wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

8 Pages«<45678>
Which way 2017?
limanika
#51 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 9:28:46 AM

Thanks Peter let's tell the truth when the king is naked. ION, extending SGR to naivasha will cost over 100b, or 1b per km.and bank Interest rates now hovering circa 30percent
#52 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:23:02 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Liv wrote:
Correct answer is Japan.

Kenya - circa 50%
USA - circa 105%
Japan - recently reported 249%
China - circa 41%

Now you know

@Liv, limanika seems not to know the meaning of external government debt to gdp ratio. Too much ranting over a subject he is incompetent in. ABK!!!!!!

Worse still he's impermeable to instructions.

Debt ratio is nothing it all depends on the ability to repay back that's why banks can lend a person earning 200Kp.m can borrow upto 10times his monthly salary while a person earning 10K will be denied a loan of even 5K.Simply put a person earning 10K is spending most of his money to meet his basic needs as compared to a person who earns 200K who has some money to spend on few luxuries

Ghana had a debt ratio of circa 50% but they are in a mess while Japan with 250%(as pointed out at you) are doing fine.

A person with 5K salary will borrow to pay rent and buy food while a person with 200K will mostly likely borrow to enhance his/her earnings and thats what makes the difference.

In Kenya we are borrowing to pay debts, meet recurrent expenditure commitments which means that the country is unable to generate enough money to meet its basic obligations.How does that grow the economy?

Does US, China, Japan borrow to pay its civil servants?

Whether you like it or not the economy is getting bad and it will be bad next year,look at the following

1.Interest rates
2.FX rate
3.Revenue collections
4.NSE
5.T-Bills

Look at how the GoK is desperate

PeterReborn
#53 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:27:37 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Liv wrote:
Correct answer is Japan.

Kenya - circa 50%
USA - circa 105%
Japan - recently reported 249%
China - circa 41%

Now you know

@Liv, limanika seems not to know the meaning of external government debt to gdp ratio. Too much ranting over a subject he is incompetent in. ABK!!!!!!

Worse still he's impermeable to instructions.

Debt ratio is nothing it all depends on the ability to repay back that's why banks can lend a person earning 200Kp.m can borrow upto 10times his monthly salary while a person earning 10K will be denied a loan of even 5K.Simply put a person earning 10K is spending most of his money to meet his basic needs as compared to a person who earns 200K who has some money to spend on few luxuries

Ghana had a debt ratio of circa 50% but they are in a mess while Japan with 250%(as pointed out at you) are doing fine.

A person with 5K salary will borrow to pay rent and buy food while a person with 200K will mostly likely borrow to enhance his/her earnings and thats what makes the difference.

In Kenya we are borrowing to pay debts, meet recurrent expenditure commitments which means that the country is unable to generate enough money to meet its basic obligations.How does that grow the economy?

Does US, China, Japan borrow to pay its civil servants?

Whether you like it or not the economy is getting bad and it will be bad next year,look at the following

1.Interest rates
2.FX rate
3.Revenue collections
4.NSE
5.T-Bills

Look at how the GoK is desperate

Applause Applause Applause Kumbe saa zingine unatumie the right head?
Consistency is better than intensity
#54 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:30:40 AM

for the sake of sisi, who don't understand much of the gdp stuff.
If borrowing to pay recurrent expenditure is not healthy for the economy, would not borrowing be of any help.

It will mean you lay off workers, close down some institutions to save on say power bills, newspaper bills, tea and mandazi bills - but does'nt that also affect the economy in a negative way, since the milk farmer is not paid, the mandazi lady is not paid, kenya power scales back, those civil servants and their families do not get cash...

I mean what is good at the end of the day, I for sure would rather have a debt and ensure a decent life for my family than live a miserable life without debts.
#55 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:31:45 AM

@team 36, it is never good to get high on your own stuff. That make-believe narrative of progress has been conjured by yourselves for consumption by your core supporters. You know very well it doesn't exist in the real world.

The rest of us ain't buying that crap. May I suggest you don't post anything on this thread until you receive the daily briefing from Itumbi. We shall wait until 2pm as usual.
#56 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:35:39 AM

PeterReborn
#57 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:42:59 AM

for the sake of sisi, who don't understand much of the gdp stuff.
If borrowing to pay recurrent expenditure is not healthy for the economy, would not borrowing be of any help.

It will mean you lay off workers, close down some institutions to save on say power bills, newspaper bills, tea and mandazi bills - but does'nt that also affect the economy in a negative way, since the milk farmer is not paid, the mandazi lady is not paid, kenya power scales back, those civil servants and their families do not get cash...

I mean what is good at the end of the day, I for sure would rather have a debt and ensure a decent life for my family than live a miserable life without debts.

Let me break this down to you.The government have employed drivers some of whom have no vehicles to drive.These drivers just sit around the office as they have nothing to do.These drivers are being paid a salary and they are not contributing to the productivity of the organization.The government needs to do away with these drivers and ensure all the civil servants know how to drive their vehicles.This means we don't have to borrow money to pay this driver who is doing nothing.The money can then be used for development and infrastructural project.There will therefore be an enabling environment for this driver to create a business and be an employer and hence contributing to the economy.
Consistency is better than intensity
#58 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:44:13 AM

Interesting how Kenyans don't seem to be concerned about the massive corruption and wastage of public funds in our counties. Sasa how can we talk of kicking out the Jubilee govt na tumeshindwa na MCA's and Governors.

In 2013/14 the National government disbursed a total of 210b to the 47 Counties, this allocation is equivalent to the total tax revenues that KRA had collected in 2004 to run the whole country.
limanika
#59 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 10:52:26 AM

@ nakujua debt is like fire. Good servant but bad master. You don't borrow to go for expensive holiday trip, rather you can borrow to buy a dairy cow to generate income. Jubilee need to hire someone from outside the box to audit and correct this mess otherwise we'll kick them out of state house before 2017
#60 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 11:28:17 AM

limanika wrote:
@ nakujua debt is like fire. Good servant but bad master. You don't borrow to go for expensive holiday trip, rather you can borrow to buy a dairy cow to generate income. Jubilee need to hire someone from outside the box to audit and correct this mess otherwise we'll kick them out of state house before 2017

They have good advisers. But they are not listening.
I saw Njiraini was summoned by UK to statehouse to explain why they are not collecting enough money/taxes. How about spending the money they already have prudently? They are behaving like teens who spend school fees money on chips and chicken at KFC.
8 Pages«<45678>