wazua Fri, Nov 1, 2024

9 Pages<12345>»
Experts warn El Nino rains are looming
#41 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 9:55:00 AM

Africans are funny. Some are claiming it's a scam to loot. A sham, a lie. Then wait, no preparation. When they get hit, you will begin to hear serikali saidia niko zaidi as they drown.

Where i live hapa nairobi, the county has done zero work on drainage. Not even removing soil and vegetation clogging the culverts. Also the potholes are becoming bigger each day. You'd expect they would have filled them before the rains so that they do not become dangerous giant craters with the 'el nino'. I also see some tree branches leaning close to power lines. One would expect they would have pruned the trees by now to ensure no power disruptions during the rains.

So basically there is nothing i have seen on the ground showing preparation for el nino. All I see are news reports regarding billions being allocated for el nino and endless interviews on el nino on TV. All talk and no work. Then the funds will be swiftly 'accounted for' after the rains.
#42 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 10:23:59 AM

Na hii el Ninyo inakula delay sana.

Muheani
#43 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 10:54:10 AM

Ni maombi inawork...mahindi zinadry kwanza.
T-Bag
#44 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 1:54:40 PM

Eh Niniyo was just a FORECAST nothin definite....Podelea mbali....hii ilikuwa porojo ya hindanet..
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
subzero
#45 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 4:10:29 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/Poor-drainage-angers-Nairobi-residents-as-rains/-/1107872/2534982/-/e8o7ed/-/index.html

I support @hardwood on this one, because that is exactly what has happened here.
an old photo of this was taken and presented here. check the link.
People will be so eager to say any precipitation is elnino.

have any credible weather forecasters explicitly mentioned east africa as being affected by elnino.

@alma1 , i didn't expect you to fall for that one.
#46 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 5:32:10 PM

Muheani wrote:

Na hii el Ninyo isipokuja then sirkali should kindly return that KES. 5B back to the coffers at Treasury please, we are watching.

#47 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 5:49:28 PM

Muheani wrote:

Na hii el Ninyo isipokuja then sirkali should kindly return that KES. 5B back to the coffers at Treasury please, we are watching.

Wewe kama haujanyeshewa basi hakuna mvua, mvua imenyesha Msa, Garissa etc...if it doesn't rain in Nrb its still ok
sitaki.kujulikana
#48 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 6:47:12 PM

Muheani wrote:

Wewe kama haujanyeshewa basi hakuna mvua, mvua imenyesha Msa, Garissa etc...if it doesn't rain in Nrb its still ok

we want el Ninyo not rain, that's what we were promised.
#49 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 7:09:33 PM

subzero wrote:

have any credible weather forecasters explicitly mentioned east africa as being affected by elnino.

There was a report about 2 weeks ago from experts saying that this el nino will be far less strong than the 98 one

The mets said for El Nino to have strong effects here, it must be accompanied by rise in temps in Indian Ocean. The temps have only risen by half the magnitude they did in 97/98
#50 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 7:34:02 PM

subzero wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/Poor-drainage-angers-Nairobi-residents-as-rains/-/1107872/2534982/-/e8o7ed/-/index.html

I support @hardwood on this one, because that is exactly what has happened here.

Photos NOAA -- Which is not Kenian

More here http://edition.cnn.com/2...15/index.html?sr=cnnitw

What the weather man says is that the precipitation will continue till next year. Yaani mvua itakuwa mingi kiasi. Such that the absorption of the ground will be exhausted and when that happens you expect landslides and flooding. Elnino is not a storm I hope that is not what you are waiting for. If you havent noticed, the rains are here abit early...usually the rains start on the last week of Oct...au sio..
#51 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 10:37:29 PM

#52 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 5:50:54 AM

Kamvua kameanza Nailovi pia.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 12:36:59 PM

Kamvua kameanza Nailovi pia.

Finally, Jubilee hoiyeeee!!!
Applause Applause

#54 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 8:08:46 PM

subzero wrote:

There was a report about 2 weeks ago from experts saying that this el nino will be far less strong than the 98 one

The mets said for El Nino to have strong effects here, it must be accompanied by rise in temps in Indian Ocean. The temps have only risen by half the magnitude they did in 97/98

@Laughing out loudly uno sure na kile unasema?
#55 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2015 8:37:44 PM

subzero wrote:

I'm not in the camp of believing and faith

There is El Nino. Just because Ngwata Francis was wrong about the dates doesn't mean that its not happening.

You can't have prayer meetings for Science.

I've heard and seen all the political bloggers from both camps saying its a fake. So that's when you shall learn that nature is not fake.

It's simple. If its too hot, something must cover the hot.

El Nino is here. Mpende msipende.

Sure, a few drizzles. But one day after sunday church, you shall learn mother nature.

I'm never wrong, have never been wrong on this forum. Just quote a place on this forum I've been wrong.

Jesus and ODM have nothing to do with nature. It's here. Prepare or get another nairobi gafana. I'm saying that like a guy in south c who knows I'm f***ed. Maybe not kesho but by december, I'll be f***ed.

#56 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 8:24:37 AM

subzero wrote:

I'm not in the camp of believing and faith

There is El Nino. Just because Ngwata Francis was wrong about the dates doesn't mean that its not happening.

You can't have prayer meetings for Science.

I've heard and seen all the political bloggers from both camps saying its a fake. So that's when you shall learn that nature is not fake.

It's simple. If its too hot, something must cover the hot.

El Nino is here. Mpende msipende.

Sure, a few drizzles. But one day after sunday church, you shall learn mother nature.

I'm never wrong, have never been wrong on this forum. Just quote a place on this forum I've been wrong.

Jesus and ODM have nothing to do with nature. It's here. Prepare or get another nairobi gafana. I'm saying that like a guy in south c who knows I'm f***ed. Maybe not kesho but by december, I'll be f***ed.

Where is it? The sun is all out
Muheani
#57 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 4:50:32 PM

I can see rain clouds..ziko nyeuuuusi.hapa juu yangu
#58 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 10:25:28 PM

Anxious
#59 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 10:34:59 PM

Anxious

This El nyinyo is a hoax. We will just have normal rains. Remember that South C was flooded last rain season by normal rains. So i dont want them to blame the nyinyo if it floods again this month. This el nyinyo thing is conspiracy to eat govt billions. El nino occurs during the april long rains, not during the oct/nov short rains.
#60 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 10:39:32 PM

Anxious

This El nyinyo is a hoax. We will just have normal rains. Remember that South C was flooded last rain season by normal rains. So i dont want them to blame the nyinyo if it floods again this month. This el nyinyo thing is conspiracy to eat govt billions. El nino occurs during the april long rains, not during the oct/nov short rains.

Wacha ujinga boss ata kama you want to start some conspiracy get sophisticated, this is not just a Kenyan thing uliza Google