wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

23 Pages<12345>»
M-Akiba treasury bonds via mobile
#41 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 11:01:20 AM

Kenya set to issue KES 20bn 1-year Government bond. The Kenya Government is set to issue a KES 20bn 1-year bond on 26 October 2015.
#42 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 1:14:32 PM

Kenya set to issue KES 20bn 1-year Government bond. The Kenya Government is set to issue a KES 20bn 1-year bond on 26 October 2015.

Is this the normal Bond ama ni Mpesa pia?
Is it tax free ama iko tax?
Drool Drool

alutacontinua
#43 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 8:03:04 PM

Is this the normal Bond ama ni Mpesa pia?
Is it tax free ama iko tax?
Drool Drool

A completely different bond (taxable) here is a link to the story

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/l1bhu9/-/index.html

At the previous auctions CBK were looking for 4Billion and as we saw last week with the t-bills, subscription rates were through the roof. Just goes to show how desperate GoK is at the moment.

The M-Akiba bond will be 5 years tax free paid out semi-annually. They have not released the official rates of the bond but should be out by the 16th of this month and auction should be on the 21st if memory serves me right.
You dont have to be great to START but you have to start to be GREAT!!!!!!!!
alutacontinua
#44 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 10:15:51 PM

Found this pdf on the Medium Term Strategy on Debt by Treasury. We have to repay a massive 600Billion next year.

Pic: https://pbs.twimg.com/me...Izo69WEAAd9QA.jpg:large

Pdf: http://www.africanbondma..._Debt_Strategy-2015.pdf

Where is this money going to come from? Will CBK be forced to turn on the printers?
You dont have to be great to START but you have to start to be GREAT!!!!!!!!
lochaz-index
#45 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 11:28:58 AM

alutacontinua wrote:
Found this pdf on the Medium Term Strategy on Debt by Treasury. We have to repay a massive 600Billion next year.

Pic: https://pbs.twimg.com/me...Izo69WEAAd9QA.jpg:large

Pdf: http://www.africanbondma..._Debt_Strategy-2015.pdf

Where is this money going to come from? Will CBK be forced to turn on the printers?

2016 outlook seems one for the ages. The government is in a strait jacket financially. More downgrades internationally means getting extra debt will be at a serious premium, couple that with overcrowding the private sector domestically and the Tbill rate won't be going down anytime soon.

In fact judging by the proposed ratio of external to domestic funding in that medium debt strategy the tbill rate is going to skyrocket with or without the M-akiba.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
S.Mutaga III
#46 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 11:55:37 AM

Minimum amount for investment Ksh 3000...target locked in= Wanjiku. One thing I have learned is to avoid investments tailored for Wanjiku...even in the NSE, the smart money makes the kill and Wanjiku goes home crying foul...almost always. Whenever I hear such investments meant for Wanjiku, I ignore and discourage anyone I know from investing. The best deals are hard to spot, and require effort to discover...there is no free lunch in financial markets.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 4:01:29 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
Minimum amount for investment Ksh 3000...target locked in= Wanjiku. One thing I have learned is to avoid investments tailored for Wanjiku...even in the NSE, the smart money makes the kill and Wanjiku goes home crying foul...almost always. Whenever I hear such investments meant for Wanjiku, I ignore and discourage anyone I know from investing. The best deals are hard to spot, and require effort to discover...there is no free lunch in financial markets.

Mpesa only allows 140K per day in transaction, how will anyone with a million KES be able to invest in this M-Akiibiwa thing?

Mart_Consult
#48 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 5:03:12 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Mpesa only allows 140K per day in transaction, how will anyone with a million KES be able to invest in this M-Akiibiwa thing?

You can buy a max Kshs. 140,000 per day using M-pesa for as long as the bond is open (available for sale)
I went into the (Ferry) industry knowing the same thing I knew with all other businesses I went into- Nothing. Then I built it from there. - Sheldon Adelson (Titans at the Table- Giants of Macau)
#49 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 4:26:15 PM

What is the status of this @Wanjiku milking?
Is it on course to commence on 26th Oct?

Aguytrying
#50 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 8:10:43 PM

I read it was cancelled until interest rates reduce. Ie the curve stops being inverted
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
hisah
#51 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 10:28:22 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

I read it was cancelled until interest rates reduce. Ie the curve stops being inverted

What is that? Until the yield curve reverts to normal?! GoK has already lost the plot. Since when does a debtor call the shots. The amount of cash GoK needs to raise is huge. I don't see how the high rates will reduce any time soon. Anyway this bond would have still flopped. Taking away 3000 from the micro circulation will severely affect money velocity for the kadogo econ. Bad idea in a deflationary environment.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
The optimist
#52 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2015 7:33:44 AM

Aguytrying wrote:

Source please.
jerry
#53 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 9:36:49 AM

The optimist wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Source please.

Is @The Optimist still optimistic@ about getting "the source" of info?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#54 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 10:40:54 AM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Very true. why target the most uninformed lot in the fragment
#55 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 10:51:35 AM

Sober wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Very true. why target the most uninformed lot in the fragment

Wise words; reminds one of the Safaricom debacle. Common investors need a salutory protector.
#56 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 11:02:03 AM

The optimist wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Source please.

I saw guys who reported to CBK to apply were asked to proceed to Nation Centre.

#57 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 12:37:23 PM

The optimist wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Source please.

M-Akiba has been postponed indefinitely.... Too many loop holes i could read. starting with the basic information needed for an investor placing their money in any venture
#58 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 2:37:04 PM

Sober wrote:
The optimist wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Source please.

M-Akiba has been postponed indefinitely.... Too many loop holes i could read. starting with the basic information needed for an investor placing their money in any venture

Anyway it make no sense for @Wanjiku to place her KES. 3,000 locked in for 5 years and earn 15% pa interest...this will not improve he poor life.

#59 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 6:27:02 PM

Clueless government and guys in the treasury, we are messed up as a country really messed up!!
streetwise
#60 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2015 9:55:26 PM

May be these are the same guys who printed money before. Makes it worse that they have no idea how to get out of the current situation