wazua Fri, Jun 19, 2026

Woi... now how?
#1 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 6:02:37 AM

President Uhuru Kenyatta has now acquired new powers to hire and fire top police chiefs, a significant move in what appears to be a systematic attempt by the Executive to tighten its grip on independent institutions through legal changes.

This is not in line with the spirit of the constitution... IMO we are stepping slowly back to Kibaki's era
again
According to Mr Mwamu, these retrogressive amendments to the law are sneaked in without public participation just before MPs go on a recess. He also cited the controversial Security Laws (Amendment) Act that was acrimoniously passed in December 2014

However, what saddens me is that the people/institutions that were supposed to make noise were blindsided... apparently in a world as connected as ours the story has been silent for 1 month? like really? really?
#2 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 6:14:06 AM

What is the use of having a Police chief who cant be fired by the President yet when there are security threats and weaknesses we blame the same President?
#3 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 6:21:19 AM

What is the use of having a Police chief who cant be fired by the President yet when there are security threats and weaknesses we blame the same President?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly don't be an apologist for the sake of being one... you know that this is a law that had been designed to keep the dirty fingers of the president off the secuirity docket. Kwani they changed the law while removing sieke? he is over reaching!!
#4 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 7:38:22 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly don't be an apologist for the sake of being one... you know that this is a law that had been designed to keep the dirty fingers of the president off the secuirity docket. Kwani they changed the law while removing sieke? he is over reaching!!

Unfortunately the experiment was futile. I support the move because for me bwana siegge was last I ever want to see. Anyway, isnt the police under the executive? Some things in the katiba were not well thought out. How can the army be under the President and not the Police..mmh
#5 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 8:06:16 AM

Unfortunately the experiment was futile. I support the move because for me bwana siegge was last I ever want to see. Anyway, isnt the police under the executive? Some things in the katiba were not well thought out. How can the army be under the President and not the Police..mmh

The army has to be under the president since he can declare war ON A FOREIGN COUNTRY.
my reference to bwana sieke is an example of how he could institute changes within the police without direct influence simply because it's in public interest.
wazuaguest
#6 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 8:38:42 AM

The president needs to be incharge of internal and external security and we.hold him accountable but on judiciary we need it to be as indepedent as possible
Africa belongs to Africans.
#7 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 11:04:16 AM

If Robinhood lived in our country today, he would be acting against the law. I don't mind a President who will bring the thieves to the square and execute them without giving them any form of hearing. f*** the katiba.
Nandwa
#8 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 12:04:29 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
The president needs to be incharge of internal and external security and we.hold him accountable but on judiciary we need it to be as indepedent as possible

I agree. Judiciary should be independent.

Those who are ambivalent in regard to this dangerous trend (re-creating an all powerful presidency) will be the first to cry foul when the occupier of the office is no longer their object of adoration.
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Jump-steady
#9 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 2:08:45 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

Hapo sawa @Wazuaguestsmile
#10 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 2:29:29 PM

If Robinhood lived in our country today, he would be acting against the law. I don't mind a President who will bring the thieves to the square and execute them without giving them any form of hearing. f*** the katiba.

the problem is always the flipside of that... the law is by design supposed to prevent misuses. will the same laws work with a NOT benevolent dictator? and what do you mean 'execute the without giving them any form of hearing?' kama idd amin? who tells you it will stop at 'thieves'? DON'T REACT... RESPOND!! Who tells you that the 'thief' does not have the same rights as you? and also if theirs can be taken away so frivolously and discretionally - what makes you think yours are safe in that environment?