wazua Fri, Jul 4, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Maumau fiasco
#61 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 1:48:12 PM

Kila mtu ajipange - if the accident of birth did not make you appear in the womb of a person who made a good decision, wewe make good decision yourself! my grandpa was in Mangu (Kabaa i think it was called) together with akina Tom Mboya and since it was a catholic school he decided not to partake in the catholic rituals , thus quit and went to TZ (watu walikuwa wakienda TZ ku-DO?) and such decisions kinda changed our lives.... but if you think about it, if he had not made the decision he made, he could not have met my grandma and my dad would not be here and thus I would not have been here.... so was it a good decision? I think so... not for him but for me (sasa nani angeandika hii post?). so for you bitter and incensed people who say you were children of mau mau people - if they had 'won' and gotten wealthy they would not have met your parents (they would have married some good looking people somewhere else...) and your parents would not have met and you would not be here reading my post! so.. .history is history... to be learned from.. .wewe make good decisions today and maybe the small/trivial decisions would land an Obama in future.
PeterReborn
#62 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 1:58:50 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Very interesting discussion. In retrospect this war was unnecessary. We should just have allowed the mzungu to continue ruling us. Kenya would be middle economic country by now. The maumau veterans died like dogs. They were never appreciated. The collaborators educated their kids and are now running this country. The children of maumau are still squatters and live in poverty.

Still worship the collaborators and their kids smile

squatters? Wapi??

You can visit them in Magutu-Nyeri county.
Consistency is better than intensity
PeterReborn
#63 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 2:06:40 PM

wukan wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Very interesting discussion. In retrospect this war was unnecessary. We should just have allowed the mzungu to continue ruling us. Kenya would be middle economic country by now. The maumau veterans died like dogs. They were never appreciated. The collaborators educated their kids and are now running this country. The children of maumau are still squatters and live in poverty.

I have posted because it's important not to have a defeated attitude. A defeated mind will never innovate or prosper. maumau made a very important point in the words of Winston Churchill to a leader of the white settlers " Kikuyu are not the primitive cowardly people which many imagined them to be", ‘but people of considerable fibre, ability and steel’

Those mzungu you think were good were called by General Erskine ‘They are all middle-class sluts.’ Kenya was ‘a sunny land for shady people’

Look for this book Histories of the Hanged: Britain’s Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire by David Anderson

There is nothing like defeatist here.The Maumau were cheated. They were promised liberation. They gave it all but someone took advantage of their ignorance. The elite sacrificed them. They are still in prison. Economic prison.They are now being used as voting machines and worshipping muthamaki.
#64 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 2:10:46 PM

Kila mtu ajipange - if the accident of birth did not make you appear in the womb of a person who made a good decision, wewe make good decision yourself! my grandpa was in Mangu (Kabaa i think it was called) together with akina Tom Mboya and since it was a catholic school he decided not to partake in the catholic rituals , thus quit and went to TZ (watu walikuwa wakienda TZ ku-DO?) and such decisions kinda changed our lives.... but if you think about it, if he had not made the decision he made, he could not have met my grandma and my dad would not be here and thus I would not have been here.... so was it a good decision? I think so... not for him but for me (sasa nani angeandika hii post?). so for you bitter and incensed people who say you were children of mau mau people - if they had 'won' and gotten wealthy they would not have met your parents (they would have married some good looking people somewhere else...) and your parents would not have met and you would not be here reading my post! so.. .history is history... to be learned from.. .wewe make good decisions today and maybe the small/trivial decisions would land an Obama in future.

PeterReborn
#65 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 2:13:58 PM

Even when you talk of individual decisions that can make you succeed you cannot ignore the environment one is born in.You cannot say a child that is born in Kibera and the one born in Muthaiga have equal opportunities.The child in Kibera has to work 3 or 4 times more than that born in Muthaiga to make it in life.That doesn't mean we ignore that the if the parent living in muthaiga is the reason someone else is living in Kibera we don't call him out. Spade needs to be called a spade.
Fyatu
#66 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 4:56:39 PM

Fyatu wrote:
That the maumau fought and died for the people of Kenya is an absurd story to feed our minds with.

The truth is that these were disaffected people who tried to shape their experience and failed miserably and won nothing for anyone.

The MauMau struggle was real. Kimathi's blood watered the tree of independence.

ansd stunted it's growth! trees don't grow on blood!Shame on you

Algeria July 5th, 1962 France
Angola November 11th; 1975 Portugal
Benin August 1st; 1960 French
Botswana September 30th, 1966 Britain
Burkina Faso August 5; 1960 France
Burundi July 1st; 1962 Belgium
Cameroon January 1st; 1960 French-administered UN trusteeship
Cape Verde July 5th; 1975 Portugal
C.A.R August 13th; 1960 France
Chad August 11th, 1960 France
Comoros July 6th; 1975 France
Congo August 15th; 1960 France
Congo DR June 30th; 1960 Belgium
Cote d'Ivoire August 7th; 1960 France
Djibouti June 27th; 1977 France
Egypt February 28th, 1922 Britain
Eq Guinea October 12; 1968 Spain
Eritrea May 24th; 1993 Ethiopia
Ethiopia over 2000 years,
Never colonized (formerly)
Kingdom of Aksum --
Gabon August 17th; 1960 France
Gambia February 18th; 1965 Britain
Ghana 6 March 1957 Gold Coast Britain
Guinea October 2nd; 1958 France
Guinea Bissau 10 September 1974
24 September 1973 Portugal
Kenya December 12th, 1963 Britain
Lesotho October 4th; 1966 Britain
Liberia July 26th; 1847 American colonization Society
Libya December 24; 1951 Italy
Madagascar June 26th; 1960 France
Malawi July 6th; 1964 Britain
Mali September 22nd; 1960 France
Mauritania November 28th; 1960 France
Mauritius March 12th, 1968 Britain
Morocco March 2nd; 1956 France
Mozambique June 25th; 1975 Portugal
Namibia March 21st; 1990 South African mandate
Niger August 3rd; 1960 France
Nigeria October 1st, 1960 Britain
Rwanda July 1st; 1962 Belgium administered UN trusteeship
SaoTomePrincipe July 12th; 1975 Portugal
Senegal April 4th; 1960 France
Seychelles June 29th; 1976 Britain
Sierra Leone April 27th; 1961 Britain
Somalia July 1st; 1960 British Somaliland
Italian Somaliland Britain
Italy
South Africa 11 December 1931,
April 1994(end of apatheid) Union of South Africa Britain
Sudan January 1st; 1956 Egypt, Britain
Swaziland September 6th; 1968 Britain
Tanzania April 26th, 1964 Britain
Togo April 27th; 1960 French administered UN trusteeship
Tunisia March 20th; 1956 France
Uganda October 9th; 1962 Britain
Zambia October 24th; 1964 Britain
Zimbabwe April 18th; 1980 Britain

just look at the dates...

while your grandfather was hunting and gathering and running half naked chasing after monkeys in bliss, the maumau had already started carrying guns and even knew how to make them while in the forest fighting for their land (white highlands no more). Mind you Kenya was not named after kit mikayi or luanda k'onyango or a random swamp....it came from the word Kirinyaga. I call on all okuyos on wazua to make sure they identify which of the nine clans they belong. Trace your roots and only then will you know who you are and what your ancestors were made of and most importantly that Agikuyus are not sitting ducks.They are capable of organizing and executing plans. Afterall, the mubeberu formed the Kenyan State as we know it after signing a peace treaty between the warring Maasai and Agikuyus and immediately alienated their land.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#67 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 5:29:20 PM

Fyatu wrote:

while your grandfather was hunting and gathering and running half naked chasing after monkeys in bliss, the maumau had already started carrying guns and even knew how to make them while in the forest fighting for their land (white highlands no more). Mind you Kenya was not named after kit mikayi or luanda k'onyango or a random swamp....it came from the word Kirinyaga. I call on all okuyos on wazua to make sure they identify which of the nine clans they belong. Trace your roots and only then will you know who you are and what your ancestors were made of and most importantly that Agikuyus are not sitting ducks.They are capable of organizing and executing plans. Afterall, the mubeberu formed the Kenyan State as we know it after signing a peace treaty between the warring Maasai and Agikuyus and immediately alienated their land.

Man...relax...pole for your granpa and other relatives who lost their lives/were tortured by the Brits

That doesn't mean they be automatically taken as heroes not unless we want to create another Rwanda where denying the 94 genocide is a crime

#68 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 5:35:26 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Man...relax...pole for your granpa and other relatives who lost their lives/were tortured by the Brits

That doesn't mean they be automatically taken as heroes not unless we want to create another Rwanda where denying the 94 genocide is a crime

So when you have a different opinion you automatically become them, not us. @masukuma Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#69 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 5:39:38 PM

Fyatu wrote:

relax man... no matter how hot your anger is, it cannot cook potatoes! chill! I would urge you to look ahead into the future. The one thing that is admirable about the maumau is that they tried to change their fate in the way they knew best (it was not the best but it still counts). So do the same to yourself - for me - I will will not trace my roots since that will tell me what my ancestors were - they lived their lives and this is my time....
#70 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 5:44:02 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Even when you talk of individual decisions that can make you succeed you cannot ignore the environment one is born in.You cannot say a child that is born in Kibera and the one born in Muthaiga have equal opportunities.The child in Kibera has to work 3 or 4 times more than that born in Muthaiga to make it in life.That doesn't mean we ignore that the if the parent living in muthaiga is the reason someone else is living in Kibera we don't call him out. Spade needs to be called a spade.

yes... you find yourself wherever you find yourself - that's the accident of birth and so the guy in kibich should start working 3-4 times as hard early instead of wasting time blaming his parents for decisions they took or worse blaming people he has never met for decisions they took.... unknown to them that some of those bad decisions led to the complainant being here to complain... in their stead would have been some more good looking characters not giving us grief on the internet coz the dad/mum would have opted for better looking partners coz alikuwa na kapesa... so watu wasonge mbele!!
#71 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 8:00:50 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

yes... you find yourself wherever you find yourself - that's the accident of birth and so the guy in kibich should start working 3-4 times as hard early instead of wasting time blaming his parents for decisions they took or worse blaming people he has never met for decisions they took.... unknown to them that some of those bad decisions led to the complainant being here to complain... in their stead would have been some more good looking characters not giving us grief on the internet coz the dad/mum would have opted for better looking partners coz alikuwa na kapesa... so watu wasonge mbele!!

Give an example of how a muhoi from Kibich can work 3 times harder.
#72 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 8:12:44 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

ask @reborn
#73 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 8:15:24 PM

Something unrelated - if you have eyesight(and possibility a brain) like mine "maumau fiasco" looks like "mafisi sacco" on a small screen device.
PeterReborn
#74 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 7:54:46 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

Are you blaming the poor for being poor?Are you saying that he is poor because he is lazy?Shame on you Shame on you Hii mambo ya accepting and moving on is what caused the PEV of 2007.The maumau fiasco is a historical injustice.
PeterReborn
#75 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 8:03:08 AM

Fyatu wrote:

How does knowing my clan add value to my life?
Nyumba is sitting duck. Look at the PEV 2007.They were completely screwed and yet they had the uthamaki.Only anake came to their rescue.
PeterReborn
#76 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 8:08:01 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

ask @reborn

He will have to work harder than the fellow in muthaiga.But maybe he even doesn't have a job Sad
#77 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 8:55:23 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

Are you blaming the poor for being poor?Are you saying that he is poor because he is lazy?Shame on you Shame on you Hii mambo ya accepting and moving on is what caused the PEV of 2007.The maumau fiasco is a historical injustice.

did I say that? I just said as you said it somewhere - a poor person has options and choices to make. his are harder if he wants to escape poverty - but he should better get moving!
PeterReborn
#78 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 10:43:29 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

did I say that? I just said as you said it somewhere - a poor person has options and choices to make. his are harder if he wants to escape poverty - but he should better get moving!

A poor person has no options. He can barely feed himself.Rich people have all the options.I see hundreds of Mathare residents who walk from mathare to westlands or parklands. Do you think they are walking by choice?
#79 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 12:40:48 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

A poor person has no options. He can barely feed himself.Rich people have all the options.I see hundreds of Mathare residents who walk from mathare to westlands or parklands. Do you think they are walking by choice?

Kama hawana options pole sana kwao.... kama wameAccept hawana options ni sawa!!
you know in life - you have options and an sometimes we choose to do things that don't require anything from us now and reinforce our frames of mind. Excuses e.t.c. We can bitch about historical injustices coz it's easy to bitch about them and the more you do - the more it makes sense! the more we bitch the more we feel aggrieved and the more we feel like victims. the more we bitch the more we feel like the world owes us stuff.... so I would urge all poor people who can read this and akina @tycho and @reborn can relay to those that don't - ENDELENI VIVYO HIVYO!! endeleni kumeza sumu expecting others to die!!
While you do that - remember that this grandson of a peasant is always looking at ways to improve his lot!
#80 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 1:07:32 PM

I saw an NTV thingy on TV juzi... huko Kakuma. Who is lower than a refugee in a refugee camp? There was an Ethiopian Refugee making tonnes of cash there - his story? he was doing jobos with the local Turkanas there just like them - he just happened to be more prudent with his cash. End of the day - he is now minting a tonne of cash and affords to give back like 1M worth of goodies to his community at the end of the year. I cannot remember how much money he was making but like 3M a month. When asked - the Turkana man who was his colleague wakianza kazi was just giving excuses.... Listen to me STOP WITH THE EXCUSES AND DEAL WITH WHAT YOU HAVE, wacha kukunywa pesa zako or spending on useless things. Anyway the choice is yours, Even waititu alitoka huko Kibich tu... son of a nobody. Act ama ubaki hapo ukichukia wengine. Even Jomo was the son of a peasant.... ni kujipanga tu. if you think about it ... I am the grandson of a peasant and so is UK! what changed?

of course there are people here thinking... refugees... they can... blah blah blah
To which I say...