wazua Fri, Feb 28, 2025

5 Pages«<345
Banks increase loan rates & tariffs!
watesh
#81 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 11:14:26 AM

Hallo wazuans.

The new bill by mp jude njomo to cap lending rates seems to have a broad base support in the house.

Was going to ignore it until I heard adan duale saying if the president refuses to assent, they can marshall 2/3 majority votes to compel the president to sign.

Now now, as a borrower am salivating. Apart from the banksters defence, can someone put a strong case against interest rates control in kenya.

If the bill goes through and causes poor access to credit, they will introduce another bill to force banks to lend to people by introducing caps on how much you can lend to a specific sector and maybe say 50% of you loans must be retail
Emerger
#82 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 11:15:53 AM

Hallo wazuans.

The new bill by mp jude njomo to cap lending rates seems to have a broad base support in the house.

Was going to ignore it until I heard adan duale saying if the president refuses to assent, they can marshall 2/3 majority votes to compel the president to sign.

Now now, as a borrower am salivating. Apart from the banksters defence, can someone put a strong case against interest rates control in kenya.

@FRM2011,

The bill I opine is not well thought out and thus its implementation or even accent will be a hard nut to crack due to;

1. There seems to be no basis of cap (read 4% on loan and '70%' deposit rate. The market being liberal what justification is there by Jube to warrant the limits?
2. The root cause of the interest spreads is not the banks but the market factors/environment namely the gaarment borrowing appetite as well as private lending arena. As long as the gaarment continues to borrower banks as rational profit making org'ns will tend to maximise returns at low risk. Inaddition, borrowers with low credit risk are already enjoying thin spreads and tend to borrow huge again to the advantage of banks based on volume and risk.
3. As highlighted recently in the industry report, the NPL has really gone up. A closure look depicts that the household lending namely retail are the biggest contributors to this. This implies its a high risk area and thus banks must factor a risk premium in its pricing hence the higher spreads. Putting a limit to this means the banks will limit lending to them and if they have to they substitute the premium from spreads to fees.
4. On Dualeman threatening with a 2/3 marshal is a bit rhetoric knowing who the house occupants are hence an empty threat.

The treasury and CBK have expressed their disfavour with the bill.
we await to see how far then the bill will go.
whiteowl
#83 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 11:17:02 AM

enyands wrote:
No much comment here.

1 as an investor my dividends would be low because there won't be much interest income hence anti-bill.

2 as a borrower I would love to have loan for Less interest hence pro-bill.

Since I'm caught in between the two points I choose to reserve my comments hereb

Even if the bill is passed, can you force a bank to lend to you at a low interest rate especially one that doesn't match with your risk profile?
Boris Boyka
#84 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2016 8:33:19 PM

enyands wrote:
No much comment here.

1 as an investor my dividends would be low because there won't be much interest income hence anti-bill.

2 as a borrower I would love to have loan for Less interest hence pro-bill.

3. as an employee/former employee of the banks.
smile smile
Since I'm caught in between the two points I choose to reserve my comments hereb

Okay international banker.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
watesh
#85 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 9:13:23 AM

Emerger wrote:
Hallo wazuans.

@FRM2011,

The bill I opine is not well thought out and thus its implementation or even accent will be a hard nut to crack due to;

1. There seems to be no basis of cap (read 4% on loan and '70%' deposit rate. The market being liberal what justification is there by Jube to warrant the limits?
2. The root cause of the interest spreads is not the banks but the market factors/environment namely the gaarment borrowing appetite as well as private lending arena. As long as the gaarment continues to borrower banks as rational profit making org'ns will tend to maximise returns at low risk. Inaddition, borrowers with low credit risk are already enjoying thin spreads and tend to borrow huge again to the advantage of banks based on volume and risk.
3. As highlighted recently in the industry report, the NPL has really gone up. A closure look depicts that the household lending namely retail are the biggest contributors to this. This implies its a high risk area and thus banks must factor a risk premium in its pricing hence the higher spreads. Putting a limit to this means the banks will limit lending to them and if they have to they substitute the premium from spreads to fees.
4. On Dualeman threatening with a 2/3 marshal is a bit rhetoric knowing who the house occupants are hence an empty threat.

The treasury and CBK have expressed their disfavour with the bill.
we await to see how far then the bill will go.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
The want to treat banks like oil companies. Two DIFFERENT markets...banks will end up increasing fees everywhere else to maintain profitability. Plus this may lead to massive job losses in the market, reducing interest rate spread from 10% to less than 3% will erode profits by over 50% and the first on the chopping board will be staff. Anybody else who depends on these staff for income and upkeep will also end up jobless.
Here is an article by an MP
http://www.businessdaily...m/0/-/i2hk2/-/index.html
Ericsson
#86 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2016 9:18:53 AM

These MPigs are just clowns.It has been mentioned above the cause of the interest rates being high.
Govt borrowing
Surging NPLs which means banks have to put a risk premium when loaning to some sectors of the economy.
MPigs should direct their efforts in sorting the above
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
tom_boy
#87 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2016 4:59:57 PM

Ericsson wrote:
These MPigs are just clowns.It has been mentioned above the cause of the interest rates being high.
Govt borrowing
Surging NPLs which means banks have to put a risk premium when loaning to some sectors of the economy.

The interest rates contrl bill should be supported. It will be a good thing for Kenya and businesses.

Currently, any entreprenuer will tell you its difficult, no impossible, to get bank funding. To qualify, you must be well established with very good cash flows, and then they hit you with 20%+ interest rate. The idea that good payers get less interest charge is a big MYTH. Even CBK governor acknowledged this.

Household borrowing is not very crucial for the economy, imho. We need to push more cash into production / business.

With the bill, nothing much will change. Banks will still lend to their select few business customers but will be forced to offer affordable rates AND they will pay better interest to their depositors whom they consider high risk. Win Win whether you are high risk or low risk.

The issue of how you price risk is also hogwash and based on assumptions. If I am a high risk defaulter, why increase my chances of defaulting by giving me a high interest rate? Makes no sense. Either give me the loan at an affordable rate or dont give it.

I pray the bill goes through.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
enyands
#88 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2016 6:15:35 PM

tom_boy wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Govt borrowing

The interest rates contrl bill should be supported. It will be a good thing for Kenya and businesses.

Currently, any entreprenuer will tell you its difficult, no impossible, to get bank funding. To qualify, you must be well established with very good cash flows, and then they hit you with 20%+ interest rate. The idea that good payers get less interest charge is a big MYTH. Even CBK governor acknowledged this.

Household borrowing is not very crucial for the economy, imho. We need to push more cash into production / business.

With the bill, nothing much will change. Banks will still lend to their select few business customers but will be forced to offer affordable rates AND they will pay better interest to their depositors whom they consider high risk. Win Win whether you are high risk or low risk.

The issue of how you price risk is also hogwash and based on assumptions. If I am a high risk defaulter, why increase my chances of defaulting by giving me a high interest rate? Makes no sense. Either give me the loan at an affordable rate or dont give it.

I pray the bill goes through.

Don't think it will be easy for banks to let go. Opus dei is having it difficult to force them to bring rates down,

Big boss have big money to lobby off the votes
Banks might chose not to lend and focus on more income generating like transaction income because they might assume the risks are too high and returns are low

Iv previously worked with banks and know how they roll. It won't be easy dear
Ericsson
#89 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2016 11:00:00 PM

If governemnt is willing to borrow from banks at 16% what makes u think they will lend to you at 12%.
In the developed world rates are low coz governments are borrowing at 1-2% and inflation is extremely low till the Central bank governors are struggling to raise the rate of inflation.
Workers do not fight for annual adjustments to cater for inflation like it's the case here as prices of basic commodities and food falls.
Here in Africa it's the opposite;controlling and bringing down the rate of inflation is a headache.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
enyands
#90 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2016 11:28:43 PM

Ericsson wrote:
If governemnt is willing to borrow from banks at 16% what makes u think they will lend to you at 12%.
In the developed world rates are low coz governments are borrowing at 1-2% and inflation is extremely low till the Central bank governors are struggling to raise the rate of inflation.
Workers do not fight for annual adjustments to cater for inflation like it's the case here as prices of basic commodities and food falls.
Here in Africa it's the opposite;controlling and bringing down the rate of inflation is a headache.

With all due respect for opus dei Mei man I feel he should let the market control the rates. But letting those brainless guys mpigs m put a cap to it will slow the economic growth .

Protus tried to control walstreet guys after they were responsible for collapse and he realised it's a complex puzzle to fix

Since I have some shares I bought with banks I would love the banks to put rates at a market rate meaning higher profits better dividends,but as an entreprenuer who wants loans I would love them to bring it down not cap it .so since I'm not an entrepreneur now I would love the first option .smile
tom_boy
#91 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2016 11:50:53 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Sasa wewe, hii ya gava 16% na general public 12% umetoa wapi.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
mozenrat
#92 Posted : Saturday, March 26, 2016 5:07:07 PM

if govt borrowing explains high interest rates, what explains the pathetic rates they offer depositors

Ericsson wrote:
Govt borrowing

mozenrat
#93 Posted : Saturday, March 26, 2016 5:09:04 PM

enyands wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

With all due respect for opus dei Mei man I feel he should let the market control the rates. But letting those brainless guys mpigs m put a cap to it will slow the economic growth .

Protus tried to control walstreet guys after they were responsible for collapse and he realised it's a complex puzzle to fix

Since I have some shares I bought with banks I would love the banks to put rates at a market rate meaning higher profits better dividends,but as an entreprenuer who wants loans I would love them to bring it down not cap it .so since I'm not an entrepreneur now I would love the first option .smile

Mr. Opus Dei actually agrees with you and does not support the MPs plans.
enyands
#94 Posted : Saturday, March 26, 2016 6:50:11 PM

mozenrat wrote:
enyands wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Mr. Opus Dei actually agrees with you and does not support the MPs plans.

Cool then. He should run for office seriously
Pesa Nane
#95 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 3:50:03 PM

tom_boy wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Sasa wewe, hii ya gava 16% na general public 12% umetoa wapi.

Bills, Bonds
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.