28 Pages«<1617181920>»
ANOTHER TROPHYLESS SEASON NOW CONFIRMED
#341 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2010 9:37:44 PM

for once i will say to almunia. thanks a million.Applause Applause Pray for u
#342 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2010 9:43:26 PM

Spoke too soon! 2:2 final score!

Barcelona have the advantage of 2 away goals. Arsenal have half their team with injury concerns. Return leg will be interesting to watch.

Who will agree with me that the match officiating was HOPELESS!
#343 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 7:55:33 AM

The ref got several decisions wrong I'll agree...

Almunia definitely man of the match - the scoreline would have been so much different, even if he blundered with the first goal.

Barca clearly thought they had it won after the 2nd goal, they became careless with the ball, especially Alves...got punished for it when they could have actually added a 3rd.

Barca without a doubt are the most frustrating team to play ever - when they have the ball they look like they'll never give it away and chase after every ball the opposition tries to keep - Assnole fans now know how we felt in last years CL finals. Whoever said Arse play similar football to Barca should take their words back, otherwise possession would not have been 70:30 first half in Barca's favour at Emirates!Shame on you

It's a pity the return game will not have the likes of Fibre glass, Busquets & Puyol, but if Iniesta and Marquez are back by the 2nd leg then Asres should expect an equally depressing night at the Nou - possession wise. But to draw against such a quality side speaks a lot for Arses, that one I have to say. Lakini sioni mkitoboa Nou camp.

Now for Sato...this is when I'll see whether Berbatov was worth the bucks we splashed, hopefully with Macheda upfront and Ji- Sung park just behind them.If SAF expects us to hold our own, he should start both Nani and Valencia with Giggs coming on later on. Katikati Fletcher na Carrick - Scoles gives away the ball crucially.

Are there any injury worries for Chelshit?
anasazi
#344 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:06:41 AM

My friend, as an Arsenal fan I must Almunia saved us, and Barca deserved to win. However, if we fix our midfield issues, even without Cesc, we can do them harm as their first choice defence wont be there.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#345 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:11:07 AM

Taz ongea - wacha kuchungulia...
#346 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:14:05 AM

What a game it was....Barcelona played possession football and attacked from the flanks. Alves really exploited our left wing. It took the introduction of Walcott to unsettle Maxwell. The positive part of yesterday's game is that Song managed to put Messi out of the game....if you ask me i would say Song (though Almunia was also exceptional)deserved to be man of the match.

As for the return match i would expect Wenger to start with Walcott on the right wing which would allow Nasri to play behind the forwards.
#347 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:17:11 AM

Pathetic is all l can say about the arses, eti we play similar kind of football.......dreams!!!
#348 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:26:16 AM

Absolutely mesmerising play from Barca but i like the strong comeback Gunners made.....Barca is beatable since they tire too soon.
#349 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:39:09 AM

McReggae....stop being such a hater, its the pace of the game which made it very entertaining. You cannot match barca's players man to man with Arsenal's, they are more technical and experienced....the style of play between the two teams is similar but not the quality of the players, don't confuse the two. That is why Man U (CL Final) found it hard to keep up with barca although they hard the players to match.
tuvok
#350 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 8:45:25 AM

Pathetic is all l can say about the arses, eti we play similar kind of football.......dreams!!!

They do play similar styles... Just that Barca have much more 'experience' in this style. Incidentally, Le Boss says that the Arsenal game is derived from the 1970s dutch football style. But then again who used to watch football then.

Actually I think where Barcelona excelled was when they did not have the ball.. Pressing hard, and winning back possession.

The second leg will be very interesting, and I suspect a few surprises here and there...

Walcott should have started from the onset - though that boy is so dependant on confidence that you never know.

Guardiola kweli ameanza na desert.

About the ref - kwani what was with that dude enyewe. It's like u guza a guy and it's a free kick.

Abit anticlimatic the second leg too - especially for the Catalan press now that there'll be no Cesc.
Seeders
#351 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 9:08:25 AM

for the first 20 minutes, could not see who barca were playing against.
#352 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 9:32:20 AM

Theo Walcott is surely on Fabio Capello's list. Anyone refute that?
gathinga
#353 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 10:19:47 AM

Theo clearly exposed baca's underbelly, with his scintillating pace. these guys are vulnerable a the back.If Mr. walcot can replicate that pace even for 30min @the return, then perhaps Wengers dream could yield.

It was wise of Wwenger not to play the pensioners campbell (maruge) and Silvestre. These would have been torn apart by the baca front boys. This was an exciting match. Manure haters should for once give credit
#354 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 10:25:25 AM

@Gathinga,
Barca will be more exposed in the absence of Pique and Puyol.....again,Barca are beatable for all the flair.
#355 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 10:45:02 AM

That was entertaining football!! beats the time Barca mopped the floor with the Man-U-re bandwagon. The opening 30 minutes, Arsenal didn't see a thing, but they came back...that should count for something big.
At Nou camp, with Walcott on the flanks, Arsenal should score first and gain the advantage. Ikiisha 1-1...Inter is on the firing line
#356 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 12:11:55 PM

Actually, the scoreline from Now camp should be 1 - 0 to Arsenal. A win or a draw with a high number of goals is necessary
#357 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 2:26:02 PM

Without any bias, I think Barca will be unstoppable at Nou Camp, yesterday they shifted their gear down after the 2nd goal...at home they'll not be taking any chances.That's my take...
#358 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 3:06:50 PM

Arsenal proved one thing, Barca are beatable. Once Arsenal overcame their fear and realised that at 2 nil down they had nothing to lose, the game flipped over and Barca couldn't play their game. Barca are good but not great. Reminded me of the world cup were France beat the much feared Brazil 3-0

kivairu
#359 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 3:11:07 PM

yes it was a 'close shave' for arsenal the first 20 minutes...9 shots on target!!! The 2-2 draw is pleasant news for the gunners.i have never known the gunners to have a 'come-back' strategy when they are 2-0 down..trying to decode how it happened...kudos gooners

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
#360 Posted : Thursday, April 01, 2010 5:22:39 PM

For the 1st 20 minutes arsenal were suffering from stage fright.