wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Doping in sports
Alba
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 5:31:16 PM

Ethiopian runner Abeba Aregawi who defected to Sweden and won a 1500m gold medal at the 2013 world championships has been busted for doping.
Alba
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 5:33:17 PM

Nine Ethiopian runners including 5 top runners have been busted for doping.

http://www.theguardian.c...er-investigation-doping

If you see top Ethiopian runners suddenly dropping out of the limelight, then you will know who the doper is.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 5:43:49 PM

Then I think doping is too rampant to be controlled in athletics
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 6:36:45 PM

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=26543

3 years later after endless denial....
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2016 10:18:21 AM

This doping issue is really complex. Even simple over the counter medicines for coughs and colds can cause an athlete to fail a drug test.
Alba
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2016 7:13:37 PM

The Tokyo marathon winner with an interesting name Endesha Negesse has flopped a drug test. He just won the Tokyo marathon last week

http://www.insidethegame...rugs-test-for-meldonium

Alba
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2016 9:38:55 PM

Shak wrote:
This doping issue is really complex. Even simple over the counter medicines for coughs and colds can cause an athlete to fail a drug test.

When an athlete is busted for doping they always pretend eti they took something for a cold or coughing ama sijui nini. In reality they are doping while pleading innocent.
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2016 10:18:45 PM

Alba wrote:
The Tokyo marathon winner with an interesting name Endesha Negesse has flopped a drug test. He just won the Tokyo marathon last week

http://www.insidethegame...rugs-test-for-meldonium

Interesting name indeed.LOL.
Alba
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 12:55:08 AM

Hot Chica Maria Sharapova (aka Shutup, Over) has been busted for doping

http://www.theguardian.c...ralian-open-2016-tennis

As far as I know, this is the only high profile tennis player ever busted for doping.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 3:13:17 AM

Alba wrote:
Hot Chica Maria Sharapova (aka Shutup, Over) has been busted for doping

http://www.theguardian.c...ralian-open-2016-tennis

As far as I know, this is the only high profile tennis player ever busted for doping.

He he he c hata hii ni kama corruption! Hii ulimwengu kwisa! Everyone wants to eat, steal, win unfairly! Godammit! How will @alma live an honest life! Ngumu sana.
streetwise
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 11:10:00 AM

Let me tell you. Everyone is a thief , only some people are scared of the consequences and others get caught.
chemirocha
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 2:29:17 PM

With the colossal amounts of money in professional sports incidents of doping are not a surprise.
Alba
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 4:46:34 PM

People should stop using Sharapova as an excuse to support thieves. Tennis is one sport where I do not think there is mass doping. The sport is about shot placement, quick feet, quick mind, ball control etc. Doping will not help you there.

People become really good at tennis by playing the sport their entire life with good coaches since they were 7 years old.

In Sharapova's case it could be that she is just careless. Dozens of sportsmen and women have been using meldonium as a supplement for over a decade. It was added to the banned list in January of 2016 and a few weeks later Sharapova failed a dope test for meldonium.

It could be a case of carelessness. Everytime WADA updates the list of banned substances, it is incumbent upon each player to check the label of every supplement they are taking to make sure the new substances are not there. But Sharapova was too busy partying in her penthouse in Miami, modeling and advertizing products. AKA carelessness. At the very least she should hire someone to take care of these things.

If Sharapova were a track athlete where doping actually makes a big difference, I would have been more likely to dimiss her as a cheat who is just making excuses.

Also if she was busted for a steroids or EPO, I would say she has no excuse.

I suspect Sharapova will only be banned for around 6 months.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:06:50 PM

Alba wrote:
People should stop using Sharapova as an excuse to support thieves. Tennis is one sport where I do not think there is mass doping. The sport is about shot placement, quick feet, quick mind, ball control etc. Doping will not help you there.

People become really good at tennis by playing the sport their entire life with good coaches since they were 7 years old.

In Sharapova's case it could be that she is just careless. Dozens of sportsmen and women have been using meldonium as a supplement for over a decade. It was added to the banned list in January of 2016 and a few weeks later Sharapova failed a dope test for meldonium.

It could be a case of carelessness. Everytime WADA updates the list of banned substances, it is incumbent upon each player to check the label of every supplement they are taking to make sure the new substances are not there. But Sharapova was too busy partying in her penthouse in Miami, modeling and advertizing products. AKA carelessness. At the very least she should hire someone to take care of these things.

If Sharapova were a track athlete where doping actually makes a big difference, I would have been more likely to dimiss her as a cheat who is just making excuses.

Like clockwork the undisputed Prof has weighed in! just wondering why they have a list of banned substances in Tennis or Golf if it does not give any advantages?
Alba
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:33:39 PM

Like clockwork the undisputed Prof has weighed in! just wondering why they have a list of banned substances in Tennis or Golf if it does not give any advantages?

I see my stalker is still obsessed with me personally and follows me around like an unhinged fellow.

For your info, When WADA initially adds a new substance to the banned list, they typically add it for every sport.

So yes that means that the blood booster EPO which mostly helps marathon runners is also banned from chess even though its benefits to chess are non-existent or close to zero.

This ought to be a no brainer to anyone. Tennis players are tested very often. If doping was rampant in tennis, there would be a lot more failed tests. Clearly there is less motivation to dope in tennis. One might say its not even worth it because the benefits are minimal.

And in Sharapova's case, doping makes almost no sense. She makes so much money outside tennis that it does not even matter if she wins. She could retire now and still make boatloads of money. She is already the highest paid woman, way ahead of Serena Williams.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:44:41 PM

Alba wrote:

I see my stalker is still obsessed with me personally and follows me around like an unhinged fellow.

For your info, When WADA initially adds a new substance to the banned list, they typically add it for every sport.

So yes that means that the blood booster EPO which mostly helps marathon runners is also banned from chess even though its benefits to chess are non-existent or close to zero.

I bet to know why? why? oh why? oh ye of unparalleled knowledge? why add a substance to a list of sports that includes ajua - a substance that does not give the ajua player any advantages since their skills are "picking up some seeds and throwing them in the air" and cannot benefit from artificial stimulation,then go ahead and ask ajua players to always stay vigilant and stay off said substance - when you catch an ajua player taking said substance - you go ahead and give him/her a slap on the wrist since it really does not benefit him/her to begin with. What's the point?
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:19:55 PM

Alba wrote:

loads of bullcrap unfortunately. so if a spot is all about shot placement, quick fee, quick mind etc then taking a drug which would enable you to say have more stamina, concentration, manage stress etc, would not give you competitive advantage over your opponent?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:28:51 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Alba wrote:

loads of bullcrap unfortunately. so if a spot is all about shot placement, quick fee, quick mind etc then taking a drug which would enable you to say have more stamina, concentration, manage stress etc, would not give you competitive advantage over your opponent?

don't touch the prof!!
Alba
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 8:08:18 PM

Alba wrote:

I bet to know why? why? oh why? oh ye of unparalleled knowledge? why add a substance to a list of sports that includes ajua - a substance that does not give the ajua player any advantages since their skills are "picking up some seeds and throwing them in the air" and cannot benefit from artificial stimulation,then go ahead and ask ajua players to always stay vigilant and stay off said substance - when you catch an ajua player taking said substance - you go ahead and give him/her a slap on the wrist since it really does not benefit him/her to begin with. What's the point?

My stalker is posting while drunk, posting all kinds of incoherent gibberish. So at this point I choose to ignore him.
Alba
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 8:30:10 PM

mkenyan wrote:

Firstly you must be illiterate because I did not say doping does not exist in tennis. I said doping is much less effective in tennis.

Stamina : Tennis players sit down often, they walk around, they stand around. How much stamina do they really need? Is it worth doping?. Certainly not. A good trainer will get a player in good enough shape to play a tennis match.

Manage stress: I have to laugh at this one. If a player is under stress, there are numerous legal alternatives . You do not have to resort to banned substances.

Concentration: This is rather clownish. funnier. The idea that a player in the Australian would suffer from lack of concentration and need drugs is ludicrous.
Secondly the ability to anticipate the flight of the ball is built in over years and years of playing. There are no drugs out there to help you.

In athletics on the other hand, doping is a neccesity for many runners. Most sprinters find for example that they cannot run 100m in less than 10.00 unless they are doping.

Since the reward is lower and the risk is high, tennis players, they are less likely to dope. And that is why cases of doping are lower.

Top Tennis players are tested like 11 times a year. Yet cases of doping are few and far between. This shows that tennis players do not really need doping much as track athletes.