Statement by Raila on state of economy
Boris Boyka wrote:First of all you should know that I agree there is a problem with current running of gvt. While you're complaining, I am looking at actual possible causes. Trying to see if the past & present behavior of opposition leaders is better and I find it ain't. What can a President do to a "suspect"? ....suspend (full stop) Its the Courts that do Give verdict to cases before them. Our activist courts,Corrupt judges and an " autonomous judiciary" Evidence is to come from several other key personnel, institutions and the prosecutor has a role. Coupled with political bondage of " our own is targeted ".These many parties involved (monkies) who collude are no easy task for President. The President like any other CEO can have surbodinates who let you down seriously and their overhaul every now and then is met with a lot of political and legal resistance.In the current opposition and gvt I see veeery few individuals to rely on. I would like someone to point out what they'll do IF they were appointed President today. Sometimes talking is easier than doing when put on that seat. Boris, I will take you seriously if you prove to me there is nothing the president can do to his juniors who hid our money in an offshore account
haiya! yaani hizo euros zimedisapia just like that! NO i think its a joke but when i read the Kroll team report i fear for this country.
willin2learn wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:First of all you should know that I agree there is a problem with current running of gvt. While you're complaining, I am looking at actual possible causes. Trying to see if the past & present behavior of opposition leaders is better and I find it ain't. What can a President do to a "suspect"? ....suspend (full stop) Its the Courts that do Give verdict to cases before them. Our activist courts,Corrupt judges and an " autonomous judiciary" Evidence is to come from several other key personnel, institutions and the prosecutor has a role. Coupled with political bondage of " our own is targeted ".These many parties involved (monkies) who collude are no easy task for President. The President like any other CEO can have surbodinates who let you down seriously and their overhaul every now and then is met with a lot of political and legal resistance.In the current opposition and gvt I see veeery few individuals to rely on. I would like someone to point out what they'll do IF they were appointed President today. Sometimes talking is easier than doing when put on that seat. There goes someone who goes beyond scratching the surface. You understand our current scenario all too well and you ain't posting to make numbers. The institutions we created needs an overhaul. The president led the debate on Wage bill many months ago but that's the furthest he could go with activist constitution. To me thats bull crap...stop blaming the constitution for whatever is happening...  possunt quia posse videntur
In 07 & 13 I and many others like me voted baks / jubilee primarily coz we genuinely believed they wouldn't mess the economy. We were right in 07 but it appears we made a mistake in 13. In 2017, many of us will stay home due to apathy. Of course rao will win, he's no better, but I would rather have issues with someone I didn't vote - otherwise I lose my right to question
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Enough of this habit of giving excuses for failure. On corruption, this government is heading within its first 3 years towards beating Moi at his worst. Give them another 7 ati sijui 17yrs and I don't even want to imagine. From the article above the change in Nigeria is because of 1 man. A leader. The President of the Republic of Nigeria. No one in Nigeria is talking about sijui the constitution. Sijui the opposition. Sijui what. The President is decisive and that's it! I'll quote Quote:Quote:"Buhari's arrival in May appears to have given fresh bite to the fight against corruption, which has plagued Nigeria over decades of military rule then civilian administration.
Cases involving top officials that were long thought to have been shelved have been revived, as he seeks to fulfil his election promises of stopping the rot in the system.
"As soon as he (Buhari) came to power, without any direct instruction from him, the anti-graft agencies went into a frenzy, dusting down cases of corruption against some past officials which have been long dead in order to convince Nigerians that they are working," Debo Adeniran, head of the pressure group Coalition Against Corrupt Leaders, told AFP." The buck stops somewhere and we all know where it is. Unless Jubilee is saying they are too weak to lead. In which case, they should just go home. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
Comparing Nigeria to Kenya?? Isn't Nigeria more military? Yet Kenyans complain of UK militarising the Nation. Where do Executive powers rest in Nigeria? Quote: Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, the executive powers of the Federation: (a) shall be vested in the President and may subject as aforesaid and to the provisions of any law made by the National Assembly, be exercised by him either directly or through the Vice-President and Ministers of the Government of the Federation or officers in the public service of the Federation; and
(b) shall extend to the execution and maintenance of this Constitution, all laws made by the National Assembly and to all matters with respect to which the National Assembly has, for the time being, power to make laws.
(2) Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, the executive powers of a State:
(a) shall be vested in the Governor of that State and may, subject as aforesaid and to the provisions of any Law made by a House of Assembly, be exercised by him either directly or through the Deputy Governor and Commissioners of the Government of that State or officers in the public service of the State; and http://www.nigeria-law.o...epublicOfNigeria.htmhtm
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
maka wrote:willin2learn wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:First of all you should know that I agree there is a problem with current running of gvt. While you're complaining, I am looking at actual possible causes. Trying to see if the past & present behavior of opposition leaders is better and I find it ain't. What can a President do to a "suspect"? ....suspend (full stop) Its the Courts that do Give verdict to cases before them. Our activist courts,Corrupt judges and an " autonomous judiciary" Evidence is to come from several other key personnel, institutions and the prosecutor has a role. Coupled with political bondage of " our own is targeted ".These many parties involved (monkies) who collude are no easy task for President. The President like any other CEO can have surbodinates who let you down seriously and their overhaul every now and then is met with a lot of political and legal resistance.In the current opposition and gvt I see veeery few individuals to rely on. I would like someone to point out what they'll do IF they were appointed President today. Sometimes talking is easier than doing when put on that seat. There goes someone who goes beyond scratching the surface. You understand our current scenario all too well and you ain't posting to make numbers. The institutions we created needs an overhaul. The president led the debate on Wage bill many months ago but that's the furthest he could go with activist constitution. To me thats bull crap... stop blaming the constitution for whatever is happening...
 I blame your eyes and thought processes. Who mentioned that blame you're saying?? Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
 @Washiku what is the lie?  you mean? I don't mean we change the constitution or Abolish the institutions but those people holding these institutions should be of unquestionable integrity so as to exercise their powers without fear, favour, Ill will. We as the citizens should propose/ support forward to such offices good people without considering the "MTU wetu" factor. By selecting or electing people we should base on their character and virtues n not their wealth and hooliganism and papers. If you recall, Buhari was elected because of his know strict background. And the "military" tag is of an added advantage. I think if institutions can't work then we need a wise dictator. How to get him/her sijui. Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!