wazua Tue, Dec 30, 2025

why do brilliant minds accept govt jobs ?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 2:38:24 PM

I have been toying with this question in my mind over and over.

You are a brilliant chap, at the pinnacle of your professional path, and then you take up a govt job that undoes all you have built over the years. Examples may suffice.

Amos wako was an internationally recognized lawyer who once served as UN special rapporteur for east Timor. Joined moi's govt and the rest is history. Dr. Wilfred Koinange of goldenberg and that other Harvard educated economist who received a msomo from justice bosire during the goldenberg inquiry.

My question is based on the assumption that when you take up a govt job, you are being set up to fail.

I can understand prof githu muigai wanting to serve nyumba, but what about Philip Kinisu? He knows for sure he is being set up to fail. After working on your professional reputation for all these years, why risk it all with a govt job ? Is it worth it ? And poor Nzioka Waita ?

And my second question, why not try to stand out and leave a mark and a legacy ?

Two names here. Brig. Boinett and former CGS Daudi Tonje. Moi must have thought these were fellow tribesmen but each left a mark that changed the institutions they headed for ever. They refused to swim with the tribal tide and thought about posterity and future generations. After the 2002 elections, the clowns from the MoPW refused to build a dias that would accomondate kibaki's wheelchair. Brig. Boinett supervised the construction and made it clear to Moi, he had to respect the people's will.

Uhuru has one in the name of CBK gov Dr. Patrick Njoroge.

Funny enough, I don't remember any name that stood out during kibaki's reign. Arguably our greatest president ever.
chemirocha
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 2:52:41 PM

It is a golden opportunity at career progression whichever way you look at it.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 3:02:09 PM

chemirocha wrote:
It is a golden opportunity at career progression whichever way you look at it.

explain....
Mike Ock
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 3:03:18 PM

You are a brilliant chap, at the pinnacle of your professional path, and then you take up a govt job that undoes all you have built over the years. Examples may suffice.

Amos wako was an internationally recognized lawyer who once served as UN special rapporteur for east Timor. Joined moi's govt and the rest is history. Dr. Wilfred Koinange of goldenberg and that other Harvard educated economist who received a msomo from justice bosire during the goldenberg inquiry.

My question is based on the assumption that when you take up a govt job, you are being set up to fail.

I can understand prof githu muigai wanting to serve nyumba, but what about Philip Kinisu? He knows for sure he is being set up to fail. After working on your professional reputation for all these years, why risk it all with a govt job ? Is it worth it ? And poor Nzioka Waita ?

And my second question, why not try to stand out and leave a mark and a legacy ?

Two names here. Brig. Boinett and former CGS Daudi Tonje. Moi must have thought these were fellow tribesmen but each left a mark that changed the institutions they headed for ever. They refused to swim with the tribal tide and thought about posterity and future generations. After the 2002 elections, the clowns from the MoPW refused to build a dias that would accomondate kibaki's wheelchair. Brig. Boinett supervised the construction and made it clear to Moi, he had to respect the people's will.

Funny enough, I don't remember any name that stood out during kibaki's reign. Arguably our greatest president ever.

People are hungry for lucrative tender and bribe money. Don't think educated people hawana tamaa.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 3:09:51 PM

After reaching the pinnacle of ones career, there is always the urge to serve the public and give back to society. Billionaires go the philanthropy route, the "smaller fish" join govt e.g Adan Mohamed, CS Macharia etc. Still others run for political office.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:51:42 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

People are hungry for lucrative tender and bribe money. Don't think educated people hawana tamaa.

@mikeock I was hoping there is a small group doesn't need bribe money. The few who are driven by a different set of values than the rest of us. No ?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:54:07 PM

After reaching the pinnacle of ones career, there is always the urge to serve the public and give back to society. Billionaires go the philanthropy route, the "smaller fish" join govt e.g Adan Mohamed, CS Macharia etc. Still others run for political office.

And yet when they get the opportunity, they offer nothing worth writing home about. And rather than give back, they join the takers who take even the little we have.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 4:56:40 PM

In @Kibaki's case we can mention @Githongo...our time to eat fame.

#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 9:50:50 PM

I think this question is unclear. 'Brilliant' doesn't mean anything useful save that you like or prefer or admire something.

For example, one could restate the question as, 'Why do people I admire join government?' Then there's the question of do all people you admire join government?

I think there's something toxic about such questions because they appear to promote thought when in fact they do not...
rurinjaa
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 6:30:25 AM

@Kibaki case is different, it's debatable whether Githongo stood up. If he hanged in there, working at State House he had the opportunity to lay strategies to slay corruption. he chose to bail. I sometimes wonder why he had more punch when he was in TI than he has now and even the "other" side seems not to embrace him except when they want crowds and big names to storm the streets, shouting!
kiash
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 8:29:20 AM

There was one Kivutha Kibwana a professor indeed he even advised Kibaki and right now he is being lectured by mwana wa squatter on how to govern Makueni. Why do you call them brilliant ? i think a part from doctors(who treat people and not tittles) would be the only people i would call brilliant. Others can be crammers (sijui if thasts the correct english)
Look at today for instancen there will be matatu strike reason , a doctor controlling the county knew all along there is a problem and licences were issued. He was brought to senses by Kamanda who i doubt (his educational status).

On another noten was Waiguru not a "brilliant" mind ? d'oh!
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 9:35:25 AM

rurinjaa wrote:
@Kibaki case is different, it's debatable whether Githongo stood up. If he hanged in there, working at State House he had the opportunity to lay strategies to slay corruption. he chose to bail. I sometimes wonder why he had more punch when he was in TI than he has now and even the "other" side seems not to embrace him except when they want crowds and big names to storm the streets, shouting!

You do not know what you are talking about
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 9:42:05 AM

Martha Karua
PeterReborn
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 2:47:09 PM

Working for the government is very lucrative-Even when you are not putting your hands in the cooking Jar.The salary is not so good but the allowances and the working environment is awesome.You also have enough time to run your other businesses and spend time with the family.
Consistency is better than intensity
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 2:58:07 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Working for the government is very lucrative-Even when you are not putting your hands in the cooking Jar.The salary is not so good but the allowances and the working environment is awesome.You also have enough time to run your other businesses and spend time with the family.

But this one of time to run businesses and such is not always true. Mostly depends on your level and which govt section you work in. I have dealt with guys working at some govt offices like KRA n Treasury at relatively high levels and the pressure they go through is mostly worse than even at private sectors. Some of them work damn hard for long hours.
Wainadi
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 9:50:10 PM

The brilliant minds being wasted by politics are more numerous.
Its all good.
Mike Ock
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 10:18:42 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

@mikeock I was hoping there is a small group doesn't need bribe money. The few who are driven by a different set of values than the rest of us. No ?

The difference between human DNA and chimpanzee DNA is 2%. To understand humans, study the 98% smile
¿
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 10:35:12 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

The difference between human DNA and chimpanzee DNA is 2%. To understand humans, study the 98% smile

UpcomingPaperChaser
#19 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 12:34:45 AM

Allowances and job security........my peers working at the lands get paid allowances of 11k per day for nights spent out of Nairobi.............averagely 7 days a week wako field!!!! not bad your young professionals
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#20 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 12:16:51 PM

While the government might have employed the brilliant, it seems not to have employed the wise.

Apparently, the trend may be that due to a dearth of wisdom the mass man goes for the shine of his ego. And thinks brilliance is a virtue.