wazua Sun, Apr 12, 2026

45 Pages«<56789>»
M-Akiba treasury bonds via mobile
#61 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 9:28:29 AM

kyt wrote:
Clueless government and guys in the treasury, we are messed up as a country really messed up!!

Eti that @Henry Rotich is a Havard graduate? Havard my foot!!!

Aguytrying
#62 Posted: : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 3:13:53 PM

cancelled indefinitely

http://www.nation.co.ke/...90/-/w5xyar/-/index.html
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#63 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 3:28:25 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

Some sober advise coming their way.I think its ok for now.
#64 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 4:20:56 PM

my brokerage firm sent me this:

The prevailing high interest rates & clearance issue with Nairobi Securities Exchange have been sighted as reason to delay in launching the M-Akiba product.

Kenyan Government had intended to offer the 5 billion, 5 year retail bond at the end of October 2015. With interest rates recording 22.95% last week, the government is waiting to see how the rates in the market behave before setting an appropriate date.

We shall keep you abreast of any new developments

#65 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 5:48:27 PM

Sober wrote:

The prevailing high interest rates & clearance issue with Nairobi Securities Exchange have been sighted as reason to delay in launching the M-Akiba product.

Kenyan Government had intended to offer the 5 billion, 5 year retail bond at the end of October 2015. With interest rates recording 22.95% last week, the government is waiting to see how the rates in the market behave before setting an appropriate date.

Amen. Hii kitu ishindwe kabisa. Wanjiku should be at NSE lifing private sector, not the often corrupt GoK
COOP, IMH, KEGN, KQ, MTNU
sl8r
#66 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 10:55:57 AM

Are these government bonds even 'risk free' anymore?
the question that has been eating up my brain is 'How do you borrow more money to pay off another loan??? HOW? HOW???????
MA
#67 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 11:53:45 AM

M-Akiba is revolutionary

We all agree that interest rates maybe a bit on the higher side and that everything is not really going as all would like it to be. But an objective look will tell you that M-Akiba is revolutionary
#68 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 12:23:12 PM

MA wrote:
We all agree that interest rates maybe a bit on the higher side and that everything is not really going as all would like it to be. But an objective look will tell you that M-Akiba is revolutionary

This revolution cannot happen as Treasury sleeps.

jerry
#69 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 12:45:49 PM

sl8r wrote:
Are these government bonds even 'risk free' anymore?
the question that has been eating up my brain is 'How do you borrow more money to pay off another loan??? HOW? HOW???????

It happens everyday. You take M-SHWARI to repay KCB MPESA and vice versa!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#70 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 1:07:21 PM

Sober wrote:

Amen. Hii kitu ishindwe kabisa. Wanjiku should be at NSE lifing private sector, not the often corrupt GoK

Please note they have stipulated that it is a delay and not cancellation. Does it mean the GOK did not iron out all the issues before rolling out this M-Akiba thing. Transaction advisors should be put on the spot because they failed in not highlighting the black spots in the dealSad Sad
45 Pages«<56789>»