wazua Thu, Jun 18, 2026

15 Pages«<34567>»
Kenyatta family to build a City in Ruiri
Alba
#41 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 4:40:59 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Where this land (Ruiru) sits there were no peasants then (1850 - 1960) Most peasants were in current Dagoretti, Kiambu town, Murang'a, Kirinyaga and Nyeri.Before the Mubeberu, land in central was communal. People started having their own pieces of land in 1957

First off I find it difficult to believe that no one lived in Ruiru between 1850 and 1960.
Be that as it may, grabbing communal land and apportioning it to yourself does not make it any better.
Alba
#42 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 4:50:07 PM

Jomo Kenyatta lived, worked and studied in the UK for 15 years. So he had every opportunity to learn from a mature democracy how to run a country and a great city (London).

As the founding father of Kenya, He could have taken those lessons and applied them to Kenya especially Nairobi. There was an opportunity to learn from the mistakes London had made and copy the good things they had done.

By the time the Nairobi master plan was created around 1948, the city was basically a blank slate. Population was less than 100,000. Kenyatta could have set aside room for roads, hospitals, fire brigades, water sources etc. The city could have expanded in an orderly fashion.

Instead of using his knowledge for the good of the country, he went about selfishly grabbing every piece of land in site and encouraging his cohorts to do the same.

As someone pointed out above, much of the land he grabbed is land that should have been owned by the government and should have been used to build or expand much needed infrastructure and amenities.

Nairobi is a mess now with a population of 3 million. If you think traffic, water shortages or power outages are bad now, then wait ten years from now when the population reaches 5 million.

There is nothing commendable about what Kenyatta did. Most of our grandfathers did not have the inside knowledge that he had nor the power to grab any piece of land they wanted.
#43 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 4:56:08 PM

Alba wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Where this land (Ruiru) sits there were no peasants then (1850 - 1960) Most peasants were in current Dagoretti, Kiambu town, Murang'a, Kirinyaga and Nyeri.Before the Mubeberu, land in central was communal. People started having their own pieces of land in 1957

First off I find it difficult to believe that no one lived in Ruiru between 1850 and 1960.
Be that as it may, grabbing communal land and apportioning it to yourself does not make it any better.

hardly. hapo wako na point. Africans preferred fertile lands higher up in Kiambu than marginal lands with Acacia and thorns. Maybe it's true that mzee had foresight coz many must've thought him crazy 'buying' such dry areas.

Swali ni, did Jomo buy the land? If he did, was it AT ARMS LENGTH/Market price? or did he use his prerogative under the law that was in place to allocate his family and cronies those huge swathes?
Alba
#44 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:06:12 PM

hardly. hapo wako na point. Africans preferred fertile lands higher up in Kiambu than marginal lands with Acacia and thorns. Maybe it's true that mzee had foresight coz many must've thought him crazy 'buying' such dry areas.

Swali ni, did Jomo buy the land? If he did, was it AT ARMS LENGTH/Market price? or did he use his prerogative under the law that was in place to allocate his family and cronies those huge swathes?

It is not foresight. It is inside knowledge. Having lived in London for 15 years, he knew that land near the capital will eventually appreciate in value. Most Kenyan peasants did not even know the city of Nairobi existed.

And he had control over which direction the city would expand and where roads would be built. He could easily direct that public money be spent building roads near farms that he owns. Does'nt the Nairobi- Nakuru highway pass right next to one of his largest farms?

And since he had absolute control, he could basically apportion himself any land he wanted. As founding father of the nation he should have acted in the common good of the people. Instead he acted for his own families benefit and to the detriment of other Kenyans.

Why the heck is this man being praised? Do we elect leaders to do good for the country or do we elect them to enrich their families?
Mike Ock
#45 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:21:41 PM

Mosby wrote:
Some of our grandfathers missed the opportunities of their day...buying cheap land. There must be a present opportunity that shall be talked about in future the same way we talk about land now..Be careful lest ur grandchildren say the same of u in coming years.

The internet is the great opportunity of our time. Those who are reaping from it during these early unregulated days will tell tales of wonder to their grandchildren. There are smart young Kenyans minting millions here from the comfort of their home, using minimal capital, me included. Ni hayo tu, sisemi zaidi
#46 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:40:20 PM

Just for perspective. Mzee became president when he was 74 years old. He had very simple tastes, the man enjoyed just sitting down at lake Nakuru or Mombasa State House being entertained by Nyakinyua women dancers. Even when he was in Nairobi he lived in Gatundu and spent every night at home. I get the feeling he would have cared less about accumulating property. He however had a young wife who I hear is very business savvy. Most of the property was bought in her name. She accumulated land and was involved in ivory trade. She has only given one interview in her life when she spoke to Kameme a few years ago and in that interview she said, "Muthee agikua ndari na mbia, twendirie mugunda niguo ciana ithome" (When mzee died he did not have money, I had to sell land for the children to go to school." She said this in the same tone of voice that a woman with one acre speaks of selling a half acre of land. I think part of the reason Uhuru is so down to earth is because he probably grew up being told, "gutiri mbia." (There is no money.)

#47 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:51:42 PM

Jitahidi wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
While some people are struggling to buy 50 by 100 plots there are people with 11,000 acres around Nairobi!!! Ni sawa tu. Wacha wajenge, at least they are investing in Kenya. It is better than buying castles in Europe.

While some people fathers and grandfathers were still hunters and gatherers, running naked chasing after Guinea fowls and bush rats, some people grandfathers and fathers were in Europe studying, writing books and organizing political movements....I dont blame them for being rich. I blame my grandfather

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I once passed by South C with my grandfather and he told me that in his heydays the land there was being sold cheap and he was offered since he worked for sirikal, but opted not to get it since animals would cross over from the park, he did not see value...ona sasa

huyo ungechapa kofi!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Reminds me of a story I heard of Mountaineers who in the 60s changad money to buy large pieces of land from wazungus at the coast. So the land is divided into small plots and members can choose which ones they want. Some people took their wives from Muranga and went to inspect the land. The ladies looked at the plots closest to the ocean (beach plots) and declared, "Guku no muthanga mutheri, hatiri kindu ki ngikura haha, kaba nakuria iguru kundu tungikuria irio." (This place is all sand, nothing can grow here, it is better those other plots [furthest from the ocean] because we can grow food there. So they left the beach plots alone and chose plots 4 or 5 rows from the beach. Only smart guys like Matiba could see the value of land close to the ocean so they bought those ones.

The power of education and co-operative/tion. The key phrase here is that "they changad money to buy large pieces of land from wazungus"....People were not given land for free. If my grandfather had not insisted with his hunter gatherer tendencies then perhaps d'oh!

Last Saturday I had a chat with a 90 years old man who owns a number of acres near kamakis (eastern bypass) and near where this city is being built. He was telling me they were buying 1acre and a quarter at Kes. 1,000 in 1968. Now he is a millionaire. Our grandfathers were asleep when others were buying land

#48 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:57:21 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Mosby wrote:
Some of our grandfathers missed the opportunities of their day...buying cheap land. There must be a present opportunity that shall be talked about in future the same way we talk about land now..Be careful lest ur grandchildren say the same of u in coming years.

The internet is the great opportunity of our time. Those who are reaping from it during these early unregulated days will tell tales of wonder to their grandchildren. There are smart young Kenyans minting millions here from the comfort of their home, using minimal capital, me included. Ni hayo tu, sisemi zaidi

Share, there's enough for all
#49 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:03:56 PM

Alba wrote:

It is not foresight. It is inside knowledge. Having lived in London for 15 years, he knew that land near the capital will eventually appreciate in value. Most Kenyan peasants did not even know the city of Nairobi existed.

And he had control over which direction the city would expand and where roads would be built. He could easily direct that public money be spent building roads near farms that he owns. Does'nt the Nairobi- Nakuru highway pass right next to one of his largest farms?

And since he had absolute control, he could basically apportion himself any land he wanted. As founding father of the nation he should have acted in the common good of the people. Instead he acted for his own families benefit and to the detriment of other Kenyans.

Why the heck is this man being praised? Do we elect leaders to do good for the country or do we elect them to enrich their families?

He could have easily grabbed land in CBD instead of having his kids wait for 40 years. Those were days of absolute rule.

On actual grabbing, I heard that he grabbed land in Gatundu and resettled the mathigini in marginal lands. Sijui mtu yeyote who lost land to Jomo so msinirusie mawe pris!
Alba
#50 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 7:49:27 PM

He could have easily grabbed land in CBD instead of having his kids wait for 40 years. Those were days of absolute rule.

On actual grabbing, I heard that he grabbed land in Gatundu and resettled the mathigini in marginal lands. Sijui mtu yeyote who lost land to Jomo so msinirusie mawe pris!

Kama hujui mtu then meet Gichuhi Kinyanjui who claims mzee stole his land
15 Pages«<34567>»