wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

Kenya is doomed with Uhuru,Raila and Mudavadi
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:34:40 AM

Well its just a question, would we be better of had we gotten our independence at the same time as south africa.

Pardon me, but I don't like it when people say South Africa got independent in 1994. It's just not true. SA was not a colony of any other country. It was a white minority ruled country.

The problem with the position that 'indigenous' people have to be in power for the country to be termed as independent is the puzzle that that would make for USA,Canada(has there been a Red Indian President, PM?), Australia, New Zealand etc

Also, how native is native? The Dutch have been in SA since 1652! Africans were still migrating then. The Ngoni just came to TZ in the 19th Century from SA running away from Shaka!

Anyway, hiyo ni mambo ya historia. Yes, mzungu gave us Kenya(or forced us into these borders and told us we are one). He built the state and the economy from scratch and profited from it. Then his time to go had to come, him, his chums, his managers everything. Your parents should not mother you forever!

#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:38:32 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

We do not need this kind of articles in this republic,we either need prayers or whipping for us to change

Kenya got doomed a long time ago, infact we got doomed before we even started out.

If only the mzungu had delayed this indepedence thing by around 14 years, then maybe...
Eitherway nothing has changed, we would have been better of walking around in khaki shorts with an id around our necks, living in concentration camps.

This level of inferiority complex is what makes Africa not to develop.We need to decolonise our minds and liberate our minds.I have interacted with lots of white people and there is definitely nothing special about them.
A case in point is South Africa who got there independence just the other day and the kind of hate between the white man and the black man is out of this world.The level of poverty,corruption and insecurity is insane.
The only solution to african problems is africans themselves.

And the country is hurtling towards self-destruction. Maybe this independence thing isnt worth all the hype?

The problem is not independence but greed by the african leaders.

I mean my point is, the muzungu left and some black men took their places, took over their black servants, took over the land they had stollen, actually went into the houses and neighbourhoods they lived in, and woe to you nywele ngumu if you hapened to stroll around those neighbourhoods uninvited ...

After that they demanded that we call them waheshimiwa, proceeded to loot as much land as they could lay their hands on, continued sending their kids to the colonialist schools, demanded that instead of hanging the id around our necks that we carry it in our pockets everywhere ...

Well its just a question, would we be better of had we gotten our independence at the same time as south africa.

Is SA a better country to live in than Kenya?

never been there myself, but from what I see, most black guys seem interested in heading there, have had some friends who went huko for advanced studies.
They definitely have a bigger economy than Kenya, and seem to have a more advanced industrial sector.

I also understand they have some big slums huko, don't know if the same can be compared to kibera, but I think in terms of more specific opportunities one would be better off in SA than Kenya, of course putting aside the home emotions.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:44:50 AM

Pardon me, but I don't like it when people say South Africa got independent in 1994. It's just not true. SA was not a colony of any other country. It was a white minority ruled country.

The problem with the position that 'indigenous' people have to be in power for the country to be termed as independent is the puzzle that that would make for USA,Canada(has there been a Red Indian President, PM?), Australia, New Zealand etc

Also, how native is native? The Dutch have been in SA since 1652! Africans were still migrating then. The Ngoni just came to TZ in the 19th Century from SA running away from Shaka!

Anyway, hiyo ni mambo ya historia. Yes, mzungu gave us Kenya(or forced us into these borders and told us we are one). He built the state and the economy from scratch and profited from it. Then his time to go had to come, him, his chums, his managers everything. Your parents should not mother you forever!

true but it would be foolish to let your 13 year old kid off on his own, just because he can reproduce does not mean he is mature enough to manage a family, even though he insists that he wants to be on his own - you can build him a simba to give him a false sense of independence. smile

SA was a wrong example I agree, lets look at say falkland, pueto rico, guam, maybe even hongkong
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:57:05 AM

Usistuke ukikutana na mzungu na uone unajua mob kumshinda... (story of my life)...When I was young I always thought these guys were really bright... but nimekuwa nikiReassess my perspective and I started asking myself... if I seem to know more than these people... why the differences? hmm?? It dawned on me that the answer is somewhere else... let me tell you what is wrong with the African culture... WE TALK TOO MUCH AND WORK TOO LITTLE! Granted we know how to talk and have meetings... We also know how to shift blame.... shida ni kazi...kufanya kazi ya kitu moja... we cannot work and just shutup... tunamdomo sana... A pakistani friend of mine came over sometime last year to do some work hapa and she was shocked... lol.... she once exclaimed... WHAT ARE YOU PEOPLE DOING OUTSIDE? there are always people walking around.... she was wondering watu hufanya kazi lini.... Jua ikitokea... tunaanza ziara.... lol! I also noticed something the other day... all those people who have 'made it' i.e. built stuff from ground up are very focused people and sometimes don't talk too much... I think we confuse the work taken to generate ideas and talk about them and the work required to make JUST ONE of those ideas materialise... ideas and talk about ideas is nothing... being eloquent is nothing...... we just don't know how to work on one thing and make it the best it can be.... Iko mwafrika (including me) ambaye hana answer ya 'what plagues Kenya?' Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I think you are looking at the wrong examples when you state we do not work, if you happen to work around industrial area, or the epz zone you would beleive that kenyans work non stop.

But its another case all together when you visit the office block especially ngo's and the other multinationals, which oddly enough happen to be the highest payers.

I don't thnk we have gotten to the level of specialization where, say if you are a gardener you can make a living fixing peoples gardens, or even the more common ones like carpenters - a few can but generally no one is willing to pay for good quality, and so we end up with shoddy jobs everywhere one has to maximize to survive.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 11:02:00 AM

[quote=nakujua]
[quote=Lolest!]
[quote=nakujua]
[quote=Swenani]
read history and you will see how much Africans were dehumanised in their own land. They had no redress.

You are telling this to an individual who might have still been hiding in his father's testicles long after the last white man had left. How would he know?Sad

smile hapo sawa guka, mimi sikuwa - but I beg to indulge your great insight into a historical matter, what is this I hear about homeguards and their sons after independence.

This is one of those cliche issues. We have heard sons of homeguards were hired, the question is, why were they hired?

Answer: Education. Sons of Chiefs and other loyalists were the most educated. It made no sense to leave civil service to the illiterate and semi literate

And then, it was good for the young nation to forgive and forget
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 11:05:00 AM

true but it would be foolish to let your 13 year old kid off on his own, just because he can reproduce does not mean he is mature enough to manage a family, even though he insists that he wants to be on his own - you can build him a simba to give him a false sense of independence. smile

SA was a wrong example I agree, lets look at say falkland, pueto rico, guam, maybe even hongkong

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly nice rejoinder

Kenya was old enough.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 11:07:59 AM

some also lied to us about 'original ideas'.... look at china... it does nothing original (rarely)... copy paste, steal ideas... move forward. Who tells you people are interested in original ideas? We want 'our own car'... we want our own X... who really cares? that is why we are focused on intellectual property.... We don't want to do the work to sell our IP and make it commercially viable. We somehow think once we think of something and create a prototype and can make it registered somewhere - we are set for life.... talk about entitlement. All intellectual talk is always around IP... patents and stuff.... none around doing the work after the patents and IP. We are only entitled to stuff we can defend! somehow we believe ideas are worth something.... ideas SOLD TO PEOPLE AND PEOPLE BUYING THEM ARE WORTH SOMETHING. How many times have you heard the statement "He/She stole my idea?"... the guy who had their idea stolen has not even bent his back to do Sh*t and he accuses someone else who did something with it? Have you noticed people are selling sandwiches and making money.... mbona tuna over reason? We also want someone else to do everything.... (back to talk)... we want someone else (not us) to make us the best in sports... Why don't we have a noble price winner? Why are not the best in X.... we can contribute ideas.... We always think the people who do these things the whole day and have done them for the last X years are clueless... We the people who watch them from i distance know everything (We must have seen it on some episode of some TV series or read it on the internet something those guys who are supposed to do those things didn't read or watch). Why do hospitals have 250 beds? What happens if a plane crashes and more than 250 people are injured? Why are the police not using [INSERT SOME GADGET YOU READ ABOUT] to prevent crime? Sabuni and Sanitary towels ni za nini kwa El Nino? lol... tunaMaswali tunajua kuuliza sana and yet kazi yetu yenyewe hatufanyi the best we can.... By the way if you think this is just a criticism to others and I am somehow immune to this 'talking talking' - you are wrong... This is also a "note to self!"
PeterReborn
#28 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 11:08:18 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

We do not need this kind of articles in this republic,we either need prayers or whipping for us to change

Kenya got doomed a long time ago, infact we got doomed before we even started out.

If only the mzungu had delayed this indepedence thing by around 14 years, then maybe...
Eitherway nothing has changed, we would have been better of walking around in khaki shorts with an id around our necks, living in concentration camps.

This level of inferiority complex is what makes Africa not to develop.We need to decolonise our minds and liberate our minds.I have interacted with lots of white people and there is definitely nothing special about them.
A case in point is South Africa who got there independence just the other day and the kind of hate between the white man and the black man is out of this world.The level of poverty,corruption and insecurity is insane.

And the country is hurtling towards self-destruction. Maybe this independence thing isnt worth all the hype?

I mean my point is, the muzungu left and some black men took their places, took over their black servants, took over the land they had stollen, actually went into the houses and neighbourhoods they lived in, and woe to you nywele ngumu if you hapened to stroll around those neighbourhoods uninvited ...

After that they demanded that we call them waheshimiwa, proceeded to loot as much land as they could lay their hands on, continued sending their kids to the colonialist schools, demanded that instead of hanging the id around our necks that we carry it in our pockets everywhere ...

never been there myself, but from what I see, most black guys seem interested in heading there, have had some friends who went huko for advanced studies.
They definitely have a bigger economy than Kenya, and seem to have a more advanced industrial sector.

I also understand they have some big slums huko, don't know if the same can be compared to kibera, but I think in terms of more specific opportunities one would be better off in SA than Kenya, of course putting aside the home emotions.

I have been there a number of times.They have better infrastructure than kenya but the gap between the rich and poor is very high.Most black south Africans have a lot of bitterness and the country is divided in the middle by race.They also have numerous crimes and the problem there is that a thug must shoot you even if you surrender unless Kenya.Opportunity are there for the locals but now limited to the foreigners.They also hate foreigners as witnessed by the xenophobia the other day.
Consistency is better than intensity
#29 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 11:15:15 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

I have been there a number of times.They have better infrastructure than kenya but the gap between the rich and poor is very high.Most black south Africans have a lot of bitterness and the country is divided in the middle by race.They also have numerous crimes and the problem there is that a thug must shoot you even if you surrender unless Kenya.Opportunity are there for the locals but now limited to the foreigners.They also hate foreigners as witnessed by the xenophobia the other day.

we confuse 'slums' and 'townships'.... SA has huge townships that have some slum looking houses huko ndani but they are not exactly 'large slums'
#30 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 2:43:18 PM

[quote=nakujua]
[quote=Lolest!]
[quote=nakujua]
[quote=Swenani]
read history and you will see how much Africans were dehumanised in their own land. They had no redress.

You are telling this to an individual who might have still been hiding in his father's testicles long after the last white man had left. How would he know?Sad

smile hapo sawa guka, mimi sikuwa - but I beg to indulge your great insight into a historical matter, what is this I hear about homeguards and their sons after independence.

This is one of those cliche issues. We have heard sons of homeguards were hired, the question is, why were they hired?

Answer: Education. Sons of Chiefs and other loyalists were the most educated. It made no sense to leave civil service to the illiterate and semi literate

And then, it was good for the young nation to forgive and forget

hehehe, sawa - kumbe moving on ilianza kitambo