Two dual carriages around Mt. Kenya
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
sparkly wrote:Swenani wrote:Is it wrong to have two dual carriage roads in Mt.Kenya? Nairobi has so many dual carriages. The question should be? 1. Does it make economic sense for the dual carriages and does it have enough vehicular movement to justify dual carriages? That is the exact question. One dual carriage sawa, lakini mbili? let them enjoy...watu past chania deserve it I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
washiku wrote:hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. The truth is that I would love to see a the dual carriage done. I am a victim of the 'narrowness'; I use that road many times a year...However, that road is much better compared to the small roads in the villages. The impact to the farmer will be better if we can start with the many small roads before we can talk of the dual carriage. After all, despite being narrow, those roads only have unmanageable traffic on Christmas holiday and a few Sundays here and there. No huge negative impact on the economy. The real positive impact on the economy would be if we fix those areas bila roads in the first place, and that way the farmer can sell his products bila issues, the sick can be rushed to the hospitals before they die, women giving birth can be rushed to maternity wards sooner...that now is real effect. Why should I believe/trust that dual carriage will be done when the urgent cases are still in the "tumetenga mabillioni" stage? Luke 16:10 "Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much." This road is part of the north corridor to Ethiopia...The fact that it traverses central is coincidence....The part from morale to Isiolo is underworks too I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Member Joined: 2/4/2016 Posts: 175 Location: Global
The two roads lead to Isiolo then proceed to Ethiopia.Think about the traffic from Mombasa to Ethiopia.You will be shocked to learn that the same may not even be adequate.The landscape is also different and some trucks will be better off via the Nanyuki route while others the Embu route.
Tuwacheni kuwa negative all the time.But I also agree smaller village roads need to be done.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/3/2015 Posts: 126 Location: Nairobi
Ethiteri wrote:The two roads lead to Isiolo then proceed to Ethiopia.Think about the traffic from Mombasa to Ethiopia.You will be shocked to learn that the same may not even be adequate.The landscape is also different and some trucks will be better off via the Nanyuki route while others the Embu route.
Tuwacheni kuwa negative all the time.But I also agree smaller village roads need to be done. I am from the Mountain lakini hapa naona unandanganya. Here are the true facts. Before Kibaki left, the dual carriage way was designed from Kenol through Makutano sagana to Marua.... notice to Marua not isiolo. This is the road normally used not the Muranga route. This road would have benefited more people. The Embu and Meru guys especially would now have to join the dual carriage way much earlier that they used. Actually the section from Makutano to Kenol is usually congested. It would have passed a large part of Kirinyaga and parts of Muranga and a small section of Machakos. Nyeri guys would have continued to use their normal route. Muranga guys started proposing for a dual Carriage way during the last elections. It appears they convinced Uhuru and instead of Uhuru saying no or suggesting that they plan for one later, He decided to have the already planned one re-routed to Muranga town to the disadvantage of others. This I believe was a long move. I do not think Ubako would have agreed to this arrangement. When the other countries protested. They were cheated that they will also have their own. This I tell you is a white lie. The same kind of lie he told Meru People that he will fight for their Miraa when he had the opportunity to tell them that it was time to look for another crop. The road will benefit less countries and people if it goes through Muranga town, will be more expensive because of the terrain and will be prone to many accidents again because of the terrain with increased traffic. But he will have massaged the People of Muranga and maybe they will take their investments to Muranga.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/3/2015 Posts: 126 Location: Nairobi
Njung'e wrote:Haki nimekubali. Warudishe Ubako na Wiper. Hii "dynamic" duo ni matope. Very useless. The moment we choose to ignore all the public information we knew about arap M is the moment we lost it. Also Uhunyes is not as smart and logical as Baks was even in his old age.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
digitek1 wrote:washiku wrote:hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. The truth is that I would love to see a the dual carriage done. I am a victim of the 'narrowness'; I use that road many times a year...However, that road is much better compared to the small roads in the villages. The impact to the farmer will be better if we can start with the many small roads before we can talk of the dual carriage. After all, despite being narrow, those roads only have unmanageable traffic on Christmas holiday and a few Sundays here and there. No huge negative impact on the economy. The real positive impact on the economy would be if we fix those areas bila roads in the first place, and that way the farmer can sell his products bila issues, the sick can be rushed to the hospitals before they die, women giving birth can be rushed to maternity wards sooner...that now is real effect. Why should I believe/trust that dual carriage will be done when the urgent cases are still in the "tumetenga mabillioni" stage? Luke 16:10 "Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much." This road is part of the north corridor to Ethiopia...The fact that it traverses central is coincidence....The part from morale to Isiolo is underworks too Even though I too use the road quite often, I would prefer prioritization dualiingthe Rironi-Naivasha-Nakuru road. I see it contributing more to the economy than the mentioned. 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Thitifini wrote:digitek1 wrote:washiku wrote:hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. The truth is that I would love to see a the dual carriage done. I am a victim of the 'narrowness'; I use that road many times a year...However, that road is much better compared to the small roads in the villages. The impact to the farmer will be better if we can start with the many small roads before we can talk of the dual carriage. After all, despite being narrow, those roads only have unmanageable traffic on Christmas holiday and a few Sundays here and there. No huge negative impact on the economy. The real positive impact on the economy would be if we fix those areas bila roads in the first place, and that way the farmer can sell his products bila issues, the sick can be rushed to the hospitals before they die, women giving birth can be rushed to maternity wards sooner...that now is real effect. Why should I believe/trust that dual carriage will be done when the urgent cases are still in the "tumetenga mabillioni" stage? Luke 16:10 "Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much." This road is part of the north corridor to Ethiopia...The fact that it traverses central is coincidence....The part from morale to Isiolo is underworks too Even though I too use the road quite often, I would prefer prioritization dualiingthe Rironi-Naivasha-Nakuru road. I see it contributing more to the economy than the mentioned. Yeah, UG being our biggest trading partner, we need that road in best condition upto Busia. Making it into dual carriage way all the way might not be feasible though
Njung'e wrote:Haki nimekubali. Warudishe Ubako na Wiper. Hii "dynamic" duo ni matope. Very useless. You used to be one of the harshest critics of mzee I told you your turn to govern would come. Ona sasa!! Anyway, pole
Rank: Member Joined: 6/22/2011 Posts: 561 Location: House
Othelo wrote:How much of the 10k in roads promised has been tarmarked 3 years down the line? Ouru should be a 1 term president.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/22/2011 Posts: 561 Location: House
hardwood wrote:washiku wrote:Seriously...why are we even talking about Dual Carriages while these guys have not even been able to fix the many useful feeder roads in our villages? Lets fix the 10,000 kms of village roads then we can talk. Anyone who has used that road past Kenol knows that it is the worst and narrowest major road in Kenya. The Nairobi-Nakuru-Eldoret, Mbs-Nrb, Nairobi - Namanga, Nyeri - nyahururu, Eldoret-Iten, Kericho-Kisumu etc roads are much much wider and better. Strangely it is also the only road without any road markings (unlike the ones I've mentioned above). Shame that kibaki couldn't make a proper road past Kenol. ata kama unalipwa. sometimes just say no.
Two dual carriages around Mt. Kenya