wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

7 Pages<12345>»
'Bandit Economy'
#21 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 6:45:53 PM

Just to understand Mutunga's frustration watch this video.

Here is a magistrate who is doing his job the best way he can then this happens. A case is brought to him about contraband sugar being smuggled into the country. He listens to all and according to the law makes a ruling that the sugar should be destroyed. He even goes personally to verify that his ruling is enforced and then when he gets there the contraband sugar has disappeared.

Tell me what more competence would you ask of this magistrate?? How long do you think it will be before this magistrate with his government salary in Wajir starts seeing that certain rulings are not only not beneficial to society but are also not beneficial to himself? Put yourself in Mutunga's shoes and hundreds of these magistrates call you every day with cases like this.

Excellent!, now its up to the police commission to fire and charge those in that police station. That is how to deal with bandits not kuinua mkono juu and give up
¿
#22 Posted : Saturday, January 16, 2016 1:55:10 PM

Coward! You wait till few months to retirement to start talking? what took him so long?

It takes courage to say what he said.

Uhuru said the same the other day waiting for muturi the final arm of the government to admit it, then it will be official that we are a failed state.

tackling corruption, is the president sincere?
“I can tell you that whenever President Uhuru
talks about cartels he is angry, maybe
because the cartels are messing up his
political programme or that he genuinely
wants to dismantle them,” says Mutunga. “I
see he is serious”.

Most power lies with the Judiciary. Prosecute Prosecute prosecute. Then the govt will execute. If Mutunga is helpless we are doomed.

He can't prosecute alone, he needs corrupt judges, corrupt police corrupt anticorruption commission, sisi kwisa

We have all it takes to fight corruption but and as dictator mugabe said we are genetically wired thieves

President Declares Corruption 'A National Security Threat,' Calls It a Sin Against God

#23 Posted : Saturday, January 16, 2016 3:40:30 PM

While I applaud the sentiment of declaring corruption a national security threat the president is a bit naive about human psychology. No one in Kenya knows a man called Corruption so they cannot feel anything for it/him. If you are going to fight you need an enemy and that enemy must be personified. A face and a name is what the corruption fight needs and also a dramatic action of fall from grace.

If I was the president I would have very highly publicized prison expansion programs that I would go open and from there declare them to be future residencies of persons engaged in corruption. I would canvass, sweet talk, cajole, threaten, entice do everything that is possible to get the DPP to prosecute one high profile case like that one of Ben Gethi.

I would make sure the mans arrest is as high profile as it can with all media coverage. Make sure the whole country is bombarded with images of the man with a shaved head and in the stripped uniform alongside images of his posh houses and Range Rovers. Have a high profile case every week of every month for 2 to 3 years culminating in Mr. Singh in prison uniform in 2018 and people will know you are serious. Anything short of this is just PR.
#24 Posted : Saturday, January 16, 2016 3:52:25 PM

While I applaud the sentiment of declaring corruption a national security threat the president is a bit naive about human psychology. No one in Kenya knows a man called Corruption so they cannot feel anything for it/him. If you are going to fight you need an enemy and that enemy must be personified. A face and a name is what the corruption fight needs and also a dramatic action of fall from grace.

If I was the president I would have very highly publicized prison expansion programs that I would go open and from there declare them to be future residencies of persons engaged in corruption. I would canvass, sweet talk, cajole, threaten, entice do everything that is possible to get the DPP to prosecute one high profile case like that one of Ben Gethi.

I would make sure the mans arrest is as high profile as it can with all media coverage. Make sure the whole country is bombarded with images of the man with a shaved head and in the stripped uniform alongside images of his posh houses and Range Rovers. Have a high profile case every week of every month for 2 to 3 years culminating in Mr. Singh in prison uniform in 2018 and people will know you are serious. Anything short of this is just PR.

Even these recommendations would fall under PR. If you look at Kenya's history, it's probable that you'll realize that corruption is a necessity to our politics. Only now we have more corrupt players for example due to devolution.

Expecting zero corruption would be political and psychological naiveté, what's the optimal corruption needed? Corruption by as few people as possible who hold the greatest power.

I'm certain that what the President really means and what Wanjiku would want him to mean are two very different things!

¿
#25 Posted : Saturday, January 16, 2016 10:02:19 PM

Even these recommendations would fall under PR. If you look at Kenya's history, it's probable that you'll realize that corruption is a necessity to our politics. Only now we have more corrupt players for example due to devolution.

Expecting zero corruption would be political and psychological naiveté, what's the optimal corruption needed? Corruption by as few people as possible who hold the greatest power.

I'm certain that what the President really means and what Wanjiku would want him to mean are two very different things!

According to Mutunga, weak state structures in African countries create space for criminal networks to operate, especially when these groups operate along ethnic loyalties. Cartels collaborate with politicians and military leaders, gaining huge influence and sometimes overshadowing the government itself.

“Globally, according to the World Economic Forum, this illicit economy that includes counterfeit is worth $3.5 trillion,” says Mutunga. “In Kenya, the counterfeit economy is worth $1.2 billion annually according to the Kenya Association of Manufacturers. It has got involved in supporting politicians in a big way.”

What is the optimal level of corruption and how would it be achieved?
Mike Ock
#26 Posted : Sunday, January 17, 2016 1:28:37 AM

¿ wrote:

According to Mutunga, weak state structures in African countries create space for criminal networks to operate, especially when these groups operate along ethnic loyalties. Cartels collaborate with politicians and military leaders, gaining huge influence and sometimes overshadowing the government itself.

“Globally, according to the World Economic Forum, this illicit economy that includes counterfeit is worth $3.5 trillion,” says Mutunga. “In Kenya, the counterfeit economy is worth $1.2 billion annually according to the Kenya Association of Manufacturers. It has got involved in supporting politicians in a big way.”

What is the optimal level of corruption and how would it be achieved?

The optimum is to allow bribes to secure lucrative contracts and for skimming off the top as work is being done. But the completely phantom tenders where no work is done but money is paid out are the ones that should be clamped down on. That blatant fraud is where the economy suffers
#27 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 12:11:10 AM

http://www.businessdaily.../-/rtdsh9z/-/index.html

Now this one wants to be paid for stealing. Kweli hii ni nchi ya majambazi. You grab a road reserve, create titles to the land and then when the Government wants to construct the road you want to be paid billions.

These guys never change. Singh did the same thing with Processional way, that road that links Nyerere road near Serena to State House Road. He actually returned one title but had already used another one to borrow millions from a bank. I wonder how the bank handled that, maybe just a bad loan while mwananchi bears the burden.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 5:21:28 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Ex-Moi-aide-s-firm-seeks-compensation-for-prime-city-land/-/539550/3038966/-/rtdsh9z/-/index.html

Now this one wants to be paid for stealing. Kweli hii ni nchi ya majambazi. You grab a road reserve, create titles to the land and then when the Government wants to construct the road you want to be paid billions.

These guys never change. Singh did the same thing with Processional way, that road that links Nyerere road near Serena to State House Road. He actually returned one title but had already used another one to borrow millions from a bank. I wonder how the bank handled that, maybe just a bad loan while mwananchi bears the burden.

What if we're looking at things wrong? Like Mutunga is expecting a world dominated by good, enlightenment. Is that reasonable? I think not. Man of all creatures, happens to be the least domesticated animal. So, if the jungle is too 'thick' and our institutions don't fit, why not work out how to survive given the reality on the ground?

'Bandit' may be a misnomer. It may be directing our thinking the wrong way. 'Survivor', preying on others and others preying on you, things happening to you and around you that you can't fully control. Weakness and strength experienced together.

You know every time I try to create order, the more I create disorder. The more I try to be good, the more I embrace evil. Evil, is good. Everything is good.

Think about this; the nation state, society is glued with violence, war and the monopoly of it. But most citizens are made to believe in non-violence, non criminal behavior. A few are taken and taught how to kill and are used to kill other humans. And these who know how to kill, and take by force, keep the order. Now what happens when the killers go out, and kill and kill? They get sick in the mind. We're in the kingdom of 'madness'. And that too, is good.

Corruption is good. We should embrace it. We should use it to advantage. Like getting compensation for a building on a road reserve. That's good! See how to eradicate corruption?

In other words, we're deluding ourselves in the current metaphors. Mutunga for example, isn't being as pro-change as he'd have us believe. @Kusadikika is trying to deal with cognitive dissonance by posting and hoping to affirm Mutunga's ideals, which happen to be the ideals we've grown up believing. Consequently many if not most of us languish as slaves. Like me! And that, too, is good.

Every act of mine, must be good. Must affirm reality. The world. That sense sense of responsibility is what we're escaping. Better to hide in feeling guilty and making others feel guilty and justify this guilt by blaming others, the system, history. In this regard, Cain must have been a very virtuous and good man. He couldn't be Abel's keeper. The homicide was justified. Why take to a vengeful God all the goodies? Why try to be good and avoid evil?

Optimal corruption, is corruption without regret, a sense of being guilty or in danger. When we pray or speak against corruption we're only fooling ourselves. And fooling others.

Alba
#29 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 9:35:50 PM

The president is just insulting everyone's intelligence. He is not serious about corruption and has never been. Primary school land is being grabbed most likely by his deputy and instead of criticizing the theft of the primary school land, he criticizes those who used the pupils to hold a demonstration. If he wants to show people he is serious then lets start seeing some high profile arrests aka kusema na kutenda. Lets see the land stolen from Langata primary and Lavington primary returned to the school complete with a title deed.
sitaki.kujulikana
#30 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 10:50:53 PM

Alba wrote:
The president is just insulting everyone's intelligence. He is not serious about corruption and has never been. Primary school land is being grabbed most likely by his deputy and instead of criticizing the theft of the primary school land, he criticizes those who used the pupils to hold a demonstration. If he wants to show people he is serious then lets start seeing some high profile arrests aka kusema na kutenda. Lets see the land stolen from Langata primary and Lavington primary returned to the school complete with a title deed.

when will you ever understand that the president does not arrest, I am sure you are the same person who criticized the former president mo1 for arbitrary detentions. or you would want us to go back to a president who can order detention at will.
7 Pages<12345>»