wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

198 Pages«<678910>»
Realities of Forex Investment
NGAATU
#141 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 8:27:00 PM

@passyson @ tonicasert and @all.Hope you day was good. Hope you guys have seen the fall of the GBP/USD hitting at low support levels of 1.8773!!! i think it was coming,anticipation of the weak economic data,posted by the employment rate forecasts and the BOE GDP estimates. It was around 135 pips if you would have gone short.Wow!! it was so nice i only estimated around 65 pips down with the economic data following,not bad for a guy shorting the GBP/USD from morning!!! I hope wazee mumepata hiyo cake kidogo ya leo.
It seems the commodities driven currencies are still feeling the heat though they are trying to pull themselves. USD/CAD how do see their movements in relationship? I know there are small dollars wazee to give a good take.Where is @passyson,@tonicasert.

A looming japanese downturn guys!!! Fear of reccesion??

@NGAATU
NGAATU
#142 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 8:44:00 PM

@passyson thats a noble idea in having a central place where we can share information and help traders make money collectively.I am still trying to develop something which i think will be benefitial to all traders,a place where we will be giving each other information,tips and signals. We dont need to be selfish on one another and its something where we can all benefit and minimize risks where neccesary. Hilo ni wazo safi sana.

@NGAATU
StephenAlala
#143 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 9:44:00 PM

EDSAS has made no trade today. However,because of the preponderance of longs on the EURUSD over last night,we earned about USD 400 in premium for overnight positions.

How many fellows want to become money managers?
Passyson
#144 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 9:50:00 PM

GBP/USD meltdown in the NY session is imminent especially noting that the retail sales report was not that bad as compared to the BOE unemployment report and inflation rate. I am currently short on GBP/USD with 56 pips already. I am targeting at least 80 pips in this session.

Ngaatu...the USD/CAD pair will always be peculiar. I am currently waiting for the inventory report at 5:35pm although i am already long on it. If S/L are hit so be it. That will give me a definite idea of where the pair is heading based on oil. I am also shorting the EUR/USD pair.

Something else Ngaatu...the SK page is really taking long to load...any idea why this is the case?

Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination
kilabe
#145 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 10:07:00 PM

@alala
What do you mean by money managers?please elaborate so that we can also understand cause i am managing my own account and i think i am a money manager.Ama you mean employing a trader to manage funds??
How much are you willing to part in a month?? Maybe it could be given a sjot by people like us,cause the experinced guys around here wont take that as they have abilities of generating more,sasa kwa sisi wadogo we can give it a shot What are your qualifications in a person becoming your money manager?

How that your EDSAS did not make bucks jana,and the fundamentals milked comfortably?
@ NGAATU @passyson @tonicasert you need to set a place where we could help each other i think you have more information and we could also add and we could help each other in making more money.I support your move @passyson

HARD WORK,HARD WORK HARD WORK
Passyson
#146 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 10:52:00 PM

The inventory report is actually USD negative and oil positive BUT the gasoline demand in the US is down so this discrepancy might be a rallying point for the USD...am still long on USD/CAD.

NGAATU
#147 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 10:53:00 PM

@passyson
I think that is not a bad target as the retail sales were not as bad as the economic forecasts of united kingdom.Your targets of 50 - 80 pips will be cool and you've already hit 20 pips already that is a right direction pending unveiling of more economic trends.I short traded the GBP/USD during the morning session as my fundamentals(when the U.K economic data went mad)drove strongly down and managed to coup around 67 pips though it went to almost 114 pips under currently am out of it but shorting it for small pips aint that bad.

Am looking at the EUR/USD,USD/CHF and using USD/JPY to hedge myself. still waiting for some trends and data but i think targeting small pips you may go short on EUR(taking into account the volatility).
USD/JPY there is a fear of slowdown ( the japanese exports data are extremely weak due to the past effect of the weak USD which hampered their exports levels and its heavily relying on the B.O.P.Looking at its behaviour but i just went long some times ago and managed about 55 pips but still looking at it. How are small dollars doing?

The SK page is absolutely very slow to load its even boring,naona iko shida mahali.

@NGAATU
Passyson
#148 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2008 11:18:00 PM

@Ngaatu...just liquidated GBP/USD position @117 pips. USD/CAD was not looking bright so i closed it at 20 pips loss. I am now short on EUR/JPY for next hour or so. MR. Warmonger has just spoken (Bush) in the lines of him expecting Russian troops to leave Georgia and a US cargo plane is enroute to Georgia...

tonicasert
#149 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 1:24:00 PM

Morning all!

Nice call on GBPUSD @Passyon,Ngaatu yesterday. Had a busy day,so just did one scalp trade for 20pips.

Majors are still getting a beating with concerns of growth rate,unemployment and general recession. Gold and oil are marginally up. With Russia advancing towards Tbilisi,in Georgia,and Bush+Rice raising their concerns yesterday for such advance,am not sure what direction the market will take today. May just scalp on the 5,15 and 30 min charts.

Off the cuff: In moments like these,one can appreciate forex trading when NSE is in a bear run. Though stocks are a good divestiture,times like these call for us to either sit and watch (if you have no extra funds),or add on shares that are going at a bargain price (if you have some extra dime).

Stockskenya of late is loading pretty slowly and the way I was starting to enjoy the new fraternity of traders. Too slow for my patience. Hope something will be done. Its an excellent site we all learn from.
Passyson
#150 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 4:02:00 PM

Morning fellow traders...

Nice to see your treasured input so early @ tonicasert...

My pick for today is NZD/USD...i am long on it based on the PMI released earlier today which came at 48.8 better than the expectations of 45.3...USD data yesterday was also not good and also the pair has already hit the resistance of 0.6971....I will be long on it at least for the london session.

Happy trading all!

suraya
#151 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 4:07:00 PM

Hi guys,I think this is a beautiful post,very informative and im hoping people might consider forex an alternative or additional investment. I need to know the best times for trading different currencies or is the time not important? I have realised when i trade in the afternoons the chances of loosing are high and I prefer trading in the morning...can someone inform me about the times?
StephenAlala
#152 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 4:17:00 PM

@Suraya,

In the morning especially after the London Market opens at about 10 a.m. the movement is generally mono-directional. Perhaps this is because 70% of all FX transactions happen in London so it is difficult for small players to spike the market this way or that.

@ Kilabe,a money manager is someone who manages other people's trading accounts (in FX,your clients will not be giving you the money - they deposit directly with the broker).

To become a money manager,you just need to be able to provide one year's trading statement (I can already feel guys in this thread trembling)

I have access to about 800 clients who would like money management services but I am contractually prohibited by FXCM (as we are their local support centre) from managing these accounts.

By the way,why are you guys so afraid of sharing your account statements?
StephenAlala
#153 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 5:05:00 PM

Finally back in Nairobi!

@Passyson,Ngaatu,Toni,all

ForexKenya.com is already setting up a blog for FX traders. With the support of FXCM,this blog will be made known to all FX traders on FXCM platforms. Fantastic way to get business for you guys - stop thinking local.

I think the catch will be that FXCM will insists that only live FXCM traders can post new threads. Marketing,marketing,marketing... Fungueni account na mimi

@Kilabe,

EDSAS thrives in volatility that is why no cash was made jana. Today,it has closed 77 pips as of noon.
Passyson
#154 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 5:38:00 PM

@Alala...as i have said before,Forex trading is not supposed to be a selfish venture. There is a lot of money to be made out there even if we had all Africans trading in it. To tell me that the catch will be &quot;only FXCM account holders will be allowed to blog there&quot; smirks of ulterior motives.

I cannot see myself hoarding information that will or might help other traders just because they do not belong. I earn my money from forex and i would want anyone who is trading to do the same.

Personally,i am not interested in being a money manager. I prefer doing my own thing. At the same time,i look foward to exchanging views with like minded traders in here.

On that note,@ tonicasert,Ngaatu et al...seems like my NZD/USD pair aint moving that well as expected. Might be forced to carry it over to the NY session and see whether my S/L will be hit or not :)

StephenAlala
#155 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 6:00:00 PM

@Passyson,

No hard feelings bwana! There is no ulterior motive. The motive is very out in the open. FXCM would want guys to trade on their platforms so that they can make spread and be able to pay their rent. And they also have to pay me for supporting them locally.

However,if we do not use FXCM support in marketing the blog - and ForexKenya.com just builds one for anyone irrespective of platform - I do not see how they can require us to restrict it to live FXCM account users.

I however prefer the thread to be on a site like stockskenya. Putting a blog in a specialist location like ForexKenya.com is nice but it will not demystify FX to the mwananchi. So everytime you talk about FX people will be saying &quot;Pyramid!&quot;
kilabe
#156 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 9:34:00 PM

@alala
I think thats a prudent idea but i think it will suit FXCM guys and the genius members!
I also do think its disrespectful to say that people are trembling because of one year experience,with information circling here around its evident there are blokes here who are much informed than the you guys.Maybe you have an edge cause of managing big funds but with information and skills i think we have the guys fit enough around here( you know them).
That FX BLOG was already proposed and it was to be with all guys here so maybe we will wait that @passyson,@ngaatu @tonicasert @kim007 e.t.c will create as we think that will be having wise informed people. Guys in forex do not need to be selfish if you have information just share with all as they will benefit and learn more skills. Having a lot of people in a place is not neccesarily having the right informed,maybe we could prove this with time.I dont have an FXCM account and am not desiring as i am satisfied with my forex.com account.
dont you have enough money managers at your place? or cant you recruit from your trainees which i know most of them are half baked and you want to tap from these blokes skills.C'mon we need to respect each other not boast and in real sense we have deficiency in skills and info.
Regarding the EADSS system i think it was the best existing in all conditions. Thats why techicals and fundamentals will always be advisers and people giving direction and analysis in big institutions and firms,they are always dynamic.

WE ARE WAITING FOR A GENUINE FX THREAD POSTED NOT FOR FXCM,I THINK GUYS ARE WITHIN THAT PLACE.@ngaatu,@passyson &amp; co continue giving us information,we are benefitting a lot.

NGAATU
#157 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 10:18:00 PM

@passyson,@toni,@KIM 007
I think also going short for some pips of around was not bad for NZD/USD,i took around 25 pips and moved out before the commodities started soem movements. For euro/usd i think in the morning it was so volatile. Have you seen a small correlation of the pair of USD/CAD and AUD/USD?It is somehow negatively correlated.Give me your take.

@alala We need a forum where all can partcipate and share information freely and enrich one another,we do not need to auction information,i do somehow concur with passyson that we dont need to hide anything if you beleive in yourself and helping others where you can also be helped as nobody is perfect we are all trying to make a living.So i think it will be somehow good we have another forum apart from the FXCM blog so that guys can choose where they will be comfortable.
Regarding forex being victimised like pyramid as i had said earlier it is cause of not telling guys the truth and the participants not having proper skills and information,that i think will draw a thin line between those who are here to help and trade and opportunists.The reality i believe in the meantime shall prevail.

But i do congratulate you for having an FXCM blog,thats good for FXCM guys and i see you have many clients about 1000! they will enjoy themselves there hopeful.

I cannot comment about money managers,maybe you could help the 800 clients by investing in FXCM accounts.

@NGAATU
StephenAlala
#158 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 11:01:00 PM

@All,

Got the point. I will not tie it to FXCM.

@All and Kilabe especially

I was just wondering why FX traders like hiding their account statements. If we want Kenyans to know the Realities of Forex Investment&quot;,don't you guys think we should be more open? Just asking humbly. Can we discuss this matter because this is the elephant in the room?

The public is saying this: The elephant in the room is that FX traders are telling us how good FX investment is yet they are hiding their account statements. How well are FX Traders really doing?
Passyson
#159 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 11:30:00 PM

@Suraya...one thing that you should realise in forex market (apart from what Alala has told you) is that currency movement during periods preceeding a major announcement can be extremely volatile or subdued as is the case today. The European and US data has been a non-trade so far. NZ data is expected out later in the day and this will give a general idea of how the currencies will move. Tomorrow is also the US consumer index sentiment...expect this to move the market in leaps and bounds. If the result is negative,or just below prevailing consensus estimates for the same,it may cause a reversal trend for the USD, which has been rising steadily over the past few days. The vice versa should happen if the it comes out positive. It's set to be released at 16:55hrs kenyan time. I would suggest that you trade EUR/USD for example from around 11am -12:30 noon and then pull out...then wait again from 4pm-6pm before you exit.

@Ngaatu..negative correlation indeed. Also seems like comdolls are the main driving force of the market today although the data that was out today basically sets the tone for a slowing global economy - less demand of the commodities. I am still waiting for the NZD retail sales data later @ 0145hrs.....All said and done,you should have made at least 30 pips when the US data was released before retracement. Good one there!

@Kilabe..totally concur with you. Hopefully very soon we will have a forum where we can exchange information freely. In the meantime let us use this facility.

@Alala..no illfeelings...just like my stand being out in the open to avoid any misunderstandings...that way,i am ok with anyone concerned. Let us push for a united forex forum where everyone can freely benefit from it...Newbies and old timers alike!

Am leaving my NZD/USD position open to take advantage(or be taken advantage of!) by the NZ data. So far,the pair has just been ranging.

Good evening all!

kilabe
#160 Posted : Thursday, August 14, 2008 11:50:00 PM

@alala

Its good you've got the decision from majority.But i think FX guys in SK currently will be waiting for the thread in the site which will be created by the likes of passyson,ngaatu,toni and KIm007 i think most guys have faith in their information;for those who will be in your FXCM blog a good chance for them to communicate with their colleagues.

About the 'elephant and a person revealing statement of accounts&quot;,we should not deviate people,this forum was an approach for reality in all those who want to invest and its basically the reality. I think everybody makes losses and profits in this trade and thats why we want all of us to share the information of P&amp;L without fear and correct ourselves.

For those guys who want to manage people accounts i think they are the ones who are obligated to show investors their accounts,i think it will be boisterous and naively for a individual trader to show his accounts in public to prove that he is making or making losses,those are normal things. I am trading with an account of 8000 currently and i am making and at times losses so why should i show it to public???? and i am comfortable and dont want to manage other guys accounts cause am building my account slowly to my targets.Simirlaly a previous account statement perfomance may be a key to dupe people as historic perfomance isnt the future perfomance so as long as it is good to show it it may be used as a bait to get people as they will have a perception a person live accounts has been doing good before and yet the systems are collapsing and making losses. I can tell you most of those who lost were shown nice perfoming live accounts but they were in a shock when things went opposite!Am sorry to say so but am one of them.

What will protect any investor is the information he is getting is factual and which can safeguard him to know reality and dreams,but showing accounts statement for managed is good but it can be another way of only luring people to pump a lot of funds so as to offer a protection zone in risks by haing more volumes,infact most of the times there are in losses direction and within a short span people are shocked when the firm they beleived collapses suddenly as those in control are the ones who are aware of that infor.I think there are many forex firms which went under in U.S like that cause guys were optimistic rather than having factual information and knowledge. Didnt that appear to bear sterns,even here in kenya Nyaga records were doing good!!!

We need reality and proper skills to be sustainable but not breeding something to bubble;information and knowledge never ceases and can keep up with any enviroment that is the lesson i have learnt in financial markets( i have unit trusts also)