Tribulations of a Kenyan contractor doing state jobs...
Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Othelo wrote:Baratang wrote:Kaigangio wrote:…Even after receiving the cheques worth kshs 53m, the contractors financial problems/woes are far from over… That is a lot of money the contractor has received. Why would the contractor still be in problems at least on this job? Boss tuliza boli..... @baratang...You see at an average mark up of 15% the contractor has spent about kshs 46m on materials and labour. Don't forget before the contract started, the contractor had already spent kshs 21m. And then during the grand receiving of the cheques kshs 2m was expended. So total expenditure to date is actually kshs 69m. As of now the profit so far is kshs 53-kshs 69 = kshs -16mThe contractor is still down by kshs 16m, meaning he has not broken even yet. This is a wrong layman's accounting.The correct accrual accounting for profit to date is as follows 20M(works variation)+36 M(rock excavation variation)+53 M(invoiced certified workdone)-46M=63Million Even if you were to deduct the 23Million paid in bribes, the contractor has already made 40 Million in profit just for clearing the bushes @swenani...You don't calculate it that way. You see, the variations (extra works) have not been approved by the ministry yet and there is no guarantee that they will ever be approved. A variation that has not been approved is never paid for... In actual fact, the contractor may be down by more than kshs 16m because of the amounts spent on carrying out the extra works namely rocks excavations!! perhaps if the value of the two variations so far is kahs 56m, if we apply a 50% mark-up, then the contractor has spent about kshs 25m on rock excavations. So the contractor is down by kshs 16m + kshs 25m = kshs 41mpole sana kwa contractor. Upto here the contractor is very innocent so far... Are the works variation supposed to be approved before fact or after fact? The contractor is not innocent,with all those bribes paid out you think he is innocent, he should have walked away the first instance he was asked to bribe! He is unethical and should choke on his/her breakfast table, s/he is one among many of the kenyans who are running this country down. If you do not pay bribes, there will be no takes You see @swenani the instruction to carry out the rock excavations had been issued by the ministry, but there was no ministry representative on site to confirm the extent of excavations. The quantities as given by the contractor had to be verified first before the variation was approved. As per that time, you either paid the bribe or you were out of business. A contract worth more than kshs 50m was very hard to come by. This one each and every tenderer was fighting nail and tooth to get it. You see, if he refused to pay the bribe at his tendered sum of kshs 160m, those guys would have given it to the third lowest at kshs 258m. Kwisha maneno!! The only question therefore that we should ask for now is will he execute the contract as per the specification and within the revised completion date? Yote tisa..kumi ni, 1.He would not have died of hunger,if he would have walked away.If all the contractors were ethical and refused to pay bribes, GOk would have issued the contract without expecting bribes 2.If the instructions were issued by the ministry,then there was a possibility of him getting paid for the variations even if it would have been adjusted downwards/upwards. But I'm writing this from an ideal perspective which is not the reality in Kenya...Bottomline is that the contract should not complain whether he makes profit or a loss @swenani...in the 90s new development had already stagnated because there was only enough revenue available for the recurrent expenditure and not for anything else. The private sector was badly way off too. When too many people are competing for very few jobs, believe me, ethics are thrown through the window and the subjects enter the arena with bare knuckles. As for the variations, like you say, once verified it can be downgraded or upgraded depending on the actual scenario on the ground. However, the variation can never be paid for unless it is approved. Some variations goes to beyond the completion time of projects without being paid for if there is a dispute over the extent of the works. So can we all agree the contractor has been badly shafted so far at this point in time? I totally understand but i refuse to validate corrupt practices.The tax payer was/is/will be shafted Nobody of course would tolerate it, but if the push come to the shove you will not have a choice. A question for you...Supposing you were an employee of the contractor then and you knew that for you to continue being in his payroll was only for the contractor to pay bribes, would you resign or quit your job to protest his unethical acquisition or award of the contract? Yes, I wouldn't die if i resign,working is not everything,money is not everything. I cannot even sleep with or drool over a woman who takes or gives bribes. But endelea na story as long as you stop portraying the contractor as a victim! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Jaina wrote:@Kaigangio: please continue with the report. You have a talent, this can easily become a course work book for Bachelor of Stealing Degree.
@ Swenani: We have to accept the reality "on the ground" and move on with life. I do accept the reality but I can accept that the rogue contractor was being shafted by the tax payer and govt, The rogue contractor with the rogue govt employees were shafting the govt and tax payer both sides From what I have read so far I have not seen any sentence indicating that the contractor has shafted anybody. The contractor seems to be the one on the receiving end. Or am I reading my own things?
Baratang wrote:Swenani wrote:Jaina wrote:@Kaigangio: please continue with the report. You have a talent, this can easily become a course work book for Bachelor of Stealing Degree.
@ Swenani: We have to accept the reality "on the ground" and move on with life. I do accept the reality but I can accept that the rogue contractor was being shafted by the tax payer and govt, The rogue contractor with the rogue govt employees were shafting the govt and tax payer both sides From what I have read so far I have not seen any sentence indicating that the contractor has shafted anybody. The contractor seems to be the one on the receiving end. Or am I reading my own things? Do you read to understand and synthesize information or you just read to finish reading a story? If the contractor was expecting a loss of 3 Million,how did he end up making a profit of 70M without shafting the tax payer and the government in collusion with rogue government employees? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Swenani wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Othelo wrote:Baratang wrote:Kaigangio wrote:…Even after receiving the cheques worth kshs 53m, the contractors financial problems/woes are far from over… That is a lot of money the contractor has received. Why would the contractor still be in problems at least on this job? Boss tuliza boli..... @baratang...You see at an average mark up of 15% the contractor has spent about kshs 46m on materials and labour. Don't forget before the contract started, the contractor had already spent kshs 21m. And then during the grand receiving of the cheques kshs 2m was expended. So total expenditure to date is actually kshs 69m. As of now the profit so far is kshs 53-kshs 69 = kshs -16mThe contractor is still down by kshs 16m, meaning he has not broken even yet. This is a wrong layman's accounting.The correct accrual accounting for profit to date is as follows 20M(works variation)+36 M(rock excavation variation)+53 M(invoiced certified workdone)-46M=63Million Even if you were to deduct the 23Million paid in bribes, the contractor has already made 40 Million in profit just for clearing the bushes @swenani...You don't calculate it that way. You see, the variations (extra works) have not been approved by the ministry yet and there is no guarantee that they will ever be approved. A variation that has not been approved is never paid for... In actual fact, the contractor may be down by more than kshs 16m because of the amounts spent on carrying out the extra works namely rocks excavations!! perhaps if the value of the two variations so far is kahs 56m, if we apply a 50% mark-up, then the contractor has spent about kshs 25m on rock excavations. So the contractor is down by kshs 16m + kshs 25m = kshs 41mpole sana kwa contractor. Upto here the contractor is very innocent so far... Are the works variation supposed to be approved before fact or after fact? The contractor is not innocent,with all those bribes paid out you think he is innocent, he should have walked away the first instance he was asked to bribe! He is unethical and should choke on his/her breakfast table, s/he is one among many of the kenyans who are running this country down. If you do not pay bribes, there will be no takes You see @swenani the instruction to carry out the rock excavations had been issued by the ministry, but there was no ministry representative on site to confirm the extent of excavations. The quantities as given by the contractor had to be verified first before the variation was approved. As per that time, you either paid the bribe or you were out of business. A contract worth more than kshs 50m was very hard to come by. This one each and every tenderer was fighting nail and tooth to get it. You see, if he refused to pay the bribe at his tendered sum of kshs 160m, those guys would have given it to the third lowest at kshs 258m. Kwisha maneno!! The only question therefore that we should ask for now is will he execute the contract as per the specification and within the revised completion date? Yote tisa..kumi ni, 1.He would not have died of hunger,if he would have walked away.If all the contractors were ethical and refused to pay bribes, GOk would have issued the contract without expecting bribes 2.If the instructions were issued by the ministry,then there was a possibility of him getting paid for the variations even if it would have been adjusted downwards/upwards. But I'm writing this from an ideal perspective which is not the reality in Kenya...Bottomline is that the contract should not complain whether he makes profit or a loss @swenani...in the 90s new development had already stagnated because there was only enough revenue available for the recurrent expenditure and not for anything else. The private sector was badly way off too. When too many people are competing for very few jobs, believe me, ethics are thrown through the window and the subjects enter the arena with bare knuckles. As for the variations, like you say, once verified it can be downgraded or upgraded depending on the actual scenario on the ground. However, the variation can never be paid for unless it is approved. Some variations goes to beyond the completion time of projects without being paid for if there is a dispute over the extent of the works. So can we all agree the contractor has been badly shafted so far at this point in time? I totally understand but i refuse to validate corrupt practices.The tax payer was/is/will be shafted Nobody of course would tolerate it, but if the push come to the shove you will not have a choice. A question for you...Supposing you were an employee of the contractor then and you knew that for you to continue being in his payroll was only for the contractor to pay bribes, would you resign or quit your job to protest his unethical acquisition or award of the contract? Yes, I wouldn't die if i resign,working is not everything,money is not everything. I cannot even sleep with or drool over a woman who takes or gives bribes. But endelea na story as long as you stop portraying the contractor as a victim! I sure would have been pleased to be there when you would be making that declaration between 1992 and 2002...Not to worry mr, you probably got your first job during the nusu mkeka government.. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Swenani wrote:Baratang wrote:Swenani wrote:Jaina wrote:@Kaigangio: please continue with the report. You have a talent, this can easily become a course work book for Bachelor of Stealing Degree.
@ Swenani: We have to accept the reality "on the ground" and move on with life. I do accept the reality but I can accept that the rogue contractor was being shafted by the tax payer and govt, The rogue contractor with the rogue govt employees were shafting the govt and tax payer both sides From what I have read so far I have not seen any sentence indicating that the contractor has shafted anybody. The contractor seems to be the one on the receiving end. Or am I reading my own things? Do you read to understand and synthesize information or you just read to finish reading a story? If the contractor was expecting a loss of 3 Million,how did he end up making a profit of 70M without shafting the tax payer and the government in collusion with rogue government employees? @ swenani...it is possible to make kshs 70m legally without shafting the tax payer...this will be fodder for another day ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Ni sawa tu! In 2030,there will be another kagizzard here on wazua defending the current fraud at NYS and saying how the vendors were shafted by the govt and tax payer! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Ni sawa tu! In 2030,there will be another kagizzard here on wazua defending the current fraud at NYS and saying how the vendors were shafted by the govt and tax payer! Don't worry boy! I personally do not condone theft of public funds, but since we are watching from the sidelines we can only buck...just like dog. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
…Two weeks later, the contractor remobilizes and goes back to site. He arranges everything as per the original plan when he first landed on this site. The personnel, the equipment, the machinery, the plant and all the sundry falls into place in preparation for the gigantic restart of the works. The construction workers are all fired up and in very high spirits as they are now sure that in the next 12 months or so, they will still be in the payroll. As for the Christians God is great and as for the Muslims Allahu akbar. All is ready! The ministry has also provided the COW and the RE in readiness for the next part of the exercise. In another week the site is life with activities that goes with the road construction. Everybody is busy and everybody is happy. It is at this point when the tables are turned..The saintly sympathetically shafted contractor returns the favour in equal measure…. Stay tuned folks and shed a tear or two for the taxpayer as the contractor starts to shaft the government... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Kaigangio wrote:…Two weeks later, the contractor remobilizes and goes back to site. He arranges everything as per the original plan when he first landed on this site. The personnel, the equipment, the machinery, the plant and all the sundry falls into place in preparation for the gigantic restart of the works.
The construction workers are all fired up and in very high spirits as they are now sure that in the next 12 months or so, they will still be in the payroll. As for the Christians God is great and as for the Muslims Allahu akbar. All is ready!
The ministry has also provided the COW and the RE in readiness for the next part of the exercise. In another week the site is life with activities that goes with the road construction. Everybody is busy and everybody is happy.
It is at this point when the tables are turned..The saintly sympathetically shafted contractor returns the favour in equal measure….
Stay tuned folks and shed a tear or two for the taxpayer as the contractor starts to shaft the government...
Chief, dont leave us hanging like that, ni kama zile barua za high school, awaiting eagerly for another one to be sent in a week... Kaigangio wrote:…Two weeks later, the contractor remobilizes and goes back to site. He arranges everything as per the original plan when he first landed on this site. The personnel, the equipment, the machinery, the plant and all the sundry falls into place in preparation for the gigantic restart of the works.
The construction workers are all fired up and in very high spirits as they are now sure that in the next 12 months or so, they will still be in the payroll. As for the Christians God is great and as for the Muslims Allahu akbar. All is ready!
The ministry has also provided the COW and the RE in readiness for the next part of the exercise. In another week the site is life with activities that goes with the road construction. Everybody is busy and everybody is happy.
It is at this point when the tables are turned..The saintly sympathetically shafted contractor returns the favour in equal measure….
Stay tuned folks and shed a tear or two for the taxpayer as the contractor starts to shaft the government...
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Hii story yako has become like TV episodes that one has to wait for each week. You either maliza the story or admin should delete this thread. Why should we wait for a whole week to know what happened?
hardwood wrote:Hii story yako has become like TV episodes that one has to wait for each week. You either maliza the story or admin should delete this thread. Why should we wait for a whole week to know what happened? Blame it on Martha's new boyfriend!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
@swenani, sawa, you've made your point. Now you should get off this thread if it's bothering you so much. Some of us want to hear the end of the story and your naive sideshows are bringing delays.
Mike Ock wrote:@swenani, sawa, you've made your point. Now you should get off this thread if it's bothering you so much. Some of us want to hear the end of the story and your naive sideshows are bringing delays. Typical Kenyan who wants to blame his erectile dysfunction to his neighbour...Kwani nimeshika kagizzard makende asiandike?NKt! Just incase you can't read,I have highlighted the section for you to read and UNDERSTAND....Nkt Kaigangio wrote:…Two weeks later, the contractor remobilizes and goes back to site. He arranges everything as per the original plan when he first landed on this site. The personnel, the equipment, the machinery, the plant and all the sundry falls into place in preparation for the gigantic restart of the works.
and here is the meaning of "stay tuned" stay tunedIf Obiero did it, Who Am I?
You can only be shafted so much and still remain innocent. You have started work, have been paid only a portion, have realized you are dealing with hyenas who you now know have been witholding your payment for months until they get their cut..... There is still more work to be done and greater expenses to be incurred, how do you know they will not get greedy and start asking for bigger and bigger cuts..... you are the one with the equipment that needs to serviced, workers to be paid etc........ I can see how your innocence can start to disappear......
endelea bwana Kaigangio, usituweke in suspense for too long but man you can write. Endelea bwana..
Swenani wrote:Baratang wrote:Swenani wrote:Jaina wrote:@Kaigangio: please continue with the report. You have a talent, this can easily become a course work book for Bachelor of Stealing Degree.
@ Swenani: We have to accept the reality "on the ground" and move on with life. I do accept the reality but I can accept that the rogue contractor was being shafted by the tax payer and govt, The rogue contractor with the rogue govt employees were shafting the govt and tax payer both sides From what I have read so far I have not seen any sentence indicating that the contractor has shafted anybody. The contractor seems to be the one on the receiving end. Or am I reading my own things? Do you read to understand and synthesize information or you just read to finish reading a story?If the contractor was expecting a loss of 3 Million,how did he end up making a profit of 70M without shafting the tax payer and the government in collusion with rogue government employees? mayie!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Friday imeisha and the guy is yet to complete the story since tuesday. Kwani how long does this guy take to complete a single assignment? He must be the laziest employee/employer.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
mkenyan wrote:Swenani wrote:Baratang wrote:Swenani wrote:Jaina wrote:@Kaigangio: please continue with the report. You have a talent, this can easily become a course work book for Bachelor of Stealing Degree.
@ Swenani: We have to accept the reality "on the ground" and move on with life. I do accept the reality but I can accept that the rogue contractor was being shafted by the tax payer and govt, The rogue contractor with the rogue govt employees were shafting the govt and tax payer both sides From what I have read so far I have not seen any sentence indicating that the contractor has shafted anybody. The contractor seems to be the one on the receiving end. Or am I reading my own things? Do you read to understand and synthesize information or you just read to finish reading a story?If the contractor was expecting a loss of 3 Million,how did he end up making a profit of 70M without shafting the tax payer and the government in collusion with rogue government employees? mayie!!!! vanee !!! one of the lucky contractors who got the deals directly, bila broker/middle man and still ends up shafting the tax payer, talk of incompetence
hardwood wrote:Friday imeisha and the guy is yet to complete the story since tuesday. Kwani how long does this guy take to complete a single assignment? He must be the laziest employee/employer. kabla ukuje hapa kulikuwa na stori ya NYS. Sidhani iliisha
Tribulations of a Kenyan contractor doing state jobs...