wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

47 Pages«<3738394041>»
Matatu Business
kayhara
#761 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:09:08 PM

Photoshop or what? even if t was actually true would it be profitable at 6 passengers to kisii, or would the passengers cough a lot of cash
To Each His Own
Prime
#762 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 2:46:01 PM

hindsight wrote:

Follow Up...Kindly need your input guys as per above post.

Where is

@Thitifini
@Matatuman
@Subaruman
@Junior121121

and the rest Matatu investors...help out!

Thanks.

My experience May be different. But I feel that you stand to gain more by just buying an old mat that is on the road. Less of a headache. One in good shape and in no need of an overhaul. Ongezea pesa kidogo. Guys esp on routes like nairobi meru are doing away with their 5/3L mats and you stand to get fair deals. a mat that is in relatively good shape. As for fabrication, I have used the guys at ngara. We have given referals earlier but on average their work is not very bad. Yes once in a while unapata kiti imeachilia mahali and in need of repair but we can live with that. My first mat had a few issues with the work but my second one has not had any issue. the first is 2 years on the road (BX) and the second 1 year (CB).
hindsight
#763 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 6:42:52 PM

@Prime ,thanks.

On the costs....seems I need to re-think.

I will do further investigation...any idea on the costs of the 5L/3L in good condition ..? thanks.

Live your life well, don't settle nor conform to people expectations. It's one of the best way to live life full of bliss and contentment.
matatuman
#764 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 8:49:30 PM

hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

I will do further investigation...any idea on the costs of the 5L/3L in good condition ..? thanks.

What's your target route?
Thitifini
#765 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 9:07:35 PM

hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

@hindsight, my route was doing away with the 5ls. Old ones were going for around 1.1m but thought it was an overstatement. Pole, did not follow this up though can give you a referral (give me mail).

As advised, 5ls from long distance might give you better service. There are quite well maintained if from a good sacco, plus the motive for selling is legit-competition from 7ls.

Try as much as possible to take minimal loans on your first. The business is unpredictable. You can get a good loan on your second or upgrade as you will have some experience and inside guys.

Engine overhaul; try as much as possible not to go this route! If you get a 1-KZ Diesel plus gearbox it will set you back in the regions of 400k kama haitaleta shida! This is the cheapest model for mats (common in J90/95 Prados but fits a mat). But i hear it gives the mat power ya vitz!

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#766 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:28:30 PM

Thitifini wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

@hindsight, my route was doing away with the 5ls. Old ones were going for around 1.1m but thought it was an overstatement. Pole, did not follow this up though can give you a referral (give me mail).

As advised, 5ls from long distance might give you better service. There are quite well maintained if from a good sacco, plus the motive for selling is legit-competition from 7ls.

Try as much as possible to take minimal loans on your first. The business is unpredictable. You can get a good loan on your second or upgrade as you will have some experience and inside guys.

Engine overhaul; try as much as possible not to go this route! If you get a 1-KZ Diesel plus gearbox it will set you back in the regions of 400k kama haitaleta shida! This is the cheapest model for mats (common in J90/95 Prados but fits a mat). But i hear it gives the mat power ya vitz!

Hehehehe...I have one Super Custom that came with 1KZ-TE engine na hiyo siiwachilii. Hakuna 7l hata moja inaletanga nyef nyef kwa barabara. True story!

And, from the spare parts shops in Inda, that engine is way cheaper. 3l goes for 300-320k, 5l for 330-350k, 1KZ goes for 250-280k, 7l for 450-500k.
hindsight
#767 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 12:53:04 AM

matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

Nrb-Thika rd (machester) or Lopha Sacco-rt 11

Though not decided as yet..
Live your life well, don't settle nor conform to people expectations. It's one of the best way to live life full of bliss and contentment.
hindsight
#768 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 1:56:02 AM

Thitifini wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

Thanks for your advise, my mail is hindsightsk@gmail.com any leads appreciated.

Though as you highlighted (in bold), would like to keep my costs around 600-700K or lower, though if I get a flexible option i can leverage cost on, am open to it.

Regards.
matatuman
#769 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 11:18:58 AM

hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

Budget yako kidogo itakutatiza. Competition on that route is high. A vehicle costing that amount may not hack.
hindsight
#770 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 1:16:14 PM

matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

Budget yako kidogo itakutatiza. Competition on that route is high. A vehicle costing that amount may not hack.

I assume you mean ,Nrb-Thika rd (machester) ..? How about Lopha -rt 11 ? What route do you suggest I can hack comfortably with minimal returns of 3k per day? Thanks.
matatuman
#771 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 6:28:27 PM

hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

I assume you mean ,Nrb-Thika rd (machester) ..? How about Lopha -rt 11 ? What route do you suggest I can hack comfortably with minimal returns of 3k per day? Thanks.

11 is a short route, an old vehicle will do. Only headache I foresee is being a newbie with an old vehicle, your crew might take advantage of you.
Roque
#772 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 7:12:52 PM

Asanti kaka...hii kisungu ni chida bana..

Many thanks though...will pass by Ngara over the weekend...
subaru
#773 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 8:18:05 PM

hindsight wrote:
Hi Wazuans,
I salute you all and appreciate lots of the knowledge and life hacks you have shared.

Thanks again, and I hope to do the same in due course.

Quick Disclaimer; (apologies for a long post-wanted to be on point.)

Note;

1) I have read all threads on matatu bizness and have gained lots of wisdom on the same, hence consider me “educated” from past posts.

2) I have also realized matatu bizness is not for the faint hearted you have to get yourself dirty and be able to have hands on approach for its success.

3) I have a fair understanding of various matatu options available for an investor;

--14 seater (shuttle/long distance & town plying) –MY INTEREST- town service
--33/51 seater bus CFG/Dodi/Banbros etc
--Citi Hoppa/KBS etc leased.

My Question/My Interest; Interested running a 14 sitter Matatu Bizness in a town route (of a well managed sacco) ,alone as I don’t intend to do partnership as of now + other reasons i.e…quick decision making.

I wish to enter the matatu bizness starting from the bottom pyramid due to cash constraints. I have a budget of ksh 400,000 cash. I can squeeze another 300k through a sacco loan, readily available, hence total available and willing to spend 600K-700k at most.

What are the best options to acquire a 2nd hand Matatu reg’ (KAX-KBD) ,a Manual & Diesel run out of these below, in relations to low risk and consistent returns, easy to maintain etc.

1) Buy an X tour- Nissan caravan van(not 4wd); preferably (a good tested model); cost price; 650K onwards and convert to a matatu ,after registrations etc total comes to approx’ ksh 850k onwards.

My take; very costly above my budget, but am told they perform well reliably over 4yrs with usual repairs & maintenance.

My query;
Any ideas where I get one at a good price and are my costing above fair? Any other counsel appreciated.

2) Buy an old matatu Toyota/Nissan (a good tested model) but still in service and do an overhaul; cost price ;300k onwards,do engine and gear box (overhaul/change) ,change seats, do the paint job and change key other parts. Overhauling & repairs costs ; 250K total costs 550-600K.

My take;
No idea whether it can serve me reliably and the costs not sure and risks of overhauling /changing engine or gearbox.

My query; Do you know routes/yards/auction companies where one can get a good deal and what ‘s your take on my maths. Can you advise one to go for this option?

3) Buy a clean long distance matatu shuttle (a good tested model) in service and good condition.
Cost price ; 950k onwards .

My take;
Reliable and will serve me a few years before the usual challenges of old models. The problem is my budget is 700k tops and can’t afford to stretch myself further as of now.

My query;
Do you know people who can offer the same at a cheaper costs/down payment with low interests especially those owned by a Sacco and pay them in six months etc.

Bottomline;

I will appreciate any suggestions from those who had to start from scratch and how they hacked their way up the matatu pyramid. I would really appreciate any relevant information as per above.

Feel free to share any own experience is really welcomed.

Thanks a ton in advance! Laughing out loudly

@ hindsight i think u should go for what makes u understand the biz eg 3ls and 5ls are good thats why they are a little expensive vs td27 or qd 32 same as spares are you ready to manage costs of repairs eg shark ikianza kuchemka
vs nissan ikianza kuchemka.are u going for long trips or town service as a colleague said here avoid madeni for start up wishin u all the best
Thitifini
#774 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 8:29:26 PM

matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

11 is a short route, an old vehicle will do. Only headache I foresee is being a newbie with an old vehicle, your crew might take advantage of you.

As a newbie in this industry it's like a drunk fish! Everyone takes advantage!

Until @Rankaz13 posted above, I was headed to the slaughterhouse!

For the 400k I was getting 1-KZ engine for, now I'm getting a 1-KD at that same price! Incl manual gear box plus electricals and labor!

matatuman
#775 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 9:47:01 PM

Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

For the 400k I was getting 1-KZ engine for, now I'm getting a 1-KD at that same price! Incl manual gear box plus electricals and labor!

Engine? Swapping the petrol already? Where is it being done?
junior121121
#776 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 10:29:30 PM

subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Good job here.

What recommendations would you give for seat material for a school bus? The hardiest available understanding pupils. Thanks.

I see no mention of Banbros. We added a Hino, see how that goes, and the body works are terrible! Exactly how @TeamW describes. Banbros walituangusha raundi this!

@ junior where can i get a better price for a coach body 33 or 29 seater and shortest delivery time

Great Stuff Cde Monomotapa, please let me know you feedback and experience with the Hino (Anyone else with experience)
For the seat material - use the KCI material. There is a guy at Moonlight Autos who fixes chairs and stocks it - its about 45% more expensive but stays 2 years longer

33seaterb- best would be CFG - ask for Ngugi and squeeze him for "dealer discount - FYI chassis prices are increasing
junior121121
#777 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 10:42:34 PM

hindsight wrote:

Follow Up...Kindly need your input guys as per above post.

Where is

@Thitifini
@Matatuman
@Subaruman
@Junior121121

and the rest Matatu investors...help out!

Thanks.

@ hindsight - pole for silence - busy week. You seem to have gotten some good feedback on the group. I specialize more on big mats
subaru
#778 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 1:48:53 AM

junior121121 wrote:
subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Good job here.

What recommendations would you give for seat material for a school bus? The hardiest available understanding pupils. Thanks.

I see no mention of Banbros. We added a Hino, see how that goes, and the body works are terrible! Exactly how @TeamW describes. Banbros walituangusha raundi this!

@ junior where can i get a better price for a coach body 33 or 29 seater and shortest delivery time

Great Stuff Cde Monomotapa, please let me know you feedback and experience with the Hino (Anyone else with experience)
For the seat material - use the KCI material. There is a guy at Moonlight Autos who fixes chairs and stocks it - its about 45% more expensive but stays 2 years longer

33seaterb- best would be CFG - ask for Ngugi and squeeze him for "dealer discount - FYI chassis prices are increasing

@ junior could you be knowing the best price as i passed by some time back and the price i was given sounded too rigid
junior121121
#779 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 4:56:07 PM

subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Good job here.

@ junior could you be knowing the best price as i passed by some time back and the price i was given sounded too rigid

Complete 33 seater NQR is currently 4.65 (That is old price new price is about 4.75)- KCI is 4.790 or 4.95 new price.
Thitifini
#780 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 8:00:00 PM

matatuman wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
matatuman wrote:
hindsight wrote:
@Prime ,thanks.

Engine? Swapping the petrol already? Where is it being done?

@matatuman petrol haileti shangwe! Decided to change to diesel. Doing it in Nakuru.