wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Kenya to be banned for 4 years if WADA succeeds
#1 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 10:10:59 AM

WADA serious about getting Kenya banned over doping inaction

The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) is stepping up efforts to get Kenya banned from international competition for four years unless the nation seriously tackles doping by its athletes, the chairman of Kenya's Olympic committee said on Friday.

Dozens of Kenyan runners have been caught doping in the past few years, tarnishing the reputation of the east African country famed for its middle and long-distance runners

It is estimated that more than 35 Kenyan runners have failed drugs tests in the last three years, including Rita Jeptoo, winner of the Boston and Chicago Marathons.
Alba
#2 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 6:25:17 PM

Kenya needs a kick in the pants.
But IAAF are no saints. Look at Lamine Diack taking bribes to hide doping results. Its a corrupt system. Kenya is not the worst of their problems. Russia is far worse. IAAF itself is the worst and should ban itself.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 4:28:06 PM

This dick pound fellow is really pushing for kenya to be banned - they just can't understand how such a poor country can produce such vast number of top athletes.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 4:39:34 PM

This dick pound fellow is really pushing for kenya to be banned - they just can't understand how such a poor country can produce such vast number of top athletes.

Savinova who has been given a lifetime ban was defeated by eunice sum at the "peak" of her career i remember watching the post race interview and she could not comprehend "how" it happened knowing very well alikuwa amemeza .
Alba
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 4:48:59 PM

Savinova and other Russians have always been highly suspect even to the casual observer. She is a typical runner who dissappears for most of the Diamond league season then suddenly appears at the world championships to win gold.

The idea is to avoid doping for most of the season so as to pass random tests then microdose right before the major championship.

Ghasia bhure ghabisa. I hope they take away all her medals.
whiteowl
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 4:51:48 PM

I'm not pro doping but claiming Kenya's athletic prowess is as a result of doping is a load of crap.If doping was all it took to win races, Kenya would never be number one.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 5:07:05 PM

I really don't like this new focus on country, I mean if you have evidence go after the individuals and their coach - but banning a whole country is just lame, the usa has had majority of its top (I mean top) athletes caught doping - if that is not systematic, I don't know what systematic is.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 5:24:22 PM

WADA serious about getting Kenya banned over doping inaction

The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) is stepping up efforts to get Kenya banned from international competition for four years unless the nation seriously tackles doping by its athletes, the chairman of Kenya's Olympic committee said on Friday.

Dozens of Kenyan runners have been caught doping in the past few years, tarnishing the reputation of the east African country famed for its middle and long-distance runners

It is estimated that more than 35 Kenyan runners have failed drugs tests in the last three years, including Rita Jeptoo, winner of the Boston and Chicago Marathons.

so wada wants more bribes
Alba
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 5:32:20 PM

I really don't like this new focus on country, I mean if you have evidence go after the individuals and their coach - but banning a whole country is just lame, the usa has had majority of its top (I mean top) athletes caught doping - if that is not systematic, I don't know what systematic is.

It means that the doping program is controlled or directed by high level officials. In the case of Russia, the sports ministry was in charge of the doping program.

There is no systematic doping in the US. In fact in the US, runners have gone to prison for doping. They are usually asked to cooperate with authorities. If you bring kichwa ngumu like marion jones utaenda kamiti maximum pap !
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 5:59:07 PM

Alba wrote:

It means that the doping program is controlled or directed by high level officials. In the case of Russia, the sports ministry was in charge of the doping program.

There is no systematic doping in the US. In fact in the US, runners have gone to prison for doping. They are usually asked to cooperate with authorities. If you bring kichwa ngumu like marion jones utaenda kamiti maximum pap !

I thought its the local governments that set up the testing labs, as the Kenyan government is being asked to.

But can't you see if most of the top athletes in a country are dopers there must be a problem with the given country, whether its the government sponsoring the same or not. Especially considering doping is not a criminal offense, and marion was actually arrested for something else, not the doping act itself.

But honestly hata ka ni kudefend watu wa majuu, if most of your top guys are doping, the country must have a big problem.
kizee1
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 11:16:20 PM

Alba wrote:

warning 1hr 46mins

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWpxRa3wRm8

as to your comment check out 54.29 onwards
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 3:53:12 PM

kizee1 wrote:
Alba wrote:

warning 1hr 46mins

Interesting, seems the americans have been systematically doing it for ages - but the thought alone of banning the usa would mean bankruptcy for the athletics administrators and their top guys, thats how they and their sponsoring companies make crazy cash - I think Russia just happens to be at the crossroads with the usa thats why their ban is being dangled around.

Would Kenya be banned ? I know most of the coaches, sponsors and promoting agencies for the Kenyan athletes are based in the west so I doubt they would go that far with Kenya.

They will just arm twist the government into setting up and putting funds into some test center, and push the mp's to pass some laws around the same then threaten the government not to poke its nose into the same so that they can run the thing.
Alba
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:26:50 PM

I am not able to watch that video currently due to circumstances beyond my control.

But the doping that is done in America does not meet the definition of systematic. I wonder what it is in that video that makes it systematic.

#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:53:53 PM

Alba wrote:
I am not able to watch that video currently due to circumstances beyond my control.

But the doping that is done in America does not meet the definition of systematic. I wonder what it is in that video that makes it systematic.

The video has some bit of Clinton when he was president in it smile
But in honesty its claimed that some government agencies in the states have allowed doped guys to compete and win medals, stretching as far back as the Seoul Olympics.
Alba
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 6:16:42 PM

I agree that there was systematic doping in the USA during the 1980s. The Seoul Olympics were the dirtiest ever. Essentially what happened is that the US were getting routinely beaten by the East Germans and to a lesser extent the Soviets , both of whom had government run doping programs.

So the Americans also decided to jump onto the systemic doping bandwagon. The most egregious case is that of Florence Grifith Joyner aka Flojo. The fastest woman ever. She actually failed a drug test at the 88 Olympics but her results were hidden. Carl Lewis also failed a drug test and his results were hidden.
kizee1
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:32:06 PM

Alba wrote:

you must be joking

have u ever heard of the BALCO scandal? lance armstrong? floyd landis etc?

how about the 60s after they discovered the russians were doping? american sports have the highest number of dopers simply due to the risk reward, baseball had its scandal, american football heck even the WWE lol...risk reward people
kizee1
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:39:24 PM

kizee1 wrote:
Alba wrote:

warning 1hr 46mins

Interesting, seems the americans have been systematically doing it for ages - but the thought alone of banning the usa would mean bankruptcy for the athletics administrators and their top guys, thats how they and their sponsoring companies make crazy cash - I think Russia just happens to be at the crossroads with the usa thats why their ban is being dangled around.

Would Kenya be banned ? I know most of the coaches, sponsors and promoting agencies for the Kenyan athletes are based in the west so I doubt they would go that far with Kenya.

They will just arm twist the government into setting up and putting funds into some test center, and push the mp's to pass some laws around the same then threaten the government not to poke its nose into the same so that they can run the thing.

Kenyan athletes simply have a genetic disposition to be better distance athletes, it was proven by Norwegian scientists(for reference check this vid https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTQVHZU4WzE)

St Patrick Iten students easily defeat their counterparts in national teams such as Sweden among others, at that level it is virtually impossible that a student would be doping ultimately all these drugs do is help you stay in the game, at the elite level you need to be a genetic freak, the drugs merely help you train harder and recover faster
Alba
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:43:44 PM

kizee1 wrote:
Alba wrote:

you must be joking

how about the 60s after they discovered the russians were doping? american sports have the highest number of dopers simply due to the risk reward, baseball had its scandal, american football heck even the WWE lol...risk reward people

Please read a thread in its entirety before jumping in with such enthusiasm. I have already explained the meaning of systematic doping . Neither Balco nor anything else you posted meets the definition of systematic doping.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 10:02:00 PM

Alba wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
Alba wrote:

you must be joking

Please read a thread in its entirety before jumping in with such enthusiasm. I have already explained the meaning of systematic doping . Neither Balco nor anything else you posted meets the definition of systematic doping.

Sasa hii systematic is like that inadvertent use that is always branded around when it comes the athletes from majuu.

I thought systematic means that the whole thing is well planned and thought out, not a random thing individuals do, in the case of the usa it is well planned and lots of resources go into hiding or ignoring the same.
kizee1
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 10:10:05 PM

Alba wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
Alba wrote:

you must be joking

lol BALCO was not systematic doping? victor conte himself called it systematic yet you say it wasn't?