wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

9 Pages«<45678>»
Break up Kenya into smaller states-Ndii
#51 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 4:57:45 PM

I havent read Ndiis article but if with devolution some of these counties cannot even raise enough money to pay their workers how in the world would they survive? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly laughable

Same way the kenyan govt is surviving, remember last year's cash crunch that faced GoK?
#52 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 5:14:58 PM

Alba wrote:
South sudan pays a toll of $25 dollars per barrel of oil to transport it through Sudan and the price is $40 - they get GROSS $15 for their troubles. Ethiopia get it's sea access through Djibouti. Who here knows of a prosperous landlocked nation? Western will join the leagues of Uzbekistan and Liechtenstein in being doubly landlocked - it will not be a nice thing to just have a fiefdom. I remember a report saying the price of stuff to Burundi is like 1800 from the coast and the price of getting that container to mombasa from china is like $400. Ngoja mkuwe na a doubly landlocked fiefdom ndio mtajuta.

Ever heard of Switzerland?
Oh and Botswana's GDP per capita is 3 or 4 times higher than Kenya.
Even Zambia's GDP per capita is much higher than Kenya.

Having said all that, Ndii is not serious that Kenya should just split. He is expressing the opinion of millions of suffocating Kenyans who are tired of 50 years of misrule and wish Kenya was separate countries

Extractive industries and money laundering. Who here has a product written "made in [LANDLOCKED COUNTRY]"
#53 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 5:22:52 PM

I havent read Ndiis article but if with devolution some of these counties cannot even raise enough money to pay their workers how in the world would they survive? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly laughable

Same way the kenyan govt is surviving, remember last year's cash crunch that faced GoK?

The cash crunch was occasioned by the war in Somalia, the UN has since reimbursed the moneys. Counties whose most creative idea is to tax your chicken will face major migration. Or will they be required to apply for visas? I guess in that case there will be coups allover Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Alba
#54 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 5:55:40 PM

Extractive industries and money laundering. Who here has a product written "made in [LANDLOCKED COUNTRY]"

How come you never tire of posting ignorant stuff on wazua? Switzerland has some of the biggest companies on the globe. Iconic companies like Nestle, Novartis, Swatch, Rolex, Logitech, Roche...

Switzerland is the 4th largest exporter per capita. Switzerland is the 17th largest exporter in the world. ((And its not raw materials.)

Who uses Swiss products you ask? I bet half of wazuans perhaps including you have been treated by a Roche or Novartis drug injected or swallowed.
#55 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 6:11:00 PM

Alba wrote:

How come you never tire of posting ignorant stuff on wazua? Switzerland has some of the biggest companies on the globe. Iconic companies like Nestle, Novartis, Swatch, Rolex, Logitech, Roche...

Switzerland is the 4th largest exporter per capita. Switzerland is the 17th largest exporter in the world. ((And its not raw materials.)

Who uses Swiss products you ask? I bet half of wazuans perhaps including you have been treated by a Roche or Novartis drug injected or swallowed.

Switzerland is an exception to the rule. And this debate is not about Switzerland it's about inviable ethnic fiefdoms becoming viable entities as soon as they become landlocked. There is a reason majority of the world's population lives on the sea line.
#56 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 6:30:39 PM

Lakini Kenyans like arguing a lot.

I'm sure all of you have met someone who has said, "tutawawachia hio nchi", ""wacha wakae huko interior, tuone kama museveni.." "watoka bara", can't even mention some of the things I've heard just incase I'm undermining....

The fact that its still a trending topic shows that he hit a nerve.

Be real, maybe we might solve this "mtu wetu" syndrome and actually start dealing with issues. The way things are going, Ndii is only the first...I'm waiting for Moses Kuria's take on this...

Words really do hurt Kenyans. Ama he'll tell him to go back to Mayakos.

Funny how the solutions to what should be done to him are the exact solutions he was expounding in the article.

#57 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 6:57:54 PM

We are a country that like mourning and lamenting. What we, as a Country, need to work on is aspects that strengthen devolution and we will be good to go. All other aspects like dividing the nation is just mchene galore!!!
shocks
#58 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:04:46 PM

This story is a wild fantasy probably meant to keep the masses busy and enthralled with nothing. It goes back to the politics of knowledge. Many of us would lack the capacity to discriminate and use knowledge for political benefit. Ndii will do his articles and earn a name and some money via Wanjikuwood.

But what happens to Wanjikuwood? She gloats in the corruption she's been fed with and will even fight to keep her lowly status.

Slaves!

Reminds me of the arguements we had immediately babu lost the last elections. We were told a paliamentary system would have gotten babu elected regardless of the fact he neither controls the National Assembly nor the senate. Then we were told an electoral college would get babu elected, if he didn't win enough paliamentary and senate seats, pray tell how he would have won enough delegates to elect him at the electoral college. Finally came the rotational presidency which is so stupid I won't even get into it.
I agree, this opinion pieces are only good atcreating a discussion, nothing concrete can come out of it
Alba
#59 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:16:07 PM

Switzerland is an exception to the rule. And this debate is not about Switzerland it's about inviable ethnic fiefdoms becoming viable entities as soon as they become landlocked. There is a reason majority of the world's population lives on the sea line.

Oh please. There is no rule that says that if you are landlocked you are doomed to being poor. Most landlocked countries are poor for other reasons. Some are small, some have no resources and many are poorly governed.

You seem to have a simplistic worldview where everything is governed by 1 or 2 hard and fast rules. Real life is far more complex than that.

Even landlocked Zimbabwe when it was well governed had a robust economy with significant agricultural exports and a relatively high standard of living compared to Mozambique which has 2470 km of coastline and even Angola which was doing poorly at the time.
#60 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:50:30 PM

In Kenya these days you just need to be anti govt

Just pen anything, however stupid and people will see a great intellectual piece

You oppose, you're a tribalist; a sycophant

Apart from Ndii, check what(who) else is trending on twitter; a tribe!

Kenyans can't agree on whether Ndii's article is to be taken literally or has deeper meaning. I guess only Ndii can tell us

9 Pages«<45678>»