wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Fed up big Vic refused to shake Minister Wario's hand
Alba
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2015 4:49:01 AM

I have no words for that, but I also understand that the government had given the federation the cash for the travel arrangement prior - thus the involvement of the cid (questioning the federation chirman) to investigate what happened to the cash.

But if a federation can not perform one of its core mandate, that is matters involving the national team. of what use is it then - I understand government involvement leads to a ban, I also remember the said cs involved in efforts of trying to bring together fkf and the league teams when a split was imminent, he even went to the extent of threatening disbanding the fkf, I would say that is someone who is trying to keep football in kenya at a sane level.

Thats why I more inclined to think this thing is more to do with politics than the ministry itself.

Threatening to ban FKF is a waste of time because FIFA does not condone that kind of interference. So essentially Wario was just running his mouth in order to impress ignorant people.

Nyamweya has been arrested so many times. He is then released and he continues to loot the money. Essentially the government is trying to make it look like they take corruption seriously but in in reality they do not.

Wario has not accomplished anything notable since he became sports minister.

- When Kabando wa Kabando was assistant minister for sports, he created the national women's league whereby all teams were sponsored by the government.
- When Ababu Namwamba, he ensured that the sports act was passed by parliament, after a decade of waiting.

Wario does nothing to justify his ksh 1.2m per month salary

By the way, two months ago, Sports CS Hassan Wario declared that the ministry would take charge of Stars.
So the Cape Verde fiasco is Wario's fault
http://allafrica.com/stories/201511230882.html
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2015 12:37:09 PM

Alba wrote:

Just playing the devils advocate, while that might be true, but don't you think its a bit selfish to ask of him to understand all sports, I mean football is not more special than say the art and culture part of the ministry, and asking him to attend all activities under the ministry is a bit too much - him not understanding, or lack of interest in football should not be used to ouster him, or should it.

First off football is far more important than art or culture. It employs hundreds upon hundreds of footballers, coaches, managers, journalists etc whose livelihood is dependent on football. It has the potential to employ even more.

Football matters a lot more to Kenyans than does the arts. A sports minister and indeed a government ought to have enough common sense to figure out what is more important to the public. Wario's salary ofKsh 1.2 million month is paid for by tax payers. If the tax payers are more interested in football than in the arts then the sports minister shouldpay more attention to football.

By the way I don't expect him to know everything.I expect him to have at least a basic understanding and some interest. Wario literally knows nothing about sports and has no interest. Read the article by Cardovilis.

There is always the feeling that football is more important, which I disagree - I think the arts are bigger and have a greater influence than football in the local context, thats why more Kenyans are aware of who Nameless or Sauti Sol or to the young'uns Khaligraph or Femi One is and have no idea who is the national team coach.

Leave alone the arts, I think other sports are doing better than football and have always - but that is neither here nor there, I think its disingenuous for footballers and their followers to try drag down the cs for their own failings. The ministry is tasked with general development of sports and the arts and policy formulation, expecting the ministry to be in charge of travel arrangements is just crazy, and if that is where football has taken us we need to serious think about shoving it aside.
Alba
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2015 2:59:47 AM

There is always the feeling that football is more important, which I disagree - I think the arts are bigger and have a greater influence than football in the local context, thats why more Kenyans are aware of who Nameless or Sauti Sol or to the young'uns Khaligraph or Femi One is and have no idea who is the national team coach.

Leave alone the arts, I think other sports are doing better than football and have always - but that is neither here nor there, I think its disingenuous for footballers and their followers to try drag down the cs for their own failings. The ministry is tasked with general development of sports and the arts and policy formulation, expecting the ministry to be in charge of travel arrangements is just crazy, and if that is where football has taken us we need to serious think about shoving it aside.

If the arts are more important than football then please tell us what Wario has done to enhance the arts.

And if sauti sol is important to the ministry then tell us what kind of government support or infrastructure is needed by Sauti sol. Did Sauti sol also need funding to travel to Cape Verde as well?

If the ministry is tasked with general development of sports and the arts and policy formulation as you say , then please tell us what they have accomplished in that regard.

For that matter, just tell us one thing that Wario has accomplished whether in the arts or in sports.

And finally if the ministry is not tasked with travel arrangements then why did they offer to take over Harambee stars travel arrangements one month ago?

If travel arrangements are not the ministries responsibility, he should have made that clear to Nyamweya. The fact that he released the funding on the same day that the team was due to travel shows he is irresponsible.

And please do not dodge thee basic questions as you always do
. You have a habit of cowardly refusing to address pertinent issues.

And if you think other sports do not depend on the ministry for travel arrangements, you are sorely mistaken

#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2015 6:04:11 PM

Alba wrote:
Victor Wanyama, fed up with the shabby treatment meted out to the national team by the government and by FKF was so pissed off that he refused to shale the sports ministers hand

A few home-based Harambee Stars players, who were busy tucking their hand luggage in overhead lockers, froze as word filtered in that their trusted general, Victor Wanyama, had declined to board the plane. Outside the departure lounge, Cabinet Secretary for Sports Hassan Wario had his hand extended to a motionless Harambee Stars captain, Wanyama.

Wanyama had received a call from his English club asking him about his safety following information in mainstream and social media of an “inferior” aircraft meant to cover 6,870km and back. Southampton also demanded to know whether the players were insured. The English club asked to change Wanyama’s flight to Cape Verde, but Wanyama would not abandon his teammates at the hour of need.

story here

I think I need to convert him to a martha Karua voter, he has what it takes to join the pryamid
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2015 7:49:43 PM

Alba wrote:

If the arts are more important than football then please tell us what Wario has done to enhance the arts.

And if sauti sol is important to the ministry then tell us what kind of government support or infrastructure is needed by Sauti sol. Did Sauti sol also need funding to travel to Cape Verde as well?

If the ministry is tasked with general development of sports and the arts and policy formulation as you say , then please tell us what they have accomplished in that regard.

For that matter, just tell us one thing that Wario has accomplished whether in the arts or in sports.

And finally if the ministry is not tasked with travel arrangements then why did they offer to take over Harambee stars travel arrangements one month ago?

If travel arrangements are not the ministries responsibility, he should have made that clear to Nyamweya. The fact that he released the funding on the same day that the team was due to travel shows he is irresponsible.

And please do not dodge thee basic questions as you always do. You have a habit of cowardly refusing to address pertinent issues.

And if you think other sports do not depend on the ministry for travel arrangements, you are sorely mistaken

smile waa!!! sawa boss, I was just stating my views on the ongoing issue - its a forum my friend, what I share is not necessarily correct, but thats how we learn form each others views.

My view is that, arts are more popular than football and I gave my examples, I also stated if we are at a level where its the ministry that is organizing travel arrangements then we need to serious think about it.

Just give your views and opinions on why Wario should go, or why football has a greater impact than the arts.

Its not about winning, its just sharing - sio vita kaka.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2015 7:53:39 PM

Why did I drag myself into this again smile
Wacha nikaone habari za Papa Mtakatifu Francis
Alba
#27 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2015 6:43:48 AM

@nakujua
peace fellow villager.

In a debate, opinions are useless unless you can provide proof.

You claim that Kenyans like the arts better than football then offer no proof.

You claim that Wario is competent then fail to provide even one example of something he has accomplished.

You should at least provide data or a link or something concrete to bolster your opinions.

Wario is irresponsible. The reason big Vic refused to shake his hand is because he promised to cater to the teams travel to Cape Verde then only provided funding barely a day before they are due to travel. As a result, Wanyama's employers were furious.
Alba
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2015 7:30:18 PM

Big Vic is not alone. many Kenyans are fed up with Wario. Here is a small sample of what Kenyans think about AreroWario