wazua Tue, Apr 30, 2024

10 Pages123>»
Making the Ugali Machine
sitaki.kujulikana
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 3:27:59 PM

should have created an ugali machine

In Africa, we do some things the same way we did them two centuries ago. The lack of continuous change denies us the opportunity to create new jobs. For example, cooking ugali is such an odious job that in rural areas it forces women to inhale all manner of smoke as they sweat through the exercise.

We could do the same for mukimo, mursik, traditional soups, porridge and other Kenyan foods, even nyama choma (although some people oppose this vehemently).

Culture ya kupewa.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 3:39:50 PM

Our friends have done it already for their favourite dish...the chapo!
sitaki.kujulikana
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 4:05:46 PM

sisi all we do is politic, strike and argue on the 4th estate and social media on if or not the government has money.

Any engineer who can tell how complex such would be, especially ya kupika ugali
Anti_Burglar
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 9:16:16 AM

There was a time when Binyavanga Wainaina was speaking when he 'came out'. He was speaking about the same thing - about why we always have to be 'traditional'

Ati why we cannot 'add value' to potatoes and make crisps. As if eating potatoes as crisps is better than eating potatoes as mukimo.

These are the idlers in our midst.

Why want to fix what is not broken? Because Mzungu are doing it?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 10:34:45 AM

this is laughable... but it may work! Who knows? it may work but we can do a sniff test... What problem are you trying to fix? (remember the early bird gets the worm but the second mouse eats the cheese and pioneers are the ones with arrows on their backs) Do people consider what you think is a problem as being a problem? Or do you need to educate them that it's a problem? Do they think its a problem worth automating and paying money for? Considering Ugali is eaten more by poor people than others - do you think poor people are willing to buy this contraption - if you don't you will end up like the 3D visualization guy in this video

remember at the day you need to
1) BUILD A PRODUCT TO FIX A PROBLEM PEOPLE HAVE
2) BUILD A PRODUCT THAT PEOPLE WANT AND ARE WILLING TO PAY MONEY FOR
No one really wants you to succeed - they just want Ugali made... is hiring a mboch to cook Ugali better than Buying the gizmo!

Maybe I am biased... I dislike Ugali! I find it tasteless (I am forced to eat it by the Mrs... happy wife happy life) and I am yet to find someone who discovered ugali in their adult age who thinks it's worth the effort... I equally dislike Matoke and Mokimo but again - that's just me.
majimaji
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 11:17:51 AM

I have a design concept. Take a concrete mixer and scale it down to the size of a sufuria, connect a heating element...
PeterReborn
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 11:25:20 AM

this is laughable... but it may work! Who knows? it may work but we can do a sniff test... What problem are you trying to fix? (remember the early bird gets the worm but the second mouse eats the cheese and pioneers are the ones with arrows on their backs) Do people consider what you think is a problem as being a problem? Or do you need to educate them that it's a problem? Do they think its a problem worth automating and paying money for? Considering Ugali is eaten more by poor people than others - do you think poor people are willing to buy this contraption - if you don't you will end up like the 3D visualization guy in this video

remember at the day you need to
1) BUILD A PRODUCT TO FIX A PROBLEM PEOPLE HAVE
2) BUILD A PRODUCT THAT PEOPLE WANT AND ARE WILLING TO PAY MONEY FOR
No one really wants you to succeed - they just want Ugali made... is hiring a mboch to cook Ugali better than Buying the gizmo!

Maybe I am biased... I dislike Ugali! I find it tasteless (I am forced to eat it by the Mrs... happy wife happy life) and I am yet to find someone who discovered ugali in their adult age who thinks it's worth the effort... I equally dislike Matoke and Mokimo but again - that's just me.

I think you missed the point that Ndemo was delivering.He is talking of having home grown solutions to our local problems.We dont need to wait for Wazungus to come and fix our problems.He is looking at how we can be creative and nurture local talents to provide solutions.Again riding on the same theme that Ngugi wa Thiong'o was talking about on the story of Gachamba and how we as a country have killed creativity and local solutions.

"If we need jobs, we must innovate. We cannot innovate without producing a critical mass of engineers. If there is a problem like the one we are facing with the Engineers Board, we must seek to solve it expeditiously.

We cannot catch up with the rest of the world if we keep frustrating our brightest minds, refusing to register them as engineers while driving on roads built by engineers from China and Turkey whom our Engineers Board has not vetted, in vehicles built by engineers over whose registration our engineers board has no control.

Yet the board-registered engineers have not succeeded in turning Kenya into an industrialised nation. Time has come when the registration board must remove the log that is in its own eye. Parliament needs to urgently look into this law and amend it as it is hindering the training of technical professionals in this country."
Consistency is better than intensity
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 11:45:29 AM

Our focus is not to find jobs for our people... It should be to fix problems and jobs will be a by-product.if people had jobs as their sole goal we would just undo all mechanization. Give people shovels tovbuild roads heck why give them shovels give them spoons to build roads - you will have lifetime employees. What we need to do is focus on our problems... Our REAL problems and not collect a bunch of technology plug them together and ask...what can this be used for? All the nonsense with foods and automation is nonsense.
PeterReborn
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 11:57:03 AM

Our focus is not to find jobs for our people... It should be to fix problems and jobs will be a by-product.if people had jobs as their sole goal we would just undo all mechanization. Give people shovels tovbuild roads heck why give them shovels give them spoons to build roads - you will have lifetime employees. What we need to do is focus on our problems... Our REAL problems and not collect a bunch of technology plug them together and ask...what can this be used for? All the nonsense with foods and automation is nonsense.

True and that is why he is looking at innovation to create solve our problems.Not the kazi kwa vijana nonsense.
"Good policies can create jobs. Take the Constituency Development Fund (CDF), which provides some jobs in every constituency. A slight policy change in the CDF geared towards financing productive value-adding investment could lead to an industrial revolution within our rural communities if executed well.

Such investments could reduce the more than 30 per cent agricultural post-harvest losses and put money into the pockets of rural folk.

The ripple effect from creating jobs in rural areas would be enormous, including the creation of rural town centres, reduced migration to major cities, greater economic productivity and above all the moving of a significant number of people out of poverty."
kollabo
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:00:39 PM

Forget Ugali machine, how about Sukuma Wiki Shredder!
majimaji
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:08:36 PM

Beg to differ on this @masukuma philosophy. sometimes we have to rig up things and then ask;what can this be used for, eg. when LASER was discovered/invented, it had no practical use but today is what we use to transmit data at the speed of light. On the other hand you can have old technology eg the wheel, but it is only recently that we fitted wheels to suitcases, relieving the tired hands of thousands of travellers in airports and bus stations. The problems in africa that require what may looks like simple solutions are many but no one is doing anything about it eg. women are fetching water in jerricans from rivers and wells long distances from their homes, whoever comes up with a women-friendly water jerrican easy to carry, load and clean should get a Nobel prize
PeterReborn
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:08:52 PM

kollabo wrote:

Hio tayari iko.I saw some hawkers selling it in town.I am hoping you were not asking Masukuma?smile
Msa Liti
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:23:17 PM

kollabo wrote:

This one is available.

It is called a chaff cutter!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:26:29 PM

majimaji wrote:

Beg to differ on this @masukuma philosophy. sometimes we have to rig up things and then ask;what can this be used for, eg. when LASER was discovered/invented, it had no practical use but today is what we use to transmit data at the speed of light. On the other hand you can have old technology eg the wheel, but it is only recently that we fitted wheels to suitcases, relieving the tired hands of thousands of travellers in airports and bus stations. The problems in africa that require what may looks like simple solutions are many but no one is doing anything about it eg. women are fetching water in jerricans from rivers and wells long distances from their homes, whoever comes up with a women-friendly water jerrican easy to carry, load and clean should get a Nobel prize

It all looks rosy until you discover the amounts of cash you need to make it work. Huge firms with lots of cash can involve themselves in this kind of expeditions. The digital camera was discovered inside a A faith that cannot survive collision with the truth is not worth many regrets.huge company and took years sorry decades before
PeterReborn
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:39:09 PM

majimaji wrote:

It all looks rosy until you discover the amounts of cash you need to make it work. Huge firms with lots of cash can involve themselves in this kind of expeditions. The digital camera was discovered inside a A faith that cannot survive collision with the truth is not worth many regrets.huge company and took years sorry decades before

But Kenya though a 3rd World country have resources to invest in Research and development.Our universities get billions every year to invest in research but all we see is theories and stories.Our Military with the billions we are giving them should borrow a leaf from the US and Israel Military and invest in research and development.
sitaki.kujulikana
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:40:12 PM

majimaji wrote:

I have a design concept. Take a concrete mixer and scale it down to the size of a sufuria, connect a heating element...

smile no wonder the koroga guys refer to that as jikoni.
sitaki.kujulikana
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 12:49:12 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
There was a time when Binyavanga Wainaina was speaking when he 'came out'. He was speaking about the same thing - about why we always have to be 'traditional'

Ati why we cannot 'add value' to potatoes and make crisps. As if eating potatoes as crisps is better than eating potatoes as mukimo.

These are the idlers in our midst.

Why want to fix what is not broken? Because Mzungu are doing it?

We are not referring to adding value but increasing efficiency.

For example the typical household chores take up a whole day and these are duties that would easily be compressed into a couple of hours.

The reason the ugali example comes up is due to the fact that the same is not a common meal in the west as it is especially in Kenya and thus the lack of ways to make preparing the same more efficient come into question.

Of course there are more examples like why would people especially in rural areas suffer when rivers dry up, while building dams is a technology even beavers have mastered.
sitaki.kujulikana
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 1:09:17 PM

some of the thing we wait for the muzungu (either macho round or macho kidogo) to come and do us are just embarrassing.

When you look at some of the technologies, one is baffled at our level of thinking. Roads were build by the romans huko siku za Jesus, water pumps were first used by the ancestors of akina sadam way before Christopher Columbus (the damn, blasted liar) ancestors even knew how to read and write.

How long has the rail technology been around and we have to bring in foreigners, our kid learn under the sun in the scorching sun and yet building technology has been around for ages.
sitaki.kujulikana
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 1:14:00 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
majimaji wrote:

But Kenya though a 3rd World country have resources to invest in Research and development.Our universities get billions every year to invest in research but all we see is theories and stories.Our Military with the billions we are giving them should borrow a leaf from the US and Israel Military and invest in research and development.

even leaving out the complex solutions, what we need for now are just basic solutions, as someone says hata kupanda nyasi ni shida and we have to wait for fifa to come do it for us.

I don't think building roads, or supplying water, or even power are complex problems.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 1:32:29 PM

I agree with you on this part. Reminds me of the arguments that were there in many organizations back then against them taking up computers since they would lender so many people jobless.