wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

buying an airline ticket
sizzla
#1 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 3:46:00 AM

I have plans to travel to US in a month's time an i need to buy 2 airline tickets for the trip. Is it advisable to buy them directly from Emirates.com (cheapest option) or should i go thru a travel agent.

I think airlines did away with paper tickets a while back,so what are the pros and cons? Thanks in advance.

...black woman and child
nahdy
#2 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 9:17:00 AM

sizzla
u can go thru an agent.
they do hv options which can save u some $
on an aircraft u will find an 'economy class' has 3 options(categories) with different pricing.
so if u go thru an agent explain to them that u need d cheapest of the economy class.
can u imagine if u r near the door,they say it has a diff pricing(reason is d discomfort u get when the door is opened)!!!!
#3 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 10:48:00 AM

Its always cheaper and safer to use an agent for long haul flights. The agent will check your documents plus you will pay in Kshs at very good rates (even better than bank counter rates).

Online purchases are only good when you need to make quick one hr hops from one city to the next.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
sukuma
#4 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 11:08:00 AM

@sizzla
an agent is the better option btw are you the guy from ongwaro?

sk lady
Goals
#5 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 12:15:00 PM

Agents are not always cheaper. Airlines also have sales team that will advice on offers available.

Just try the two options ask for offer from agent and from airline and compare. By the way agents earn a commision,the savings shd come to you. my one cent

I can teach anybody how to get whatever they want out of life. The problem is that I can't find anybody who can tell me what they want.' Mark Twain
Feish
#6 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 10:27:00 PM

try farecast.com and tripmama.com you may get a deal of the season..........emirates.com too expensive

life is an endless adventure
dashauto
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 7:16:00 AM

nahdy

'Ati disconfort of seating near the door' Kwani ni matatu?

God is never PUZZLED!!!!!!!
nahdy
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 8:11:00 AM

@dashauto
jst wait till u reach djibouti or sudan & d door opens,u'l knw wat discomfort is !!!!
Kinyee
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 11:12:00 AM

The difference btwn airline and agents is around $5,so i wonder why you are going to US and cant afford airticket comfortably.

arsenal fanatic
moran
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 12:51:00 PM

I hope u have not fallen to the capital FM crooks who are lying to Kenyans in a bid to populize Qatar airways that they fly direct to JFK New york. Emirates will fly you to DUBAI 1st then Europe then US too long. Try carriers that transit via Europe like Kenya Airways,BA,Virgin KLM .SN Brussels airlines of late have good rates. Using an agent is better coz they can get u the best deals available but of course sio eti u fly Air India,Qatar,EK to ASIA 1ST its not worth the saving.Agent try UNIGLOBE opp Barclays plaza very proffesional.

When u r good to people,they dont like when u r bad people wont like you either so i would rather be bad
sizzla
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:27:00 PM

Thanks for the info guys,willd efinately do my homework with the various agents.

One more question,do i need a transit visa if going thru' Dubai,london e.t.c ?

@sukuma,no am not from ongwaro...lol

...black woman and child
Feish
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:39:00 PM

@moran.......if you fly emirates from JKIA. it goes to dubai then you wait for 2 hours and fly direct to JFK....a 14 hour flight. you dont stop in europe. you can also decide to get other airlines that fly to europe then us but i can assure you that the fastest is emirates for this case. When you look at the cost you can fly KLM and affiliates to europe then air america to JFK and you will save more than 200usd.

For those advocating for travel agents the only benefit is discount when one has tax free incentives,those working with NGOs,UN,diplomats. Else just book online and you will get the best deal. As for transit Visa as long as you have a varied US visa you dont require visa in Dubai or UK as long as you will be within the transit airport. If you plan to get out of airport you need a visa

life is an endless adventure
sizzla
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 1:50:00 PM

Thanks Feish for the tip,really appreciate. I just saw Virgin website has a long wait of over 12 hrs,which is really cumbersome. Thanks again guys.

...black woman and child
brubo
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:01:00 PM

you didn't say which state you are going to ....... anyhowly most european carriers have more flights to most states in the US like BA,KLM and even KQ through their partners.....

There are many things you ought to consider....cheap is sometimes expensive...

1) Will you need to change your travel plans after you have paid for your ticket and it so can this be done and at what fee ?

2) After check on the airlines websites ( KLM,SWISS,SN,BA,KQ or Virgin) and see who has the best prices with the best conditions......

3) If you still have time visit some 2 or 3 major travel agents ...they tend to be much better and can quite easily cope with any problems you may encounter on your travel.... ( HRG-Elite travel,Bunson or Uniglobe are very good.
Eddy
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 2:38:00 PM

suggest you delay your trip to early June and get a wonderful deal on Delta Airlines and with the shortest time to the US via Dakar in Senegal as you make history.
mukwano
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:14:00 PM

1. qatar cheaper by about 100 bucks and more bearable trip than emirates (better transit)

2. euro airlines far more expensive but shorter trip. i.e 16 hrs vs 31 hours if comparing KLM to qatar

3. we been waiting for that direct delta flight since jan ...

4. on my last ticket saved 700 bucks buying online instead of through agent. but some pal tells me some agents are better than others.

5. visa required for qatar and london if leaving the airport. under no circumstances agree to transit long @ heathrow. its like a fish market .. with attitude.

have fun in Obamaland dude!
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 5:09:00 AM

Ethiopian via ADD. US$ 619 (excl taxes) Port - Atlanta.
sizzla
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 9:24:00 AM

@ Eddy will be travelling to connecticut for my sis's graduation so can't postpone the trip...i will definitely check out both options b4 making any decision.

...black woman and child
mukwano
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:52:00 PM

so direct flight exists! wow! figures they would keep their promise after I book elsewhere. (jan was the launch date then PEV ...) i should surf stockskenya more often ...
so went on delta sight to check out prices and try book (and then promptly cancel my emirates ticket) lakini its impossible. anybody tried or done it? how much is a return? please reply ASAP!!
brubo
#20 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:29:00 AM

@Mukwano
I beg to differ about transiting a heathrow,,,,,I think Terminal 5 has really made things much better........ can't compare it to before (Used it 5 times last year !)...the only drawback with transiting Heathrow is if you want to get out of the airport you need a transit visa...otherwise if you are going to the US and just transiting without getting out of the airport,you don't need a VISA