wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

Matatu grafitti.....should it go??
Fyatu
#1 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 8:36:11 AM

Folks at NTSA have given nganyas a week to chuck grafitti off. Teenies and other Kenyans have argued that without madoido and hewa, a matatu is not a matatu. Others have even claimed that it is our urban culture. That it defines Kenya.

The fact remains that pimping of matatus is an industry by itself. So what has changed in the last two years that all of a sudden matatus with graffitti and hewa are a safety hazard on our roads? Are NTSA a bunch of bored political appointees trying hard to justify their hefty mishaharas by their ad hoc laws? Should graffiti go? Should music on Rongai or umoinner nganyas be banned?

What is the worth of graffiti and matatu pimping industry? How much does it contribute to our GDP?

Should we just do away with matatus and introduce mass urban rapid transport as is the case with Dar es Salaam or Addis?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
PeterReborn
#2 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 9:03:31 AM

Its a catch 22.
It is a known fact that Graffiti gives a matatu an identity.The matatus live by this identity.When you have graffiti of thug life then the matatu must behave like a thug.The more a matatu is pimped and has loud music the more careless the matatu is driven.They also have a number of makangas hanging on and are very rude.I deliberately avoid the nganyas maybe juu ya uzee and i like my peace.The younger generation like the more loud carelessly driven matatus for the adrenaline rush.The matatus put on the loud music deliberately so that you don't notice it is carelessly driven.The nganyas are also likely not to reach your destination.
I am with the NTSA on this one.We need to address the thug culture in the matatu industry.
Consistency is better than intensity
subzero
#3 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 9:20:50 AM

Anti_Burglar
#4 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 9:40:46 AM

Some people, mostly men, have not outgrown their teenage assumption that their loud music is sweet to everybody else or perhaps that those without loud music are that way because they don't have loud music equipment.
kayhara
#5 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 9:54:01 AM

kwani kenya kila kitu ni mbele na nyuma, it was banned, then the president okayed it then now they are banning it again? NKT, I really won't board a noisy matatu but I have other options like city hoppa, or KBS, the pimping industry has really grown since Uhuru okayed this, young artists are now drawing on matatus and not walls so let them be, regulate them in other ways like nub careless drivers or suspend them, Kenya mpya are not pimped nor do they have loud music yet they are the deadliest PSV now, tafakali hayo.
To Each His Own
Anti_Burglar
#6 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 10:12:11 AM

Colours and shapes are a lot less a nuisance than sound.

NTSA, were they not the guys banning you from having folk from other ethnicities in your car the other day?
#7 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 10:19:08 AM

YES!

#8 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 10:35:59 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

NTSA, were they not the guys banning you from having folk from other ethnicities in your car the other day?

I look at it as a cute trick to keep Wanjiku busy doing nothing. While something happens below the radar.
Anti_Burglar
#9 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 10:41:45 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

I look at it as a cute trick to keep Wanjiku busy doing nothing. While something happens below the radar.

What happens below the radar?
Iganamagana
#10 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 10:51:09 AM

As long as they lower the music decibels and switch off those irritating sounds, i don't care how they look like or what graffitti they have. Of course the graffitti should not be morally offensive.