wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Good Memorable sites in Nairobi and environs for a visitor
Informer
#1 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 9:00:14 AM

I am expecting a friend from America in the month of June 2010. He will stay for a week and expects me to take
him to good tourist sites in Nairobi and its environs. I am planning to take him to Nairobi National Park and Kibera slums.
Kindly propose any other memorable sites and companies or individuals who can assist in the Kibera visit.

You assistance will be appreciated

Ken
whatever is done in the dark will always come to the light and find its way to bite u in the ass (SO DO THE RIGHT THING EVEN WHEN NO-ONE IS WATCHING)
#2 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 9:05:52 AM

... I did not know Kibera is a tourist attraction site! We should have more of those to attract more tourists and hence more dollars for the country!!!
#3 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 9:05:55 AM

Any residential estate in Eatlands will do;plus the stretch of road that is Eatleigh First Avenue, there are enough pot holes filled with water and murky substances to make a memorable visit.

#4 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 9:18:49 AM

...somewhere along Riverroad, where he will be mugged, will also make a good memeorable visit!
gadj
#5 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 9:45:21 AM

And dont forget Koinage street
Amir
#6 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:12:29 AM

why r u leaving luthuli Avenue, globe cinema-underground tunnel n makaburini(bunyala)out?

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
brav
#7 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:36:53 AM

ngoyea weekend peleka yeye westlands hapo inje ya Rezorous hau black diamond ajionee, then mukirudi mupige lap of honour koinange street.

callaspade
#8 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 11:19:18 AM

@Un-informed....wewe bure tu,why on earth would you be interested to take your guest to a slum where you have not even been?
...do you hate him that much?
...do you want to start an NGO?
....Be proud of the good things in our city.You can see the kind of answers you got.
#9 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 11:27:20 AM

Eti Kibera??.....Hii mtu ni kalulu tu.....GNN!!
centerbolt
#10 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 11:41:40 AM

ikifika lunch time take him to Burma market for all sorts of meat, game, donkey, dog, hyena etc!na thufu wa kiforoforo....Laughing out loudly
#11 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 12:53:44 PM

centerbolt wrote:
na thufu wa kiforoforo....Laughing out loudly

I have heard of thubu wa mbonoka.........hii ya kifororo ndio gani??

#12 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 12:54:34 PM

I've been hearing about 'poorism' in the media,kumbe it's this real!but i find it shameful
Informer
#13 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 3:05:14 PM

kumbe SK ni ya jokers, am getting better response from YP. Anyway he wants to support one or two families in Kenya. That is why I included Kibera.

But all the same you made my day guys
whatever is done in the dark will always come to the light and find its way to bite u in the ass (SO DO THE RIGHT THING EVEN WHEN NO-ONE IS WATCHING)
#14 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 3:20:46 PM

Hehehe ati Lap of Honour? Sasa hii kama sio bangi, then u guys tel me wot the fellow smoked! LMAO!
#15 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 4:35:17 PM

@informer
Sk huwa hivyo..dont take them seriously

For the Nairobi tour,depends on his interests. But basically,he could do:
**Nairobi NAtional Park
**Nairobi Safari walk
**Sheldricks Elephant orphanage(10 to noon only daily)
**Girraffe centre
**Karen Blixen Museum
**Bomas - Cultural experience
**Nairobi Museum/Snake Park
**Olorgesaille archeological site & Museum
**Oloolua nature trail and bird watchers paradise - Karen

For the Kibera projects,what is his main interest? women groups,youth projects,orphan's projects?? I would highly propose he helps a Youth or Women project,in terms of empowerment financially ama with ideas,or to source for funding. As opposed to giving hand outs to individuals or families. We are trying to encourage a culture of every individual earning a dignified living and learning to sweat their way out of poverty instead of waiting for funds year in,year out. i.e The hand-up system as opposed to the hand-down system.
Kibera,you can find various community projects,that go a long way in helping families wade their way out of poverty. If you need more info on the projects,a guide etc.. just drop me an email and will forward you a full writeup of what each project does.
Informer
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 7:43:24 AM

@leona

Thanks a lot. Kindly inbox me the writeup of what each project does.
I will really appreciate. kensafsk@gmail.com
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:38:48 PM

@Informer
Check email. I hope the suggested projects are what your friend had in mind. Thanks in advance
Informer
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 5:41:36 AM

@ Leona

That is true. But I have checked my inbox and there is nothing. Kindly resend, kensafsk@gmail.com
wanjirus
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 7:51:39 AM

IMHO kibera is not the poorest part of the country, there are poorer people in the Kenya, if I had a friend coming with such a mission I would take him in the rurals places.

Poverty is related to witchcraft, I can bet you'll come face to face with poverty ISO certified in such places like kitui, some places in rural coast,tharaka, Gaturi in Murang'a.

Kibera only features coz its like 20mins drive from the city,ave worked with people earning more than 20$ a day and live in kibera.
akowally
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 11:34:41 AM

Compared to what happens to other parts of Kenya, yeah Kibera doesn't even seem to be close to poverty. There are all those poverty striken, stick thin people that are shown in the media and few people or NGOs get to reach them in the remote parts of Kenya. I for one don't think there is any famine in Nairobi, you never hear someone died of hunger. I think your friend might want to explore options in these areas.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE