wazua Tue, Dec 30, 2025

New education system: failure before start
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 11:28:23 AM

The proposed system, the thinking and politics behind it, the implementation ... all lead to failure.

It's a case of the blind leading the blind into quicksand.
#2 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 12:27:08 PM

Moi was a very good teacher! Umoja na Upendo lakini hata nyumbani tunaskia amewekea bibi stoneface, wacheni ukabila, gaarment 80% kabila yake..he would go whispering, you can't trust jaluos..can't trust kikuyus..etc, very good teacher very bad practice, he was only very good at the very beginning and the last few years of his leadership, hapo kati kati, monster, but always a good teacher!
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 2:31:17 PM

Moi was a very good teacher! Umoja na Upendo lakini hata nyumbani tunaskia amewekea bibi stoneface, wacheni ukabila, gaarment 80% kabila yake..he would go whispering, you can't trust jaluos..can't trust kikuyus..etc, very good teacher very bad practice, he was only very good at the very beginning and the last few years of his leadership, hapo kati kati, monster, but always a good teacher!

Are you talking about a cheater, or a teacher?

Education alas is so complicated; the student must discriminate cheaters from teachers before even the lessons start.

Psychologically, the lessons are best started after 25years. Before that the student is merely preparing himself to learn.
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 5:10:39 PM

Are you talking about a cheater, or a teacher?

Education alas is so complicated; the student must discriminate cheaters from teachers before even the lessons start.

Psychologically, the lessons are best started after 25years. Before that the student is merely preparing himself to learn.

Tafakari hayo!
thuks
#5 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 8:29:01 PM

The proposed system, the thinking and politics behind it, the implementation ... all lead to failure.

Sounds so hopeless.
I care!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2016 6:14:53 PM

I'd prefer a model in which pre-schoolers and early primary school students were taught by professors via stories, practical projects and trips. Upper primary to secondary school to be taught by graduates, and tertiary education by P1 teachers... if we truly want to cultivate thinking...
kayhara
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2016 12:47:02 AM

I support the new model, Nursery, lower and upper primary, junior and senior high, then college, also let's have a new examination formula, one exam at the end is the death of 8-4-4,subjects like musiv, art and craft, woodwork, technical drawing, masonry, pottery, basket something, welding,metal work, etc brought back, sports should be there for all
To Each His Own
#8 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2016 2:14:32 PM

The system will be implemented on a pilot phase from next year. What will happen to schools like Alliance and Starehe that pick the brightest students from KCPE? Will they have entry exams or will this be said to be discriminatory? So many questions
#9 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2016 6:20:40 PM

It sounds better to me than 8-4-4. I'd give it a chance.

#10 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2016 7:23:59 PM

Shak wrote:
The system will be implemented on a pilot phase from next year. What will happen to schools like Alliance and Starehe that pick the brightest students from KCPE? Will they have entry exams or will this be said to be discriminatory? So many questions

There are no questions, google about Finnish education system-they say it's the best in the world
sitaki.kujulikana
#11 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2016 7:39:42 PM

any system that gets rid of kcpe and kcse and replaces the same with continuous assessment test will be better
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2016 8:13:58 PM

Isn't this the sort of system most of the 'Americanized' world use?
#13 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2016 10:51:59 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
any system that gets rid of kcpe and kcse and replaces the same with continuous assessment test will be better

Will the CAT's be standardized? Will they become mini KCPEs? I don't get it. How will universities do their intakes?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 6:51:25 AM

I have had a chance of working with interns, I can tell you the current system is churning out very half-baked graduates. Imagine a university graduate who can't write a cheque in words and figures correctly!
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 7:02:28 AM

I have had a chance of working with interns, I can tell you the current system is churning out very half-baked graduates. Imagine a university graduate who can't write a cheque in words and figures correctly!

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Kes 100,002....One Hundred and Two Thousand shillings only
PeterReborn
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 10:11:40 AM

I watched a TED video explaining how the current education system came about and what is ailing the current education system.
RINK
He talks of current education system initially used in industrialization to make the workers behave and do the same thing.
The reality however is that we are all diverse and therefore we cannot all behave the same way and therefore the metrics for measuring education are rigged.
That is what needs to be addressed in the current education system.We need to accommodate diversity both in learning and in testing.
Consistency is better than intensity
Fullykenyan
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 5:23:11 PM

Last time i was at home, i realised a big difference between a european teenager and a kenyan teenager.You can discuss almost everything with a european teenager, the same cannot be said of our teenagers. I had a feeling our kids are ten years behind. They are shy, lack decorum and manners and cant express themselves coherently.There is also a huge difference between 8.4.4 graduates and graduates from that old system. Guys from the old system are more sure of themselves and possess survival skills that our kids lack
sitaki.kujulikana
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 5:25:32 PM

Shak wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Will the CAT's be standardized? Will they become mini KCPEs? I don't get it. How will universities do their intakes?

the teachers will be required to get of their behinds and do their work, teach and test the kids, after all its the teacher who knows the kids well, and thats what they are paid to do.

The universities will use the teachers recommendation, i.e the tests and reports to do their intake, they might add an aptitude test when admitting, lakini they will also be required to get of their behinds and look for kids who fit their institutions, after all they are the ones who know their institutions better and they know who can fit or not.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 5:28:53 PM

Our views on education need to be informed by views of the kind of citizens are needed in an age where there are great advances in technology, cities are becoming more complex and populous and politics more and more intriguing. For example, corporate organizations will be more politically conspicuous.

How will Kenyans live? Education in the 21st century demands visionary leadership, and equally visionary citizenship.

So, for example, children should be trained on tools like critical thinking, research, community sustainance, technology and manufacture- robotics ...

And, exams and assesment tests? No way! Let's focus on making. Let's make the children make things that can sustain themselves in an interactive environment called the 'morphosphere'.

As cities grow more populous, then even places of living would be work places. One's own existence is their work.

All these changes are needed now because they are happening now. We are lagging behind in terms of intellectual capital, which could as well be the greatest asset a people can ever have.

Before the cities become smart, let the citizens be smarter.
sitaki.kujulikana
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2016 5:29:24 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:

Last time i was at home, i realised a big difference between a european teenager and a kenyan teenager.You can discuss almost everything with a european teenager, the same cannot be said of our teenagers. I had a feeling our kids are ten years behind. They are shy, lack decorum and manners and cant express themselves coherently.There is also a huge difference between 8.4.4 graduates and graduates from that old system. Guys from the old system are more sure of themselves and possess survival skills that our kids lack

wacha bias

Did you try discussing with the kenyan teenager in their mother toungue, did you discuss with the kenyan teenager about baba and uk, shida you are discussing with a Kenyan teenager in a foreign language about foreign issues, of course they will falter, try discussing with that european kid in swahili and ask them about issues africa.