wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

tuwache ushenzi
Fyatu
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:11:19 PM

Today in their breakfast show they (KTN) brought folks from Baringo to try and remedy the way they mulikad that school in Baringo for having no classrooms, no desks etc. They should know this kind of situation is not unique in Baringo county alone. It is as if some politician paid some journalist to try and portray the local leaders in bad light

I concur that the commander-in-chief big question was lame mafi ya kuku stuff...It came out as if KTN was trying hard to plant a seed of dissent within KDF and make CIC look as if he does not care. It does not do anyone any good with such kind of presenting..besides, KDF special forces are still searching for missing soldiers. We don't even know how many of our own are dead leave alone scattered in the bush injured
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Nandwa
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:22:52 PM

I am all for our troops and Country.
I am saddened by the happenings of last Friday.
I am certain that we will come out of it not only victorious, but also stronger.
I believe our troops are a force to reckon with, hence the guy calling them lame blah blah blah, is most probably the one who is lame-head!

As for the media - that's a tight rope to walk - granted they have to exercise discretion on what and how they report, but again they have a responsibility to inform. For starters were it not for them we would be in 'bigger' darkness than we are. Remember before the President set the records straight, some operative had given us inaccurate info - that the attack wasnt in our troops camp but that of Somali military! It is one thing to guard info that has a bearing to national security, but quite another to withhold or mislead Kenyans on non critical info - leaving them to rely on BBC, yahoo, social media etc for info.

While at it, my thinking is that it is in such times that kiongozi wetu takes centre stage. Especially so, given the extend of the problem -

trying to soften the blow of what may be the worst military disaster in this country’s history

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:33:06 PM

So what do you want them to report?

Would an hourly briefing from Itumbi do for you guys?

You can't run away from the news.

Someone decided that the President should go to Mombasa. Obviously the story you wanted to hear is that Mombasa pia ni Kenya and he's there for development of the whole country.

Unfortunately for you, that message is not the message the masses heard.

Of course, how this is perceived depends on your goggles.

Don't blame the press when they report that the President was in Mombasa and was opening a so and so project and did not go to the airport to meet our dead brethren.

That is exactly what happened.

But if you think he looked cool during this mess, that's ok. Others did not think so, so get used to such situations.

#14 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:39:16 PM

I am never moved by the words of experts from outside a certain field or task! Everyone can watch a couple of movies and TV series and make a comment that seems to look intelligent. This happens on virtually everything! from teachers strike, to the Eurobond and now Millitary matters. I was once on the short end of the stick on this when experts were commenting and making assumptions from a distance on matters I had intimate knowledge of... from that day... I tend not to take experts on (wait for it.....) [INSERT PROFESSIONAL FIELD HERE] who are not involved in the project/task at hand too seriously!! watu wako na midomo and by default - it seems intelligent.
kollabo
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 1:01:34 PM

I am never moved by the words of experts from outside a certain field or task! Everyone can watch a couple of movies and TV series and make a comment that seems to look intelligent. This happens on virtually everything! from teachers strike, to the Eurobond and now Millitary matters. I was once on the short end of the stick on this when experts were commenting and making assumptions from a distance on matters I had intimate knowledge of... from that day... I tend not to take experts on (wait for it.....) [INSERT PROFESSIONAL FIELD HERE] who are not involved in the project/task at hand too seriously!! watu wako na midomo and by default - it seems intelligent.

Applause Agreed. I've blocked KTN from my screen.
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 2:07:37 PM

Of course, how this is perceived depends on your goggles.

Applause
Risasi Sufuri
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 2:09:57 PM

kollabo wrote:

Applause Agreed. I've blocked KTN from my screen.

Since the time of that strategy paper that was circulating to the effect that members of the fourth estate in this channel receive rewards from certain politicians I no longer take them seriously. Social media comments of members of the fourth estate in this channel were so skewed something you do expect of an independent journalist.

Aren't journalists supposed to have some sense of responsibility when commenting on social media? Although they indicate in their social media platforms that the views expressed are their own, somehow their views carry much weight and are sometimes deemed to reflect the view of the news channel. Since news reporting is supposed to be objective, their social media comments must be factual otherwise their credibility would be eroded.
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 4:09:52 PM

kollabo wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
kollabo wrote:
KTN even had the question "What is your message to the commander in chief"

Really?

What the Press doesnt know that fallen soldiers arrive every day in the US and the President they so want to copy is most of the times not there. Nakwambia mimi sijaona ushenzi kama wa hii Kenyan media

i dont expect this kind of reporting from the mainstream media. gone are the days when the government used to claim "uchochezi" from the media. this kind of tabloid journalism from our mainstream meadia especially on serious matters is harming their reputation. soon there will be no diffrence in watching the "vijanaa" doing the K.U tv news and the KTN nonsense

Did you watch Dennis Onsarigo on KTN yesterday? He interviewed a Somali security expert who had the balls to say we have "a lame duck army"

So sad Sad Sad

Are you serious? The amount of self hate in this country is just out of this world. As someone has pointed out would anyone try calling the US army lame yet they receive casualties daily. When you give a fool a microphone what do you expect? I know journalism is not a profession but hii trade yao imezidi. Notice how all stations aired the US army choir because they were singing a Kiswahili song just because its the US army, the song won a grammy award in 05 or 06 bure kabisa
Alba
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:54:52 PM

Calling Kenya army a lame duck does not mean Kenya army is useless. It may just mean they do not have the numbers or the equipment or the mandate to win this war.

Look at some facts:
1. Mwathethe now says it took 3 days for the rescue party to reach El Adde
2. Mwathethe says The KDF HQ supposedly only found out about the attack 2 hours after it happened
3. Some experts are saying KDF does not have the equipment or ability to stop a VBIED attack.
4. Mwathethe also claims that KDF communications were knocked out preventing them from calling for re-inforcements.

And so forth
None of this means Kenya army is useless. It just means they are vulnerable to another attack or that they will not accomplish any of their objectives. Hence the terminology "lame duck"

If changes are not going to be made then they should just leave Somalia. I am not sure what Kenya's objective in Somalia is. But whatever it is, chances are that it will not be accomplished given the current set of circumstances.