wazua Tue, Dec 30, 2025

Baba can't be arrested.we cannot win against corruption
Fyatu
#1 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 11:29:56 PM

We cannot win against corruption because most individuals in Kenya are above the law. It is plain simple. Some individuals in Kenya cannot be arrested and charged in a court of law because they are above the law. Baba has sub-consciously proved this to be true.

Anyone perceived to be powerful in Kenya cannot be arrested or charged in a court of law because by doing so, there might be tribal upheaval leading to economic repercussions.

It is official. In Kenya you have to be big in monetary value as well as politically connected to be above the law. This rot is rooted down to the junior-most government officer or a any wanna-be businessman/tender-entrepreneur.

If we are serious in our fight against corruption then, a police constable should be able to arrest a former-senior government officer(Former prime Minister or even former President) without fear of repercussion.

The Kenyan courts should be able to make a just decision no matter who the accused is etc.

Hata yule dere ana angusha chuani kwa roady asi sazwe...pia huyo karao ana okota. Wote ndani na wanang'anywe mali....ni hayo tu kwa sasa

Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 6:28:01 AM

Baba blew the whistle. You do not arrest the whistle blower.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 6:41:43 AM

truer than true

KQ ABP 4.26
Fyatu
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 8:49:02 AM

I'm not saying baba should be arrested,what i'm saying is that this Eurobond fiasco has exposed one major weakness in the government's fight against corruption. They cannot arrest the (corrupt) big fish, neither can they charge them in court or confiscate/freeze their assets. As far as i am concerned baba still remains "safi kama pamba" but the point is that the whole saga took the "mtu wetu" turn/twist. All the nations that have successfully slayed the corruption monster have done it in a very radical way...high profile arrests, forceful repossession of stolen assets etc
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 8:55:47 AM

Baba should be put in that witness protection system & hidden somewhere majuu!!!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 9:01:10 AM

http://www.the-star.co.k...llion-nys-cash_c1261028

What action can be taken against the named lawyers and did i just see the name of Wailer's best friend.God help!!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 9:10:31 AM

The fact is there are two factions in Jubilee. That's why Raila is a great person for them to have around. Someone they can rally around in unison.

When people start going for these corruption stories, you shall see those factions tear each other apart.

Yes, mzee Njunge, Farouk Kibet, an aide to Deputy President William Ruto, recieved Sh1.5 million through Family Bank, Eldoret Branch, according to the star

Fyatu has yet to state what law Raila should be arrested with. What crime is he alleged to have committed.

No money was lost in the Devolution Ministry, they said. Now they are saying they are freezing assets.

Fyatu
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 9:21:41 AM

The fact is there are two factions in Jubilee. That's why Raila is a great person for them to have around. Someone they can rally around in unison.

When people start going for these corruption stories, you shall see those factions tear each other apart.

Yes, mzee Njunge, Farouk Kibet, an aide to Deputy President William Ruto, recieved Sh1.5 million through Family Bank, Eldoret Branch, according to the star

Fyatu has yet to state what law Raila should be arrested with. What crime is he alleged to have committed.

No money was lost in the Devolution Ministry, they said. Now they are saying they are freezing assets.

I am not saying baba should be arrested. I am saying that what we need are high profile arrests of high-profile corrupt people (most of them are known). So far no one can point to a thing that Raila has stolen from the people hence no one can arrest him....
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 9:29:43 AM

Fyatu wrote:

I am not saying baba should be arrested. I am saying that what we need are high profile arrests of high-profile corrupt people (most of them are known). So far no one can point to a thing that Raila has stolen from the people hence no one can arrest him....

I apologise I got you wrong.

But think about this. The EACC says its going to arrest Raila. Then according to the star, they decided not to do so because they were warned of strikes in the country.

That to me should never have been part of their thinking. If they believed that they were right to warn him of arrest, then they should have done so.

Creating this aura of some people who can't be arrested is the very reason that Raila is calling them a fake commission.

I personally don't see what they would have arrested him for. But at the same time, I'm not the investigating officer. They should have done so whether the country burns or not.

There should never be sacred cows in this country.

So either they found out they goofed or they can't do their work. None of those two leaves a warm feeling in my heart.

Fyatu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 9:52:09 AM

Fyatu wrote:

But think about this. The EACC says its going to arrest Raila. Then according to the star, they decided not to do so because they were warned of strikes in the country.

That to me should never have been part of their thinking. If they believed that they were right to warn him of arrest, then they should have done so.

Creating this aura of some people who can't be arrested is the very reason that Raila is calling them a fake commission.

I personally don't see what they would have arrested him for. But at the same time, I'm not the investigating officer. They should have done so whether the country burns or not.

So either they found out they goofed or they can't do their work. None of those two leaves a warm feeling in my heart.

Exactly my point. And this is the irony about the "We shall arrest Raila" stance that they took. Sub-consciously Baba has shown us that EACC cannot arrest big fish...reminds me of those old school Gado cartoons (cliches) where EACC was depicted as a toothless bulldog
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 9:56:01 AM

Fyatu wrote:

Exactly my point. And this is the irony about the "We shall arrest Raila" stance that they took. Sub-consciously Baba has shown us that EACC cannot arrest big fish...reminds me of those old school Gado cartoons (cliches) where EACC was depicted as a toothless bulldog

That EACC is full of corrupt officers...
streetwise
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:11:20 AM

They needed to have a good reason why the wanted to arrest the guy otherwise every policemen we be arresting pedestrians in the street for God knows what with no reason at all at best to get 100 bob for Chai.
The law enforcers must follow the law , that is how you make a sane state. Otherwise the contest of who can or can’t be arrested is of no use.
Fyatu
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:12:21 AM

http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2015/12/15/how-ben-gethi-31-spent-sh585-million-nys-cash_c1261028

What action can be taken against the named lawyers and did i just see the name of Wailer's best friend.God help!!

Kwani hii family bank ni ya nani? How can a tranche of 790 millions be deposited in a wanjiku's account and noboby asks questions??
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:21:44 AM

Said as much that Baba cannot be arrested by mere EACC in another thread, but 2pm thought i was wrong. Baba is just a whistle blower smile smile smile
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:30:26 AM

Fyatu wrote:
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2015/12/15/how-ben-gethi-31-spent-sh585-million-nys-cash_c1261028

Kwani hii family bank ni ya nani? How can a tranche of 790 millions be deposited in a wanjiku's account and noboby asks questions??

That Bank should be given one hefty fine...ili iwe funzo kwa wengine.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:34:39 AM

Fyatu wrote:

How come Farouk Kibet's assets have not been frozen?
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:39:31 AM

Fyatu wrote:

How come Farouk Kibet's assets have not been frozen?

Protected by DP
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 10:56:34 AM

Fyatu wrote:

Agreed. Corporates should also face the law when they encourage graft

I saw Ben Gethi and wondered if there's any relationship with Jomo time Police Commissioner

Then reading through the story, I saw someone in the family has the name Gethi Kihara

Reminds me of my former secondary school deputy principal(RIP)
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 11:22:38 AM

I personally don't trust Kabetes as far as I can throw him. But it doesn't take long for non-believers to become saved. Just one or two miracles and you are in a box.

This is what he said earlier in the year

You have to wonder. What else has he said that is true?

I remember Murkomen telling him off. hmmmmm

There are two jubilees here.

kiash
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 11:23:00 AM

Fyatu wrote:
We cannot win against corruption because most individuals in Kenya are above the law. It is plain simple. Some individuals in Kenya cannot be arrested and charged in a court of law because they are above the law. Baba has sub-consciously proved this to be true.

Anyone perceived to be powerful in Kenya cannot be arrested or charged in a court of law because by doing so, there might be tribal upheaval leading to economic repercussions.

It is official. In Kenya you have to be big in monetary value as well as politically connected to be above the law. This rot is rooted down to the junior-most government officer or a any wanna-be businessman/tender-entrepreneur.

If we are serious in our fight against corruption then, a police constable should be able to arrest a former-senior government officer(Former prime Minister or even former President) without fear of repercussion.

The Kenyan courts should be able to make a just decision no matter who the accused is etc.

Hata yule dere ana angusha chuani kwa roady asi sazwe...pia huyo karao ana okota. Wote ndani na wanang'anywe mali....ni hayo tu kwa sasa

I get your point @Fyatu, but you should not have said arrested. I think the EACC said they were going to arrest Rao because he failed to attend to their summons. The point is Rao says money is lost , he should go and record the statement and give the information he has to prove that infact money was lost. So Rao wakes up and says i will not go because they have the information they are asking for and it is in the public domain. Then you wonder ,if it is in the public domain, kwani the real fighters like the bull fighter or Orengo or even Mwalimu Mati have not see this missing 140billions?
I agree Rao should have gone there to explain his case and then we could have seen him leave the revolving doors.
You have a point when you say it depends on who you are in Kenya.If you are a former prime minister, you cannot be summoned , a cabinet secretary has to come to you to present you the figures. If you have the money to afford the cunning lawyers, you will not see the entrance of any jail no matter how much you steal.