wazua Sat, Apr 11, 2026

45 Pages<12345>»
M-Akiba treasury bonds via mobile
#21 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 7:56:33 AM

Desperation for money since CBK is so far behind budget on their borrowing. Wonder what the money will be wasted on?
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 9:10:45 AM

alutacontinua wrote:
CBK this month offered a 1 year treasury bond for Ksh. 30B with the average redemption yield of 19.062%. Uptake of this bond was 88.35% (Ksh. 26.505B)

https://www.centralbank....2028.09.2015updated.pdf

Thinking they will offer a slightly higher yield to attract flows.

Its interesting to note that the next bond auction at CBK will be on 26th October days after the M-Akiba launch.

Is this 5B 26th October bond exclusively for Mpesa peasnts only or I can still access it through my normal way?

kayhara
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 9:31:55 AM

Going by the rate ordinary guys are locking funds in mshwari, then if they learn that they can lock the little money they have in T.B from serikali then CBK will have succeeded, plus if they market them on the many fm stations = success
To Each His Own
bird_man
#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 9:35:27 AM

kayhara wrote:
Going by the rate ordinary guys are locking funds in mshwari, then if they learn that they can lock the little money they have in T.B from serikali then CBK will have succeeded, plus if they market them on the many fm stations = success

The kawaida Wanjiku will want to cash out in 1 or 2 months even when intention was to stay for long.What then?Secondary market at unfavourable rates?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 9:43:06 AM

bird_man wrote:
kayhara wrote:

The kawaida Wanjiku will want to cash out in 1 or 2 months even when intention was to stay for long.What then?Secondary market at unfavourable rates?

Rediscounting...
alutacontinua
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 10:04:09 AM

alutacontinua wrote:
CBK this month offered a 1 year treasury bond for Ksh. 30B with the average redemption yield of 19.062%. Uptake of this bond was 88.35% (Ksh. 26.505B)

Its interesting to note that the next bond auction at CBK will be on 26th October days after the M-Akiba launch.

Is this 5B 26th October bond exclusively for Mpesa peasnts only or I can still access it through my normal way?

@impunity it sounds like this particular infrastructure bond is exclusive to mobile money.

@mlennyma the interest rate for the bond will be released by CBK on 16th of October i believe. (BD indicating it will be close to 13.2%) I expect there to be a flood of adverts in the media.

Going forward it will be interesting to see what other purchase options M-Akiba will have.
You dont have to be great to START but you have to start to be GREAT!!!!!!!!
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 10:14:01 AM

alutacontinua wrote:

@impunity it sounds like this particular infrastructure bond is exclusive to mobile money.

@mlennyma the interest rate for the bond will be released by CBK on 16th of October i believe. (BD indicating it will be close to 13.2%) I expect there to be a flood of adverts in the media.

Going forward it will be interesting to see what other purchase options M-Akiba will have.

13.2% is meager considering that 91 Day T-Bill is expected to rally at 20% by mid October to year end.
Wacha Wanjiku wachinjwe.

watesh
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 10:19:47 AM

hisah wrote:
Tbond IPO... How many wanjikus are informed on tbonds/tbills? This is what will determine if this 'tbond IPO' is a success. This will be an interesting case study.

How much is mpesa bank going to earn apart from mpesa fees? Any transaction fees like banks when they place bond bids on your behalf? When this market gets popular those fees will be a serious cash cow!! At some point mpesa bank will be split from the telco part to aid in better supervision.

With those transaction charges of investing and extra charges when it comes to withdrawing cash at maturity, MEGA CASH COW. A whole extra 5 billion moving through platform away from the normal transactions. (Safaricom never offers services for free when it comes to mpesa ...never!!)
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 10:25:31 AM

I heard the Cs saying they will offer a higher interest than what banks are offering then I concluded they want to take advantage of wanjikus who don't know other better rates in money markets.
bird_man
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 11:02:18 AM

mlennyma wrote:
I heard the Cs saying they will offer a higher interest than what banks are offering then I concluded they want to take advantage of wanjikus who don't know other better rates in money markets.

But surely why start with a 5Yr Bond? I hope that is clear to Wanjikus.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
45 Pages<12345>»