wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

Drug addiction treatment centres...free
Motomoto
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 11:24:37 AM

My nephew is struggling with drug addiction and I think it is time he got help. Does anyone know someplace that is not expensive where he can get help. Would appreciate.
Motomoto
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 8:21:22 PM

Sawa tu...
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 8:52:22 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Sawa tu...

Mimi sijui hizo,kama ingekua sex therapy,I would have advised you!
heri
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 10:01:08 PM

Motomoto wrote:
My nephew is struggling with drug addiction and I think it is time he got help. Does anyone know someplace that is not expensive where he can get help. Would appreciate.

Try U-turn for Christ in Karen. Its a very 'basic' place run by volunteers
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 11:56:48 PM

Motomoto wrote:

Many a times deciding someone else needs help is escapism from self responsibility.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2016 10:30:58 AM

heri wrote:
Motomoto wrote:

Try U-turn for Christ in Karen. Its a very 'basic' place run by volunteers

Thanks Heri. Good to know.

grolut
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2016 10:42:02 AM

There was one I saw in Parklands, Chiromo Lane Medical Centre. However, I have no idea what it is like in terms of services or pricing. http://www.clmc.co.ke/index.php/about-us
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
iKenya
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2016 5:19:59 AM

There is the free Methadone government programme that is run from Mathare. It mainly deals with youth from disadvantaged areas like slums etc. It seeks to remove the drug dependency by substituting heroin etc. with methadone. It is long term daily treatment and needs some serious commitment.

However, you cannot be directly admitted to the programme, you have to be referred by one of the youth/counselling centres. There is one in Kangemi (inside the slum), not sure where the other is. The programme is also available in coasto.

However, there are other (minimal) fee faith-based institutions that offer the drug/alcohol rehab programs.

Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2016 2:42:12 PM

There's one off Ngong road @Nakumatt Prestige. 100 metres or so towards Kibera. Not sure though if its only for alcoholics

#10 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2016 4:28:11 PM

A co-worker once told me that when his kids reached puberty - stage they are likely to experiment with a lot of bad stuff, he took them to one of these centres and got the addicts to talk to the kids about drug abuse and stuff like that. It made a powerful impact on the kids. Not sure if this is ok to do, but a problem stopped at that age may never get to the level of drug addiction treatment.

PS. I am very sympathetic to folks who find themselves in this mess