wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
ID card number verification
#41 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 1:22:35 PM

haijui number ya Moi or Njonjo, Kibaki e.t.c.
xclucv
#42 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 2:22:59 PM

Bykhovets
#43 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 2:54:06 PM

They better have consent from Immigration to use their Integrated Population Registry System (IPRS) data and sell it openly to the public.

"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#44 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 3:36:17 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
They better have consent from Immigration to use their Integrated Population Registry System (IPRS) data and sell it openly to the public.

who says it's from IPRS? they could have data captured all the books you fill before entering any of the buildings in Nairobi! the critical thing is that they have the data and unless someone can trace it back to the IPRS - they can pretty do what they want with that data coz it's theirs.
subzero
#45 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 9:03:02 PM

@masukuma,
Is the data theirs, simply because they have captured it ?
If anything, if they have captured it from the buildings in town, then they have stolen it and they have it illegally,

I guess i should be able to consent to my details being made public
#46 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 9:50:51 PM

Wakenya hawajajua identity theft
#47 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 9:50:41 AM

subzero wrote:
@masukuma,
Is the data theirs, simply because they have captured it ?
If anything, if they have captured it from the buildings in town, then they have stolen it and they have it illegally,

I guess i should be able to consent to my details being made public

yap!! any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental!
#48 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 11:35:06 AM

By the way is "your" id card number your personal property? Does someone knowing it make it criminal? Coz I know Moi, Njonjo and Kibaki's numbers. At what point does knowing people's id number become criminal? 5! 10 million? I think the issue here is an issue of source. If you can draw a line between the data they have and your data (which you collected/regenerated)- you can cry foul but not without that
#49 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 7:23:04 PM

By the way is "your" id card number your personal property? Does someone knowing it make it criminal? Coz I know Moi, Njonjo and Kibaki's numbers. At what point does knowing people's id number become criminal? 5! 10 million? I think the issue here is an issue of source. If you can draw a line between the data they have and your data (which you collected/regenerated)- you can cry foul but not without that

Give me your ID number uone
PeterReborn
#50 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 11:04:06 AM

Things are getting very thick.I know a number of supermarkets that do data analysis and are able to predict your state-Whether you are pregnant,have small kids etc based on the items you buy and therefore can customise the adverts to the customers based on their state.
Consistency is better than intensity
sitaki.kujulikana
#51 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 11:18:38 AM

PeterReborn wrote:
Things are getting very thick.I know a number of supermarkets that do data analysis and are able to predict your state-Whether you are pregnant,have small kids etc based on the items you buy and therefore can customise the adverts to the customers based on their state.

so where are these adverts placed, I am assuming a supermarket has many different people going in and out
#52 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 11:35:10 AM

Leo kwa people daily zimejaa.... sijui how many pages!
Anti_Burglar
#53 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 12:29:06 PM

The internet will not forget.
PeterReborn
#54 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 12:46:27 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

so where are these adverts placed, I am assuming a supermarket has many different people going in and out

The supermarkets have your mobile numbers so they can send you a tailor made advert to you.For instance if a woman is pregnant then the supermarket can send her adverts about baby cots,baby cloths etc.
Consistency is better than intensity
#55 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 1:20:34 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

I don't want it to forget.... the whole thing about privacy is misplaced! privacy is dead! long live privacy.
sitaki.kujulikana
#56 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 1:29:51 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

The supermarkets have your mobile numbers so they can send you a tailor made advert to you.For instance if a woman is pregnant then the supermarket can send her adverts about baby cots,baby cloths etc.

ok, I was thinking more of floor placed adds, makes sense.
Anti_Burglar
#57 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 2:48:55 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

I don't want it to forget.... the whole thing about privacy is misplaced! privacy is dead! long live privacy.

Plan B. Anonymity! This I will fight for to the bitter end.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 4:32:20 PM

Ben Chege Ngumi...An Investor of the NSE...The last digits of your Bank account end with ...660. Your official PO Box ends with 98. Niendelee ama nisiendelee????
#59 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 4:32:58 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

Plan B. Anonymity! This I will fight for to the bitter end.

I have always felt anonymity has it's context
1) when you are living in a really dictatorial society and you need to 'voice' your opinions
2) when you want to say something really shady but don't want repuccussions of the same to follow you in real life i.e. you want to be a hypocrite!

The 1st one is the only good application of anonymity - the second one can be just cowardly... have you read the youtube comments lately? nasty people... hiding undershadows... that's why there is only one masukuma.... lol!
#60 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 4:41:11 PM

Ben Chege Ngumi...An Investor of the NSE...The last digits of your Bank account end with ...660. Your official PO Box ends with 98. Niendelee ama nisiendelee????

yeah.... there is a thread with my identity and another with my salary on this forum but some of that info. is really old info... I don't use that account and the p.o box ilifungwa.... but even if it was correct - it's still useless information to have. But based on what you have gotten - You just queried the Central Depository System with old info about some stocks I bought along time ago. Anyway.... I was expecting identity theft bwana sio information on who a certain guy is... I know Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi has id no 0000001 and Kibaki has 0000002, Njonjo has 0000003.... e.t.c.