wazua Sat, Mar 21, 2026

14 Pages123>»
Church leaders: Go to hell!!!
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 6:09:29 AM

...The religious in Kenya do not just follow people blindly. The case of church leaders saying that they will ask their faithfuls to vote no in the referendum is neither here nor there. Theirs is not a cult where followers of a certain church have to do what the leaders command. People are clever to make their own independent and informed decisions. If they decide to vote 'no', it is up to them. They should do so as individuals. Some of these clergymen are no better than the politicians we have. They misuse money form their churches, others are involved in sex scandals etc. They have no moral ground to preach to Kenyans things that can cause more harm. To them I say "Go to hell"
Magigi attached the following image(s):
J0149407rv.jpg (30kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
gabrini
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 7:37:05 AM

Exactly,they need to go to hell.during the last general election they took a back sit when they left their flock to the wolves by telling them to use their own integrity to elect leaders of their choice.what makes them think they now have a right to advice Kenyans.Shame on you
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 7:39:50 AM

Someone suggested that there could be other reasons why the churches is not for this new constituition. They could be hiding under the Kadhi's court and the perceived legalised abortion to oppose the new draft law. What else are they uncomfortable with?
Jangwa la Jangili
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 8:28:29 AM

In theory, this would be true. But the reality is different. Church leaders do have the network and influence especially outside Nairobi more so if they choose to speak with almost singular voice. The solution now should be to face their concerns squarely and not to hide from it as the COE did. I think the PM and President are trying to do that which is fantastic. Confrontation will only make things worse.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 8:34:46 AM

listen to them....there is enough time to sort out their issues otherwise we may end up in a hot situation like the banana / orange referendum.
the sage
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 8:48:44 AM

This is rekigious tyranny. This is one of the best things to happen to Kenya and now the Churches want to block it to regain political clout. They can go to Hell.
Pastor M
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 9:36:25 AM

I hear you but if the state does not listen to the Church and amend the Kadhi and abortion issues before its too late I tell you my brothers and sisters the new constituition will fail.....I CALL UPON ON ALL BIBLE BELIEVERS IN WAZUA TO UNITY WITH OTHER CHRISTIANS AND SAY NO....All the churches (about 96) in my locality have united and are having door to door movement..I have never seeing this kind of unity again...catholics,protestants,wakorino,angel maria etc.Nobody will be able to stop this movement we are fighting for our faith,our country,the unborn and our belief....we will fight with prayers and our votes...
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 9:58:39 AM

Pastor M

Wewe na nyinyi piganieni faith yako/yenu pekee yenu.. im also a member of the churches you have mentioned above and i will vote yes..Kadhhis courts or a clause on arbotion... hii hardline mentality sitaki..

but i will remember to pray and pray hard..
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:08:23 AM

The Kadhi courts might be an issue but i see nothing that legalizes abortion in this document......while at it,i must ask,what is it the churches expect to be done.The entire constitution making process is enshrined in the current constitution.It might not be possible to take back the document to parliament for amendments and neither can the two principal do anything about it.......Calling for a No vote is itself a tall order.It would require proper and well coordinated campaigns which i doubt the church have the capacity......Even then,i can't entirely trash their effort.
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:09:54 AM

Pray ye, pray ye, take a moment to read an insightful article that explains why we must applaud Ms Martha Karua, Mr Caroli Omondi and Mr Kathurima M’inoti.

They ochestrated a master stroke that smoothed and hastened the review process, by the deliberate omission of these four entities:

1. The non-governmental bodies in Kenya at times do some decent advocacy jobs. The bottom line, however, is that they are only accountable to those who underwrite their budgets.

2. The Kenyan judiciary, historically, is an institution distrusted by ordinary Kenyans but loved by leaders.

3. The office of the Attorney-General wasn’t even trusted with the legal drafting of the Act. History has shown that the many debacles that befell the review process were subtly engineered or planted by the office.

4. Religious organisations and bodies in the mould of the colourful Bomas crowd were also deliberately omitted. This was to ensure that divisions are kept to the minimum.

Master Strokes article link

It is universally acknowledged that constitution making during peace time is difficult. The players don’t see the urgency to make sacrifices that are necessary in constitutional making.
14 Pages123>»