and exciting for the fans (the fans are so close to the stadium so the player can hear every insult and the fan can see every foul missed by the ref). La Liga is technically advanced football,style oozes even in the bottom teams when you watch the matches - but that's where it ends. La Liga is exciting to watch if you are a real football enthusiast who appreciates the chobo, kanzu, otho and scissor. Serie A is like going to watch football in a factory - a drub affair where fans don't even come to watch their teams (I hear ticktes cost an arm and a leg and all TV stations air the games so why bother?). The games are defensive and efficiency is they key (read boring). I can't remember the last time I saw a Bundesliga game though the highlights look interesting.IMHO, it's a watered down version of EPL - not much style, a lot of excitement from fans (the stadiums are always packed)but still German football. I think the best way to sum up all of this is to ask yourself when was the last time you watched a full Spanish, Italian or German game (and not the Milan derbies or the El Classico).Even the guys who have premium Dstv at home can attest that it's mostly EPL games. Go figure BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
@ Smano. From what i can conclude from your story is; Real Football is NOT in England. iTS Somewhere else. No wonder their National Team has won world cup only once. 1966 when they were hosts. They will have to wait until they host it again in order to win. Ole wao!.
@smano............A nice analysis that. My take though is different. IMHO, the talk of the 'best soccer league in the world or even in europe' is very subjective. This is as subjective as talking of the best club in say England.Like for instance Arsenal fans believe their team is the best in England whereas Man-U fans see nothing in Arsenal compared to their preferred club. This brings us to the question:- What constitutes good soccer? Again, the answer to this is also very subjective. I would say brazilian soccer/league would appear on paper to be the best in the world yet as @smano correctly predicts, i would not waste my precious time watching it on my Dstv..... Why would i waste time watching 'good soccer' by unknown stars? To most of us good soccer is about passion and excitement. Thats why i would opt to watch my dear Man-U playing say, Bolton than watch Barca, with all their so-called good soccer,playing whichever club in la liga. Finally, comparing different 'major' leagues in europe is like wondering what would have happened in Man-U Vs Bayern match had Rafael not been red-carded. Others may argue that had maradona been the coach for Barca, then Messi would not have scored any goal against the hapless gunners............You simply can't tell. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Jaina, Talking of England, do you realize that Spain has never won the world cup...... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Well, well, well! A 0:0 draw for Man U against Blackburn with Chelsea having a game in hand! Chelsea needs to draw 2 games for Man U to have ANY chance at the title. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
McReggae wrote:Jaina, Talking of England, do you realize that Spain has never won the world cup...... Netherlands too I believe. Some of those squads that you wonder how they've never managed to win it. Spain roundi hii have their best opportunity. They can even afford to have Cesc on the bench considering the Barca midfield.
jguru wrote:Well, well, well! A 0:0 draw for Man U against Blackburn with Chelsea having a game in hand! Chelsea needs to draw 2 games for Man U to have ANY chance at the title. This one is Chelsea's to lose.
Sports
ANOTHER TROPHYLESS SEASON NOW CONFIRMED