wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

Red Meat, Processed Meat Causes Cancer, says World Health Org.
Xymalos
#1 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 6:02:10 PM

Word Health Organization today reported that processed meat such as sausages and ham causes cancer, while unprocessed red meat (like popular Mbuzi and Ngombe Choma) may also be carcinogenic - associated with colon cancer, pancreatic cancer and prostate cancer. Perhaps its time to consider eating nyama choma with moderation, and eating more plant based sources of proteins.

Here is the ---- link ----
#2 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 6:22:02 PM

Xymalos wrote:
Word Health Organization today reported that processed meat such as sausages and ham causes cancer, while unprocessed red meat (like popular Mbuzi and Ngombe Choma) may also be carcinogenic - associated with colon cancer, pancreatic cancer and prostate cancer. Perhaps its time to consider eating nyama choma with moderation, and eating more plant based sources of proteins.

I think there is a missing element... since there are societies that are predominantly carnivorous (the maasai, samburu and innuit [that's eskimos])....
#3 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 6:44:49 PM

Xymalos wrote:

I think there is a missing element... since there are societies that are predominantly carnivorous (the maasai, samburu and innuit [that's eskimos])....

For saoseges and etal, the culprit is purely the preservative...for the general red meat, the culprit to me seems to be "unclean" meat, i.e. ngombe fed on steroids etc.

#4 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 10:06:17 PM

I am waiting for alphadoti to come and lecture us over pigs
#5 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 10:29:56 PM

So we should now abandon nyamchom and switch to broiler chicken and fish? I fear that dark oil that is used to deep fry chicken and fish. Also Deep frying is said to cause cancer. Eating masukuma also wont help us since they are full of cancer causing pesticides and some are full of carcinogenic heavy metals having been grown huko ruai using sewage water.

http://nutritionfacts.or...foods-may-cause-cancer/

Included in the unhealthy eating pattern was the consumption of deep-fried foods, which have previously been linked to breast cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, oral and throat cancers, esophageal cancer, and cancer of the voicebox.

What about the consumption of deep-fried foods and risk of prostate cancer? Researchers at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and the University of Washington found that eating French fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and doughnuts was associated with about a third greater odds of prostate cancer. After stratifying for tumor aggressiveness, they found slightly stronger associations with more aggressive disease, suggesting that regular intake of deep-fried foods may contribute to the progression of prostate cancer as well.

What in deep fried foods is so bad for us? Just heating oil that hot can generate potentially carcinogenic compounds, and then known carcinogens such as heterocyclic amines and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons form when the muscles of chickens and fish are cooked at that temperature. Deep-fried plants (e.g potato chips), on the other hand, can form acrylamide.

Acrylamide intake has been associated with endometrial cancer, ovarian cancer, lung cancer, kidney cancer, and esophageal cancer.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 8:37:53 AM

We'll all go one way or another...this cancer stuff basically makes one afraid to eat anything. We live by God's grace is all I can say...atheists sijui wanaita hio aje
Mtafiti
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 8:40:41 AM

This is too much. Where do we run to? It seems the only safe diet is rain water swallowed directly from the sky!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 8:46:21 AM

So we should now abandon nyamchom and switch to broiler chicken and fish? I fear that dark oil that is used to deep fry chicken and fish. Also Deep frying is said to cause cancer. Eating masukuma also wont help us since they are full of cancer causing pesticides and some are full of carcinogenic heavy metals having been grown huko ruai using sewage water.

Included in the unhealthy eating pattern was the consumption of deep-fried foods, which have previously been linked to breast cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, oral and throat cancers, esophageal cancer, and cancer of the voicebox.

What about the consumption of deep-fried foods and risk of prostate cancer? Researchers at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and the University of Washington found that eating French fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and doughnuts was associated with about a third greater odds of prostate cancer. After stratifying for tumor aggressiveness, they found slightly stronger associations with more aggressive disease, suggesting that regular intake of deep-fried foods may contribute to the progression of prostate cancer as well.

What in deep fried foods is so bad for us? Just heating oil that hot can generate potentially carcinogenic compounds, and then known carcinogens such as heterocyclic amines and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons form when the muscles of chickens and fish are cooked at that temperature. Deep-fried plants (e.g potato chips), on the other hand, can form acrylamide.

Acrylamide intake has been associated with endometrial cancer, ovarian cancer, lung cancer, kidney cancer, and esophageal cancer.

tuache kukula basi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 8:55:02 AM

Xymalos wrote:

For saoseges and etal, the culprit is purely the preservative...for the general red meat, the culprit to me seems to be "unclean" meat, i.e. ngombe fed on steroids etc.

How about Tuskys's gizards?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 8:57:39 AM

tuache kukula basi

Are human beings carcinogenic?

#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 10:33:00 AM

Even mursik has been associated with throat cancer eti due to the fermentation process which produces carcinogenic acetaldehydes and alcohols.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23155139
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 10:38:57 AM

Even mursik has been associated with throat cancer eti due to the fermentation process which produces carcinogenic acetaldehydes and alcohols.

We shall not live in fear, Even sex causes cancer!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 10:42:24 AM

Even drinking tea (hot) causes throat cancer.

http://www.bmj.com/content/338/bmj.b929.long
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 10:49:38 AM

#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 11:17:34 AM

Mtafiti wrote:
This is too much. Where do we run to? It seems the only safe diet is rain water swallowed directly from the sky!

Not even use a cup to tap the rain water!

#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 11:20:55 AM

What is the mean temp considered hot?

#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 11:33:44 AM

What is the mean temp considered hot?

Quote from that journal article:

more tumours were observed as the temperature increased, especially at 65°C and above. At a temperature of 70°C the number and size of oesophageal papillomas increased rapidly
T-Bag
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 12:00:03 PM

At this rate...did we get it wrong? Humans were meant to be herbivorous? Other mammals,primates and snakes are carnivorous, never heard that they get cancer too. Chicken? full of steroids and antibiotics, Nai sukuma has lead....one msg Eat and do everything in moderation period!
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
Jump-steady
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 12:17:24 PM

Mtafiti wrote:

Even that is not safe. Have you heard of acid rain?smile
MatataMingi
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 3:20:56 PM

Processed meat, or for that matter anything processed is BAD for you.
However, red meat is not bad in moderation. It is in fact good for you.
Just make sure that it is grass feed. Goat is the BEST of all red meat.
Free range chicken & non farmed fish is very good.
Always eat a side dish of vegetable salad with your meal. Make your own kuchumbari.
Fermented vegetables and milk like yogurt & Kefir is GREAT for you.