wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

Kenya debt ratio-myths, half truths and naked truth
limanika
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 8:06:42 AM

We are told Kenya debt to GDP ratio is ok so no problem if we continue borrowing. Nobody in govt bothers what debt money is being used for. We're told eurobond was partly used to repay a nusu mkate loan. Why borrow to pay another loan? Does it mean the money wasn't used prudently so as to repay itself through normal GDP growth? Have they asked Rao what they did with the money? Treasury now looking for politically correct way to tell us eurobond was used for general budget support - meaning NYS scam, PSC scam, ICC delegations, benchmarking trips, etc. In other words the money wasn't used for devpt projects, meaning we'll soon go back to the market to borrow to pay. Has anyone done study what impact Thika rd had on GDP- to inform future spending on infrastructure. And final shocker- they say debt level shouldn't go beyond 74 percent. We're past 50percent mark, meaning we only have like $10b to go b4 red line. But we've borrowed 60b recently and now borrowing 140b for SGR. $0.8b to go b4 red line. In next 3 years we'll borrow 700b to extend SGR to malaba. And am not taking into account additional borrowing to pay nusu mkate debts. FYI Ghana, now a mineral economy, went red with debt ratio sub 60percent. It's no joke, jubilee need to wake up.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 9:12:46 AM

limanika wrote:
We are told Kenya debt to GDP ratio is ok so no problem if we continue borrowing. Nobody in govt bothers what debt money is being used for. We're told eurobond was partly used to repay a nusu mkate loan. Why borrow to pay another loan? Does it mean the money wasn't used prudently so as to repay itself through normal GDP growth? Have they asked Rao what they did with the money? Treasury now looking for politically correct way to tell us eurobond was used for general budget support - meaning NYS scam, PSC scam, ICC delegations, benchmarking trips, etc. In other words the money wasn't used for devpt projects, meaning we'll soon go back to the market to borrow to pay. Has anyone done study what impact Thika rd had on GDP- to inform future spending on infrastructure. And final shocker- they say debt level shouldn't go beyond 74 percent. We're past 50percent mark, meaning we only have like $10b to go b4 red line. But we've borrowed 60b recently and now borrowing 140b for SGR. $0.8b to go b4 red line. In next 3 years we'll borrow 700b to extend SGR to malaba. And am not taking into account additional borrowing to pay nusu mkate debts. FYI Ghana, now a mineral economy, went red with debt ratio sub 60percent. It's no joke, jubilee need to wake up.

? they told you before!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 9:50:49 AM

limanika wrote:

? they told you before!

On June 9, 2014, therefore the Odomo and odomobots are effectively asking how do bonds works? Wanguliza vizuri sio whining and whining kupiga makelele "eurobonds" nyee, nyee, nyee and everything is online! Why can't we just let the katiba do it's work instead of people being pumped up full of useless political nyegez by someone who dropped out with standard 7 math and went to russia to politicize CS jobs which we wanted neutral in the constitution??? Sasa evry CS from Lenku etc are being gradually replaced by politicians (MPIGS) reversing the gains from the constitution because some idiots blindly follow odomo and politicize everything pretending to know instead of asking, all CS jobs will be given to Mpigs gradually!!! Even myself who has done finance for several years can tell you uhuru and rotich are very advanced in finance including budgetary analysis wakikuambia kitu iko sawa, iko sawa, look for another expert analysis, ndii is not a financial expert and his economics views are obviously warped, economics is not cord or jubilee, that guy is a hypocrite.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 9:55:33 AM

limanika wrote:

? they told you before!

limanika
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 10:03:28 AM

@masukuma, it's somewhat in publicdomain so why were they giving ministries 3 weeks to submit project list. @ much know theres smon else who was running treasury by proxy, his name starts with W. His profession no where near finance or economics
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 10:18:15 AM

limanika wrote:

? they told you before!

It's pointless to start poking holes on the deal NOW! coz watu waliambiwa even the experts giving opinions now are not helping. Reminds me of people in a speeding ma3 and are silent and When it has a mishap or accident they are the 1st to say "NILIJUA TU!! VILE HII GARI ILIANZA? VILE NILIONA HUYU DEREVA AMEINGIA KWA GARI - NILIJUA HAPA KUNA SHIDA" ex post facto brilliance is useless. The questions here are
1) did gava use the money they said they were borrowing for
2) if not - why and where did that money go!
Everything else is useless! That is why I like Ndii coz his analysis is more 'on the ground' but kutuambia juu ya interest rates saa hii is pointless... ulikuwa wapi?
limanika
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 6:21:35 PM

@masukuma, if someone didn't raise the issue then it doesn't mean he can't raise it now. In any case it's not our job. But main idea in this post is that jubilee's borrowing is like a bachelor driving 180KPH without a care in the world, despite warning bridge just ahead has been demolished
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 6:35:59 PM

Half truths and naked lies......... smile
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 7:22:42 PM

limanika wrote:
@masukuma, if someone didn't raise the issue then it doesn't mean he can't raise it now. In any case it's not our job. But main idea in this post is that jubilee's borrowing is like a bachelor driving 180KPH without a care in the world, despite warning bridge just ahead has been demolished

it's pointless to raise it when you have already swallowed it! it's not productive! it's idle... especially if you noticed... hawa ndio wanatakikana kuambiwa..
OH PLEASE! JUST SHUT UP! ULIKUWA WAPI?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 7:44:32 PM

limanika wrote:

it's pointless to raise it when you have already swallowed it! it's not productive! it's idle... especially if you noticed... hawa ndio wanatakikana kuambiwa..
OH PLEASE! JUST SHUT UP! ULIKUWA WAPI?

Only Mwai Kibaki, GBHS, understand economics. That's why for a time things were cool.

I find it funny that its the young who are so used to credit cards who think that borrowing is fun.

It is not funny to borrow....It just isn't.

I see some fools on this forum saying how they are doing better than the US coz sijui China or some other foolish thing.

Listen

If you borrow your loan for whatever shit you want to do at 18%. You are f***ed. Yaani there's actually a jubilee "blogger" who posted how stupid David Ndii is for imagining 40%.

Here is the life of math.

In Kenya to get a mortgage, or a loan I pay say the cheapest 16%.

Some guy, probably a baby wiping Kenyan, as long as they are in the USA, is paying maximum 5%.

Let the mathematicians come here and tell us....

Amongst the two who will be richer in 10 years?

That's the reason others get rich as we still listen to hashtags.

I'm broke in Kenyan standards. Will never enter a bank and surely never enter a bank to get a f***ing car loan at 20%.

But you never see me calling you.

Borrow cheap is how you make it. Surely in 2015. There are companies giving Kenyans 0% loans as we speak. Just f***ing google.

Now that was micro economics

Now here's macro and I'll say it before I'm dumped in some mass grave in Mandera.

We shall pay as a country all of us for this hashtag queens with sijui debt ratio math.

Debt ratio depends on production. If you don't produce you ain't talking about debt ratios.

That's why the factory in industrial area will get loans even for combing their hair while you don't get anything.

Economics purists believe that money can not be made with dreaming and plans. Money is made with production. That's why the roads were built with debt in the US. They were not meant to look nice vs the african roads. They were meant to give the unemployed jobs to build the roads and the producers a faster way to market.

SGR, what does it mean to you? But you still owe in your damn taxes.

I just bought my beer at 300 bob, I'm pissed with this gov't. Sorry.