wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

13 Pages«<45678>»
T-bill advise
#101 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 12:11:19 PM

kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:
How does one know your account has been opened? Do they notify you or you have to visit physically?

@speculz.After seven days they are supposed to send you an email with your details.But being the govt style CBK, you better visit them and enquire after the seven days.They will then write for you on paper your CDS account number and Virtual account.

I am still waiting for my details on email, more than two months later.Good thing , i did walk myself there and got it written for me.

Let the guy walk to CBK and demand his CDS account as long as the 7 working days had elapsed,this is the gaaament he is dealing with.

You will even be told that your resident bank has not responded with sijui SWIFT response and therefore you also need to head to your bank HQ and make some following there, kupata pesa sio rahisi hivyo.

jerry
#102 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 1:16:17 PM

kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:
How does one know your account has been opened? Do they notify you or you have to visit physically?

@speculz.After seven days they are supposed to send you an email with your details.But being the govt style CBK, you better visit them and enquire after the seven days.They will then write for you on paper your CDS account number and Virtual account.

I am still waiting for my details on email, more than two months later.Good thing , i did walk myself there and got it written for me.

Let the guy walk to CBK and demand his CDS account as long as the 7 working days had elapsed,this is the gaaament he is dealing with.

You will even be told that your resident bank has not responded with sijui SWIFT response and therefore you also need to head to your bank HQ and make some following there, kupata pesa sio rahisi hivyo.

Two weeks later I'm waiting for a call from them, Meru CBK-CASH OFFICE! I left them with an application for one year T-Bill.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#103 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 3:07:12 PM

jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Two weeks later I'm waiting for a call from them, Meru CBK-CASH OFFICE! I left them with an application for one year T-Bill.

By the time you get the CDS account the rates would have fallen back to 8%.
Can you call them.

#104 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 8:15:41 AM

jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Can you call them.

@Wailer's prophesy is coming true?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

This week the Central Bank of Kenya offered 182 and 364 Days Treasury Bills for a total of Kshs.8 Billion. The total number of bids received was 285 amounting to Kshs.19.197 Billion representing 479.94% subscription and 873 bids amounting to Kshs.40.90 Billion representing 1,022.51% subscription for 182 and 364 days, respectively. Bids accepted amounted to Kshs.5.60 Billion for 182 days and Kshs.7.07 Billion for 364 days Treasury Bills. The weighted average rate of accepted bids, which will be applied for non-competitive bids, was 21.028% for the 182-day and 21.212% for 364-day Treasury Bills. The other auction statistics are summarised in the table below.

Yaani 1000% over-subscription...Kenyans with there peculiarity!!!
Pray Pray Pray

streetwise
#105 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 8:33:30 AM

Kenyans with quick money ( remember quail eggs). I am sure this is what the Government wanted.

Now that they have the money the rate will drop drastically. What would you do with the money returned to you ?? or not accepted ?
kasibitta
#106 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 8:37:52 AM

jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Can you call them.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

This week the Central Bank of Kenya offered 182 and 364 Days Treasury Bills for a total of Kshs.8 Billion. The total number of bids received was 285 amounting to Kshs.19.197 Billion representing 479.94% subscription and 873 bids amounting to Kshs.40.90 Billion representing 1,022.51% subscription for 182 and 364 days, respectively. Bids accepted amounted to Kshs.5.60 Billion for 182 days and Kshs.7.07 Billion for 364 days Treasury Bills. The weighted average rate of accepted bids, which will be applied for non-competitive bids, was 21.028% for the 182-day and 21.212% for 364-day Treasury Bills. The other auction statistics are summarised in the table below.

Pray Pray Pray

Bids of 40.9 B and only 5.6 B accepted.This is crazy shit.What were guys quoting as the interest rate? 40%???.Kenyans

#107 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 8:59:05 AM

kasibitta wrote:
jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Can you call them.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Pray Pray Pray

Bids of 40.9 B and only 5.6 B accepted.This is crazy shit.What were guys quoting as the interest rate? 40%???.Kenyans

But the market weighted average is 22.33%, so quoting 40% plus is liely to have been quoted...I think a phone call from the house on the hill was obeyed; "chukua kidogo tu and artificially show the rate are dropping".

Ericsson
#108 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 9:11:16 AM

Rates will still be high till the shilling drops to 95 and below versus the dollar
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#109 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 9:17:10 AM

kasibitta wrote:
jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Can you call them.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Pray Pray Pray

But the market weighted average is 22.33%, so quoting 40% plus is liely to have been quoted...I think a phone call from the house on the hill was obeyed; "chukua kidogo tu and artificially show the rate are dropping".

For how long will this work?
#110 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 9:20:05 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Rates will still be high till the shilling drops to 95 and below versus the dollar

We will see how your prophesy turns out.

What rate do you consider high? Above 20%, above 16%, above 12% or above 10%?

Spikes
#111 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 9:26:51 AM

CS Rotich Henry pointed out in two consecutive interviews on authoritative TV stations that CBK is liaising with the Treasury in a bid to lower rates in a week or so.....
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#112 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 9:35:15 AM

Spikes wrote:
CS Rotich Henry pointed out in two consecutive interviews on authoritative TV stations that CBK is liaising with the Treasury in a bid to lower rates in a week or so.....

And treasury is the same as the house on the hill...now you know.

jerry
#113 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 10:11:43 AM

I have been requested ,via phone, to buy a banker's cheque for 85,159/=. Given that I had applied for 100k T-Bill ( 364day ), what is the interest rate now?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
gatoho
#114 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 10:39:56 AM

jerry wrote:
I have been requested ,via phone, to buy a banker's cheque for 85,159/=. Given that I had applied for 100k T-Bill ( 364day ), what is the interest rate now?

I got the same. 21.2%
Foresight..
#115 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 10:51:05 AM

gatoho wrote:
jerry wrote:

I got the same. 21.2%

You are lucky yo got in while its still above 20%, this thing will plummet within the next couple of weeks.

And KES. 100,000 is not an amount worth investing investing in T-Bills/or Bonds. Thats meager, a Million shillings should be the minimum if you ask me.
You would have done better buying a few bags of maize huko Uasin Gishu and holding till Njaaanuary and make a kill...double your 100K.

#116 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:25:03 AM

gatoho wrote:
jerry wrote:

I got the same. 21.2%

You are lucky yo got in while its still above 20%, this thing will plummet within the next couple of weeks.

And KES. 100,000 is not an amount worth investing investing in T-Bills/or Bonds. Thats meager, a Million shillings should be the minimum if you ask me.
You would have done better buying a few bags of maize huko Uasin Gishu and holding till Njaaanuary and make a kill...double your 100K.

At least 5m but ideally 10m plus
#117 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:59:57 AM

jerry wrote:

(100,000-85,159)/85,159 x 100= 17.4%
#118 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 12:13:18 PM

jerry wrote:

(100,000-85,159)/85,159 x 100= 17.4%

NET take home after statutory tax!

kasibitta
#119 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 3:00:24 PM

kasibitta wrote:
jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Can you call them.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Pray Pray Pray

@Impunity...can a small man with less than 20Million also quote their expected interest rate ama they can only indicate market average rate?

I wouldnt mind quoting a funny figure...if i get well and good , if not i just move on....
#120 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 3:33:54 PM

kasibitta wrote:
jerry wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Can you call them.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Pray Pray Pray

@Impunity...can a small man with less than 20Million also quote their expected interest rate ama they can only indicate market average rate?

I wouldnt mind quoting a funny figure...if i get well and good , if not i just move on....

For starters, individual @wanjikus like you are only allowed to bid a max of 20 million shillings per offer.
Compared to institutional bidders and diaspora institutional dollar denominated bidders putting hundreds of millions plus,your meager amount will be rejected ab initio...Just quote within +200 basis point or simply leave it as non-competitive...
watu wako na pesa hapa nje and 20 million is pocket change for them.