Kenyatta family to build a City in Ruiri
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
What if we made land grabbing legal in KE, and everybody grabbed some? Would it spur economic growth? I see the US of A legalized corruption and gave it a fancy name - Lobbying...... 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Maybe we can hope that one day someone touches Uhuru's heart and shows him the light, the same way Melinda Gates touched Bill's heart. Surely, how does it benefit humanity for one man to own hundreds of billions while his fellow Kenyan is living in slum conditions. Maybe the Kenyan elite can be coerced into a giving pledge like the global elite has done.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,822 Location: Nakuru
Rongla wrote:Alba wrote:Rongla wrote:
Discussing how the land was acquired is a none issue. Why wait for 50 plus years to start questioning its ownership. Even if you get the facts 100% right, of how the the land was acquired, How the hell will it benefit you? Satisfy your stupid ego, right?
People who do not learn from history are the ones who are doomed to repeat the same mistakes. Kenyans fall into this category. Even after seeing how much damage land grabbing did 50 years ago, we are still supporting, glorifying and cheering people who are grabbing land today including primary schools. There are people on this thread who think Kenyatta was honorable supposedly because he looked out for the interests of his family at the expense of the rest of the country. I guess 50 years from now, there will be people glorifying the people grabbing land from water towers, foreasts and other important resources today. We Kenyans should not glorify thieves. I say it is bloody important that we learn from the misdeeds of the past. Those who are trying to disrupt such discussions are just people who cannot deal with the truth. Ukweli lazima usemwe. If we do not learn from the past we will learn the hard way. Experience only teaches fools. Clever people learn from the mistakes of the past. Too many Kenyans have no sense of history. Too much of Kenya's history is being whitewashed. No wonder so many Kenyans are so ill informed. Thats why we need forums like these. The real heroes who tried to unite Kenyans and fight corruption like Pinto, Kaggia, JM, Matiba, Oginga Odinga, Ngala, Muliro, Elijah Masinde and even the saba saba group are destined to the scrap heap of history while people who engaged in rampant tribalism and corruption like Jomo are cheered endlessly. If you cannot stomach truth based discussions then go to a facebook page where sycophants cheer Jomo endlessly while whitewashing the truth. Well given the subject matter and the discussion that ensued, I stand by my statement and I state it again, "how the land was acquired is a none issue". Because the subject matter was hijacked by "HISTORIANS" Yes we can learn from history but history does'nt owe us anything especially when we choose to be selective in what we want to learn from it. A more holistic approach to historic facts is important. A case in point is; Why are we not talking about the over a million acres owned by the Delamere family. What about the other white settlers who still own vast acreages of land? Why is Kenyatta family synonymous with land? History and historical injustices like War,aparthied, Slavery colonialism ,land acquistion or GRABBING TO SOME(like Jomo and Delamere did) when discussed with a view of resolving them, always come with a reparation price tag. This in effect makes the purportedly aggrieved population think through generations that they have a promisory note. A chequewill be signed soon.They are owed.They never move on.They never think. Reparation becomes part of their DNA In the 1950s, England had a severe shortage of semi skilled labour. They welcomed immigrants from India , Pakistan Sri Lanka and Jamica and some other Carribean countries. They all worked mainly as bus drivers, cleaners and brick layers. Today the descendants from the Asian countries are among the well educated and wealthy Britons. The lot from the Carribean and their descendants are poorly educated, run drugs and criminal cartels and have one HISTORIC thing that is passed over through generations. THE WHITE MAN ENSLAVED US, THAT'S WHY WE ARE POOR AND want REPARATIONS. That's how they've learned from HISTORY.( It's so much engrained in them I guess it's now passed on through their DNA) Similarly,Jews lost everything during the Second world war, today, there is a Jewish state, built from scratch in a desert. They dont go on asking Germany for reparations or blame Germany for every woe they face. Of Kenyas total land area, Only 20% is arable and inhabited. 80% is not arable and unihabited but has potential if irrigated like the Jewish state did. Perhaps if we start discussing irrigating Kenyas semi arid land shall we realise Kenyatta family does'nt own that much after all. Its only then that HISTORY will judge us for being visionary and for not having STEADFASTLY looked back at History for ANSWERS, fitina, porojo uvivu ETC as our guide in the name of learning from it. Asante sana bwana Rongla for your point about history and its interpretation in the context of minority groups in England. Asante sana also for the delamere analogy...it is very relevant. I blame politicians specifically opposition.They sensationalize issues profiling one community (now two... 40 vs 2) and blame these communities for Kenya's woes. What follows is that the (other 40) people get this false vision/hope of a messiah who if elected as president will re-possess whatever is deemed grabbed and return it back to the people for free.Fortunately or unfortunately as you and me know, this shall never happen.Not in a capitalist state in a capitalist world. So the people hope and wait and do nothing for themselves.....wait for reparations ala serikali saidia. Just to digress a bit...I have too much respect for the Somali community. Despite the climatic harshness of their "ancestral lands" rarely do we see images of malnourished children or see them on tv asking serikali for alms. The Somali community is probably the most affected by historical injustices but they have emerged from the ashes and most are now leaders in education, politics and business. Rarely do they base their politics tu sijui watu wa bara, Mashamba yetu, no raira no peace etc. Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
you mean a fully grown person can wake up in the morning , take tea,head to office, and during mid-morning tea log into wazua and say that Jomo kenyatta bought all his land ?is that normal
[quote=Cornelius Vanderbilt]you mean a fully grown person can wake up in the morning , take tea,head to office, and during mid-morning tea log into wazua and say that Jomo kenyatta bought all his land ?is that normal[/quote, Very normal. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
How Kenyatta family lost Ruiru landQuote:When Mama Ngina, Kenya’s premier First Lady, decided to sell a good chunk of her land in Ruiru in 1986, little did she know that she would end up in court fighting for 27 years to regain the family heritage. Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Nandwa wrote:How Kenyatta family lost Ruiru landQuote:When Mama Ngina, Kenya’s premier First Lady, decided to sell a good chunk of her land in Ruiru in 1986, little did she know that she would end up in court fighting for 27 years to regain the family heritage. She lost the case to the cons But that story also points out the method Jomo used to become a big landowner. When landless Gatundu people were being allocated land, he told Angaine to include him in the list
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Lolest! wrote:Nandwa wrote:How Kenyatta family lost Ruiru landQuote:When Mama Ngina, Kenya’s premier First Lady, decided to sell a good chunk of her land in Ruiru in 1986, little did she know that she would end up in court fighting for 27 years to regain the family heritage. She lost the case to the cons But that story also points out the method Jomo used to become a big landowner. When landless Gatundu people were being allocated land, he told Angaine to include him in the list That is what happens to the ruling class. That is how Kalonzo, Biwott, Jaramogi, Oyugi, Ntimama, Saitoti, Moi & cronies etc ended up with hundreds and thousands of acres when squatters were being allocated land in former NYS and ADC farms, and mau forest. Surprisingly in kenya, it is only joomoo who is deemed to have gotten land. Sijui hii wivu yote ni ya nini.
According to Lawyer O O, Babu's Father identified and then used his immense powers to grab a piece of land in Bondo that he "earmarked" for building an airstrip. The land is in Opoda. To acquire Opoda land, Babu's Father displaced a whole village from Opoda. Most Kenyans now know this piece of land as Babu's home called Opoda Farm. Nobody but Babu's family and their workers occupy that massive piece of land that once-upon-a-time used to be a village full of villagers!
Now let me hand this over to the Greatest son of The Lake, Lawyer O O.
"If we would go to the TRUTH, I know of a whole village which was taken by a very prominent Kenyan in the guise that he was going to be President of Kenya so he needed an airstrip. He DID NOT BECOME PRESIDENT, THE AIRSTRIP WAS NOT CREATED,THE SON HAS NEVER RETURNED THAT LAND."- Lawyer O O, KTN Interview Feb 4, 2013.
KTN interviewer asks O O, "Would you like to name that individual"?
"The Opoda Farm where the PM comes from (where he built his home) was taken from the villagers in the guise that the VP then, Babu's Father, was going to be President and he needed an airport if not an airstrip. TO DATE THAT LAND HAS NEVER BEEN RETURNED, HE NEVER BECAME PRESIDENT....." Lawyer, O O, KTN Interview Feb 4, 2013.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
That is what happens to the ruling class. That is how Kalonzo, Biwott, Jaramogi, Oyugi, Ntimama, Saitoti, Moi & cronies etc ended up with hundreds and thousands of acres when squatters were being allocated land in former NYS and ADC farms, and mau forest. Surprisingly in kenya, it is only joomoo who is deemed to have gotten land. Sijui hii wivu yote ni ya nini.
Jomo deserves to be reviled above everyone else. He was the founding father of the nation. He should have set the nation down a path to fairness, equality and cohesion. Instead he sent us down the path of corruption and tribal hate. Kenyans most insidious problems (corruption, tribalism, land grabbing etc) originate with his attitudes. He encouraged his cohorts to grab land. he encouraged corruption. He encouraged the siege mentality that makes people think that criticizing a tribal chief is an attack on the whole ethnic group. He created the mentality that makes us cheer thievery from our tribal chiefs. Jomo spent 15 years in London. He should have taken what he learned from a mature democracy and applied it to make Kenya a better place. Instead he focused on enriching his family for generations. I am not saying others are innocent. Our opposition is full of land grabbers as well. Thats why many of them will not challenge issues of land grabbing. Many will not even speak up when corruption is happening. And in Kenya today, we still have not learned from history. We still keep glorifying and defending land grabbers and other corrupt individuals. And since both opposition and government has corrupt individuals, we will always have these financial scandals where large amounts of money just dissappears.
Kenyatta family to build a City in Ruiri