wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

24 Pages«<678910>»
Elade Attack
#141 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 4:11:58 PM

oltome wrote:
I have just seen pics from the attack online, we can no longer deny that the attack was on the Kenyan Base. Expect the video to follow suit soon.But amidst all these, how comes the Ethiopian forces are seldom attacked?

1) their Sheikh Abu Zubayr Battalion did that -
they claim to have killed 60 of them last year.

2) then they used the weapons from the ethiopians to kill Burundian soldiers. Then they took ugandan weapons.

3) alkefafus replenish their munitions from raids, and use this in the next attack.
If the captured Burundian APC had been sought and destroyed then we would not be talking of this attack now.

4)A soft skin VBIED can be destroyed before covering a large distance, however an APC can withstand light calibre fire until it reaches an optimum place to detonate like happened in el adde. That is why KDF has been destroying all captured munitions

4) while AMISOM refunds us on the other equipment it doesnt do so on the air assets...hizo ndege zinalipwa na Treasury

5) where else does alkefaf get their weapon supplies? Through raids, blackmarket and Gulf of Aden, and we used to lipua them as soon they were spotted in the waters, until we rehatted to amisom

6) Where does their financing come from?

7) the AMISOM model of setting up forward
operating bases (fob) like the janale (Ug),
deynille (Burundians) and El Adde (Kenyans)
ones once they have captured a town is
clearly not working, and needs a total
rethink.

8) amison needs to increase troop strength - current armies stretched

9) alkefafus are now emboldened, and can attack any army, the cloak of invicibility of kdf has been shattered. More attacks would be expected.

10) Drone attacks used to help decimate Alkefafu leadership but base moved - nearest in djibouti. But why were kenyans not using drones in el adde town for recon?

#142 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 5:25:04 PM

oltome wrote:
I have just seen pics from the attack online, we can no longer deny that the attack was on the Kenyan Base. Expect the video to follow suit soon.But amidst all these, how comes the Ethiopian forces are seldom attacked?

Ethiopia seldom report anything. Hata wakipigwa hawasemi.
Akina Bonny mwangi can't last one day over there.
#143 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 5:49:59 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
oltome wrote:

1) their Sheikh Abu Zubayr Battalion did that -
they claim to have killed 60 of them last year.

2) then they used the weapons from the ethiopians to kill Burundian soldiers. Then they took ugandan weapons.

3) alkefafus replenish their munitions from raids, and use this in the next attack.
If the captured Burundian APC had been sought and destroyed then we would not be talking of this attack now.

4)A soft skin VBIED can be destroyed before covering a large distance, however an APC can withstand light calibre fire until it reaches an optimum place to detonate like happened in el adde. That is why KDF has been destroying all captured munitions

4) while AMISOM refunds us on the other equipment it doesnt do so on the air assets...hizo ndege zinalipwa na Treasury

5) where else does alkefaf get their weapon supplies? Through raids, blackmarket and Gulf of Aden, and we used to lipua them as soon they were spotted in the waters, until we rehatted to amisom

6) Where does their financing come from?

7) the AMISOM model of setting up forward
operating bases (fob) like the janale (Ug),
deynille (Burundians) and El Adde (Kenyans)
ones once they have captured a town is
clearly not working, and needs a total
rethink.

8) amison needs to increase troop strength - current armies stretched

9) alkefafus are now emboldened, and can attack any army, the cloak of invicibility of kdf has been shattered. More attacks would be expected.

10) Drone attacks used to help decimate Alkefafu leadership but base moved - nearest in djibouti. But why were kenyans not using drones in el adde town for recon?

Good question. Something I've wondered over and over. Drones for surveillance and for protection. Shouldn't this have been a 24 hr thing, with monitored drones covering every base's proximity for attack? Kwani what modern warfare is being employed? Satelite surveillance?

Any movement should be seen and investigated kilometres away, from any base, by machines, before military personnel is employed.

Even in our mall terrorist attack, were drones used for upelelezi and/or launching the rescue?

oltome
#144 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 5:52:03 PM

oltome wrote:

Ethiopia seldom report anything. Hata wakipigwa hawasemi.
Akina Bonny mwangi can't last one day over there.

Nope! the videos are not from conventional media...its from the militia recording itself (the cameraman during the Ugandan raid was killed and another guy picked up the camera and carried on Sad d'oh! )Now i am yet to see any documented raid on the Ethiopians
#145 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:49:51 AM

These attacks happen when someone is at the Hague Re: Westgate, Garissa and now Elade. Am i hearing that commanders at the base were warned of impending attack?
Anti_Burglar
#146 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:15:38 AM

#147 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:33:29 PM

Facts:
1) True no. of Kenyan KIA will never be publicly known, hata mpige
ndurua aje - reason not to demoralize soldiers in theatre
(kenyan + amisom), not to embolden alkefafu and to maintain kdf
esteem. It will be classified.Besides some may hv been killed
elsewhere - MIA.
2) also tru n. of alkefafu died in this attack and in kdf's counter-
offensive attack/airstrikes won't be disclosed - maybe by a
defector sometime one day,
3) the kdf communications and armoury were swiftly hit by the
vbieds - meaning someone leaked the layout of our camp to AS,
who and where is the mole?
4) the avrg Somalis practice moderate Islam - foreign jihadist
fighters (woii including kenyans)are responsible for this
extremism/violence typical of wahhabism.
Means we have very professional bomb-makers next door who know
how to rig huge (500Kg+) bombs - clear and present danger to
+254.
5) attack was complex and organized over time - eg AS had started
streaming into the town in small groups so as not to attract
attention, they used a decoy to lure away our armoured cars
(kama hii:
https://en.wikipedia.org...ard_AML-90_img_2308.jpg)
so that vbieds could move in, they had anti-aircraft ready and
fighters to harass reinforcements during/after attack

6) kdf intelligence should pull down any offending vids and photos?
propaganda war
7) Irresponsible journalism: Standard of jana should not have
pointed out the missing camp commander - he becomes #1 alkefafu
target if alive.
Worse still - on the first page they say his name has been
withheld then on Pg 9 identify his name and rank.
8) the same modus operandi used in el adde was same in attacking
ugandan, burundians and ethiopians - vbied followed by waves of
infantry attacking periodically. Meaning the armies didnt study
enemy methods and develop countermeasures. Makes you wonder if
we learnt and incorporated any lessons from all other attacks -
if not you can bet another attack wil come and we will need
more hashtags & candles

keraka
#148 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:45:01 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Facts:
1) True no. of Kenyan KIA will never be publicly known, hata mpige
ndurua aje - reason not to demoralize soldiers in theatre
(kenyan + amisom), not to embolden alkefafu and to maintain kdf
esteem. It will be classified.Besides some may hv been killed
elsewhere - MIA.
2) also tru n. of alkefafu died in this attack and in kdf's counter-
offensive attack/airstrikes won't be disclosed - maybe by a
defector sometime one day,
3) the kdf communications and armoury were swiftly hit by the
vbieds - meaning someone leaked the layout of our camp to AS,
who and where is the mole?
4) the avrg Somalis practice moderate Islam - foreign jihadist
fighters (woii including kenyans)are responsible for this
extremism/violence typical of wahhabism.
Means we have very professional bomb-makers next door who know
how to rig huge (500Kg+) bombs - clear and present danger to
+254.
5) attack was complex and organized over time - eg AS had started
streaming into the town in small groups so as not to attract
attention, they used a decoy to lure away our armoured cars
(kama hii:
https://en.wikipedia.org...ard_AML-90_img_2308.jpg)
so that vbieds could move in, they had anti-aircraft ready and
fighters to harass reinforcements during/after attack

6) kdf intelligence should pull down any offending vids and photos?
propaganda war
7) Irresponsible journalism: Standard of jana should not have
pointed out the missing camp commander - he becomes #1 alkefafu
target if alive.
Worse still - on the first page they say his name has been
withheld then on Pg 9 identify his name and rank.
8) the same modus operandi used in el adde was same in attacking
ugandan, burundians and ethiopians - vbied followed by waves of
infantry attacking periodically. Meaning the armies didnt study
enemy methods and develop countermeasures. Makes you wonder if
we learnt and incorporated any lessons from all other attacks -
if not you can bet another attack wil come and we will need
more hashtags & candles

Quite enlightening if you ask me.Then just watched online the previous attack on Ugandans and looks like the attack on the kenyan base followed the same script.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
Taurrus
#149 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 3:54:17 PM

Taurrus wrote:
Wataalamu wa usalama tuelimishe tafadhali.
Hicho kikosi specheli ndo akina nani?

Just like in other professions,we have specialized guys eg heart surgeons,scene of crime officers,bank robbers etc, special forces is a generic name for all specialties in the force.

Hata wewe hujui! Those are professionals and not special forces There is no way KDF sent surgeons out there!

Before you are a heart surgeon you are a general doctor and then specialize for the heart,before you are a bank robber you are a getta guy then you upgrade,before you become a special force soldier you are a general[GD] soldier then you specialize in say search and rescue/terrorism counter measures etc
Alba
#150 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 4:37:59 PM

If these statements from the Standard are true then KDF should just get the heck out of Somalia

Experts now say no army on earth could have resisted the devastating attack meted out on Kenyan troops by suicide bombers using high-calibre explosives.

Meanwhile, military headquarters yesterday appeared to confirm that the KDF camp was on a high alert of the impending attack following intelligence reports, but the force that met the Kenyan soldiers was described as ‘unstoppable’

They are basically saying KDF are not equipped to stop such attacks
limanika
#151 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 4:42:20 PM

It appears the longer we stay in Somalia and improve our strategies, the more Shabbab are forced to look for new strategies to counter the same. This means the longer we stay, the stronger they become or seek to become. And it therefore follows, when we eventually leave, if we ever do, these guys will be too strong for their own govt. If we've been there 5 years and no end in sight, is it foolish to ask if there is any other strategy that could be employed. Personally am beginning to think the only thing that could work is subdivision into 3 or 4 autonomous states. Somalis are merchants from time immemorial and it ain't going to be easy to westernize them
#152 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:20:25 PM

#153 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:31:21 PM

www.mobile.nation.co.ke/...l/-/du2by9z/-/index.html

C&P

General Mwathathe said the explosion at El-Adde
happened at the centre of the KDF camp
where the officers in charge were. The
command centre was also at the point of
the explosion.
The force of the explosion was three
times more than the August 7, 1998
terrorist bombing in Nairobi, he said. He
added that identifying the bodies would
require DNA analysis and was likely to
take long.
Gen Mwathethe said a KDF aircraft that
was headed to Kismayu was diverted to
El-Adde on the first day to confirm the
attack but it encountered anti-aircraft
gunfire and the officers on board could
not attempt any rescue.
The first reinforcement reached the area
on the third day after the attack. He said
El-Adde is now under the control of the
KDF.
Jump-steady
#154 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:47:36 PM

www.mobile.nation.co.ke/news/-/1950946/3042930/-/format/xhtml/-/du2by9z/-/index.html

C&P

the explosion.
take long.
not attempt any rescue.
on the third day after the attack.
He said
KDF.

Pray Pray Pray

Hii maneno iko ngumu saana!Sad
keraka
#155 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:11:00 PM

Alba wrote:
If these statements from the Standard are true then KDF should just get the heck out of Somalia

Experts now say no army on earth could have resisted the devastating attack meted out on Kenyan troops by suicide bombers using high-calibre explosives.

Meanwhile, military headquarters yesterday appeared to confirm that the KDF camp was on a high alert of the impending attack following intelligence reports, but the force that met the Kenyan soldiers was described as ‘unstoppable’

If you want to know that this is true.look for the online video posted by Alshabab whenn they overran the Ugandan base.Its so difficult for a conventional army to defend itself against heavily armed lunatics who want to become martyrs.
livie
#156 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:20:23 PM

Maybe it's time to re-think the whole thing, fighting conventionally with alshabab isn't working.

We should consider use of unconventional methods and weapons, take to them their own game.

Time to take off the kid gloves...
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#157 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:57:11 PM

keraka wrote:
Alba wrote:

If you want to know that this is true.look for the online video posted by Alshabab whenn they overran the Ugandan base.Its so difficult for a conventional army to defend itself against heavily armed lunatics who want to become martyrs.

I have only seen the video on the failed attack on the army base in lamu. And judging from the firefight then, things must have been tough in el adde.
keraka
#158 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 7:52:26 PM

keraka wrote:
Alba wrote:

I have only seen the video on the failed attack on the army base in lamu. And judging from the firefight then, things must have been tough in el adde.

Check the Somalia newsroom website.Those idiots are vicious and unless supported by air power i dont think any conventional army will defeat them given the fact they are proud of death.

#159 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 8:16:12 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
www.mobile.nation.co.ke/news/-/1950946/3042930/-/format/xhtml/-/du2by9z/-/index.html

C&P

the explosion.
take long.
not attempt any rescue.
on the third day after the attack.
He said
KDF.

Pray Pray Pray

Hii maneno iko ngumu saana!Sad

it's very hard to fight suicide bombers however strong an army can be. You have to gather intelligence prior to the attack and neutralize them before the D-Day.
limanika
#160 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 9:28:41 PM

livie wrote:
Maybe it's time to re-think the whole thing, fighting conventionally with alshabab isn't working.

We should consider use of unconventional methods and weapons, take to them their own game.

Time to take off the kid gloves...

Even if we manage to beat them, they will just keep low waiting for us to exit. Then they return to 'normal' life. It's either we stay there forever or we develop an exit strategy.