wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Makmende
centerbolt
#1 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:07:35 AM

Makmende will never have a heart attack. His heart isn't nearly foolish enough to attack him...smile
brav
#2 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:10:50 AM

@newfarer.. maybe im not updated somehow but hii makmende ndio nini?
#3 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:14:09 AM

@Member

The 1970’s themed video, directed by Jim Chuchu and Mbithi Masya, features a mean, ass-kicking character known as Makmende (played by Kevin “K1”Maina) who has been all the rage on Twitter this week. A lot of people have been wondering who the hell Makmende is. Well, that depends on your age and where you grew up. Makmende was a term used way back in the early to mid 1990s to refer to someone who thinks he’s a superhero. For example, if a boy who’s watched one too many kung-fu movies on TV decides to unleash his newly acquired combat skills, he would be asked “Unajidai Makmende, eh?” (Who do you think you are, Makmende?) Trust me, there was a Makmende in every hood!

http://mwanamishale.word...the-return-of-makmende/
centerbolt
#4 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:24:47 AM

You ask Makmende who he is n he tells you who you are!!!!
tuvok
#5 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:42:55 AM

If you haven't watched the vid:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mG1vIeETHc
#6 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:44:43 AM

Okay Makmende is the rage right now! Have you seen the video of the Kenyan superhero? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
And it's a perfect example of the power of brand and testament that now social media is effective in Kenya!

Earliest reference (site, twitter, facebook) I see of this phenomena is definitely not older than 1 week but it's the new big deal:
--3,130 results on google
--7,382 facebook fans
--10,000 views on youtube
--leading trending Kenyan topic on Twitter

Oyear
#7 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 10:56:44 AM

I hope the internet craze can translate to payday outside the net . . . goes to show though . . . if local media can't get you there . . .do it yoself!! Very creative set of guys.
#8 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 12:49:22 PM

For once I had no clue what the fuss was all about, thanks @Muganda
Pinket
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 7:02:42 AM

Makmende can slam a revolving door!
edwing
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 7:11:19 AM

Makmende is the guy who rubs his book when the teacher rubs the black board. Makmende does n't use power tab in his mosquito net he just presses tab on his computer. Hehehehe.
Pinket
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 7:13:31 AM

1. Makmende once went to K-street, they are now saved.
2. Obama is afraid he might not stand the chance for a second term, unless makmende allows him.
3. The reason Google is still in China is because of makmende
4. Dont dream about makmende, he will hear you.
5. Makmende is the reason why there was traffic jam in makueni.
6. South Africa are already issuing a security threat posed by makmende during world cup.
7. It is said the reason Chelsea was beaten in Champions league is coz Makmende was spotted in the pitch.
8. Makmende went around the world in one day.
9. Tom and Mary dropped out of school coz of bullying by makmende.
10. Makmende showed up at pizza inn and took all the pizza.
11. Moses broke the ten commandments due to fear when he saw Makmende.
12. I hear Makmende uprooted the railway on his own.
13. Makmende does not use m-pesa, zap or yu cash, he runs the system.
14. Makmende beat the hell out of GSU as they tried to deport him.
15. Makmende has revolutionized the car industry with the new Toyota Mark mende.
16. The dude can hang clothes on his safaricom line
anasazi
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 8:25:11 AM

1. After eating garlic Makmende doesn’t smell like garlic but garlic smells like Makmende.
2. The only reason you’re conscious right now is because Makmende doesn’t want to carry you.
3. Makmende can look at your photo and know you are lying.
4. Nobody knows what would happen if Chuck Norris and Makmende met, but one thing is for sure: Makmende would still be standing.
5. Always look before you leap. Unless Makmende is chasing you. Then you had better just jump.
6. Makmende refused a syringe at a blood bank. Instead, he asked for a gun and a bucket.
7. Makmende found Bin Laden. Let him go, and found him again for his own amusement.
8. Makmende doesn’t drink honey. He chews bees.
9. Makmende doesn’t have nightmares. Nightmares have Makmende.
10. Makmende and Superman once had a fight. They bet that whoever lost would wear his underwear outside his pants.
11. If Makmende was Spartan in the movie 300, the movie would be called 1.
12. Makmende doesn’t need a translator. Pain sounds the same in every language.
13. The Boogieman checks his closet for Makmende.
14. The Dinosaurs laughed at Makmende…
15. Makmende has been to Mars. Why do you think there’s no life on Mars?
16. The truth hurts. Not as much as Makmende.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 8:40:38 AM

hehehe...."16. The dude can hang clothes on his safaricom line"

that beats them pants on top.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 8:41:43 AM

@Pinket on no. 15... it now goes the new Toyota Mark-Mende said "Theres not enough room for all of us" and Toyota had to recall all the other models..
Bree
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 9:57:09 AM

Nothing new here, the same was doing rounds some years back, but on Jack Bauer not makmende...
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 10:06:06 AM

akowally
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 10:31:28 AM

@Bree

This Makmende thing is like an internet and media craze. I would really have loved to see that Jack Bauer one.smile
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 11:02:25 AM

akowally
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 11:36:49 AM

@aemathenge

Crazy stuffLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Djinn
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 11:48:46 AM

@bree & aemathenge - roger that. I'm getting pretty fed up with this makmende stuff especially given the lack of originality inherent in the one liners attributed to this so called urban legend.

Just for clarity it is simply a music video on YouTube - these rephrased one liners (drawn from funny facts abt Jack Bauer, Chuck Norris, etc) seem to be a way to make the video viral - or perhaps as part of a online cum social experiment. It could also be a strategy by the producers of the video prior to releasing to TV stations.....

So, here we are regurgitating and regurgitating what others have regurgitated - only a few people will benefit. if it was news of a scandal exposed, I'd not complain....

Can people NOT sit down and think of something original? I recall we had Big Ben, Son of Samson and the cartoon detective series by Paul Kelemba - that was original.

I'm near the point of throwing up seeing all these makmende updates on facebook.

Can someone perhaps talk to a few local computer animators, publishers, writers, etc and come up with a REAL animated series/cartoon/movie based on a LOCAL or African book? (moses and ghost series, Truphena, etc etc) Sell to a TV station the rights, pay the publisher, etc etc....

Whoever is getting sucked into this senseless vortex needs to :
1) grow a brain
2) get a life...

Sorry, buts thats how I feel...