Baba defends Kanyari & 310
Lolest! wrote:Quote:If ngos are regulated why not churches mosques and temples? We are not a theocracy. Very few things in a church can be regulated justifiably. You cannot, for instance, tell an Evangelical to desist from telling people they must be saved to receive eternal life. The rest of the things are internal to church hierachy(where it is present). We cannot start legislating on these spiritual things. NGOs are just money in and spend on projects. Churches are much more. Eternal life, spiritual nourishment, ministering to the sick etcThe cons will be there, have been there... But this writer seems to agree with you on gagging churches http://nairobinews.natio...ts-deserve-to-be-gagged/ Have they been barred from doing that? I am more interested in the healing for money and use showbiz(eg Kanyaris potassium permanganate). And is there a preacher who just began preaching without being hosted by some church why cant these churches take these preachers to some college for some bible lessons? They attend bible classes after all right? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
 afazali kanyaree
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
Mukiri wrote:masukuma wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote: if you do not agree with the law of the land just because God told you, then the state takes you to court and the judge will decide whose interpretation or thought process is valid. You know some in the church are spreading this line that you do not need any training, that its a calling, I mean even God put down a book so that you have some structure in spreading his word. thats why even if God speaks to you many find it prudent to back it up with the written word.
Its not a chaos we are looking at, even God has order.
Yes... the penal code takes care of this. The principle here is your rights end where mine begin I could argue that God did not put that book up (or he would have done a better job). As discussed on this forum before the bible's history is actually questionable Whose God? If I came and said you all are fake coz your God is fake (invisible looks like non existent) and worshipped a pile of the almighty dollars... like a tidy sum of like 1.3Billion dollars.... My God would not have the order you are saying your non existent God has. This to me, sounds like arguing just for the sake of arguing Yes I am. Religions are many and not a fixed set. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
murchr wrote:Lolest! wrote:Quote:If ngos are regulated why not churches mosques and temples? We are not a theocracy. Very few things in a church can be regulated justifiably. You cannot, for instance, tell an Evangelical to desist from telling people they must be saved to receive eternal life. The rest of the things are internal to church hierachy(where it is present). We cannot start legislating on these spiritual things. NGOs are just money in and spend on projects. Churches are much more. Eternal life, spiritual nourishment, ministering to the sick etcThe cons will be there, have been there... But this writer seems to agree with you on gagging churches http://nairobinews.natio...ts-deserve-to-be-gagged/ Have they been barred from doing that? I am more interested in the healing for money and use showbiz(eg Kanyaris potassium permanganate). And is there a preacher who just began preaching without being hosted by some church why cant these churches take these preachers to some college for some bible lessons? They attend bible classes after all right? apply the penal code in all these and if someone is guilty of misrepresentation akule ugali. Mama ya kanyari alikula ugali sio? What if the preacher's frame of mind is anti masomo? Coz you cannot instruct "upako". Someone may drop a old tired line saying " God does not call the qualified but qualifies the called." All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Let's remember the bill was shelved so as to facilitate public participation and dialogue I don't see them bringing it back with things like no mpesa or no urging people to get 'saved' I have a feeling they may want to put tighter measures on reporting to govt and members. That will be welcome. Oh how I love democracy.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:WalterWhite wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote: theology does not mean bible.
The Religious Societies Rules published by the Attorney General‘s Office also demand that all pastors in Kenya must hold a theological certificate from an accredited theological institution. The new rules are set to be gazetted at the end of January 2016. Sikuget? Of course it applies to all faiths. My question is for the imams. Which institution(s) do they go to for theological training? Imams are not pastors, ama sikuget? why would an imam take a bible theological class. Islam has its theology, I am sure they have their own structures of teaching the same, if they have madrasas for kids they must have something for their scholars. This bill appears to be targeting Christianity moreso than any other religion. Who do you think is more dangerous, is it the Kanyaris who are not a threat to human life or the imams who are preaching radicalism in the mosques? Isn't it more prudent for the govt to focus their lenses on groups that have shown capacity to commit terror? Are these clerics getting their sermons or training from Saudi school of thought? I think that would be a very valid question!
WalterWhite wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:WalterWhite wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote: theology does not mean bible.
The Religious Societies Rules published by the Attorney General‘s Office also demand that all pastors in Kenya must hold a theological certificate from an accredited theological institution. The new rules are set to be gazetted at the end of January 2016. Sikuget? Of course it applies to all faiths. My question is for the imams. Which institution(s) do they go to for theological training? Imams are not pastors, ama sikuget? why would an imam take a bible theological class. Islam has its theology, I am sure they have their own structures of teaching the same, if they have madrasas for kids they must have something for their scholars. This bill appears to be targeting Christianity moreso than any other religion. Who do you think is more dangerous, is it the Kanyaris who are not a threat to human life or the imams who are preaching radicalism in the mosques? Isn't it more prudent for the govt to focus their lenses on groups that have shown capacity to commit terror? Are these clerics getting their sermons or training from Saudi school of thought? I think that would be a very valid question! Definition of theology: the study of religious faith, practice, and experience; especially : the study of God and of God's relation to the world @Masukuma, and why dont we apply the same rules for NGOs? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote: @Masukuma, and why dont we apply the same rules for NGOs?
you are fixed in dogma... believing the way you practice religion is the way others practice. There is no relation between NGOs and Churches... Think of Iike kitu ya jiggers or Beyond Zero... their output is measurable since THEY DO IT THEMSELVES. Churches are different.... they don't DO IT THEMSELVES.... the individual noted in the first lines of the constitution does. Religion is clear... don't blame me... blame that guy! ask that guy!! we are just mouthpieces... we don't do anything for you! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote: @Masukuma, and why dont we apply the same rules for NGOs?
you are fixed in dogma... believing the way you practice religion is the way others practice. There is no relation between NGOs and Churches... Think of Iike kitu ya jiggers or Beyond Zero... their output is measurable since THEY DO IT THEMSELVES. Churches are different.... they don't DO IT THEMSELVES.... the individual noted in the first lines of the constitution does. Religion is clear... don't blame me... blame that guy! ask that guy!! we are just mouthpieces... we don't do anything for you! Infact for religion it is between you and your God and mostly it is 'you' whose faith is not strong enough. Sometimes it can also be said that you are in the 'wait' mode and you need to be patient with God himself (it is never with the man of God)!!! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Religion can also be atheistic. The common factor across all religion is 'order of existence'. Measures of faith may not be relevant.
Baba defends Kanyari & 310