wazua Tue, Sep 24, 2024

Advice on the Mitsubishi Galant Fortis
smiggle
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 12:19:11 PM

Hi,

Thinking about importing a Galant Fortis 08 Super Exceed trim level. I see a couple of these Lancers sold by Simba on the road but not many of the imports. Perhaps its because of the higher duty which makes little sense as it could still land in Mombasa at quite a reasonable price considering FOB is between $3000-5000 for a good one. Your thoughts
mugo2of3
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 2:10:58 PM

Unless you are a stickler for fast cars at the expense of fuel economy, Mitsubishi cars are not advisable even with a 1500cc engines.
The spares are also not that easy to find in the market.
faa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 2:18:25 PM

Stick with the normal premio/Allion.

They are superior in all aspect not unless you are an indian who with a relative at simba colt
smiggle
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 6:49:36 PM

faa wrote:
Stick with the normal premio/Allion.

They are superior in all aspect not unless you are an indian who with a relative at simba colt

Not sure, apart from a slight difference in fuel consumption seeing as it is a 2.0 and the Toyotas generally have 1.8 and below. Mechanics tell me it comes down to maintenance.

Lets remember that things generally changed into the 2008 model year and one cannot compare parts eg for an older Premio/Allion with a post 2008 one. The later are much more expensive(genuine ones). Mitsus have no Taiwan spares.

Made a call to Rising Sun today. Asked how much a headlight for the model would cost (ex Japan) they said 9500 which I think is similar or cheaper than the post 2008 Premio/Allion.

Chaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 10:10:35 AM

Does that Galant have a GDI engine?I read somewhere that fuel quality is v.important for that engine.
@smiggle,

Where does "Rising Sun" operate from?
smiggle
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 9:33:56 PM

Chaka wrote:
Does that Galant have a GDI engine?I read somewhere that fuel quality is v.important for that engine.
@smiggle,

Where does "Rising Sun" operate from?

Its got a MIVEC engine. I read that they dumped GDI's due to fuel compatibility. Mivec is Mitsus version of VVTI.

Rising sun are on Kirinyaga road
wilyum
#7 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2015 10:03:05 AM

brought in one unit this month for a client. hii gari iko sawa, it was 2.0l.
efficienct, comfort and performance
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2015 7:06:11 AM

wilyum wrote:

Love it's looks.....of course it beats Toyota for enthusiasts with taste on comfort and performance. Parts are available esp Rising Sun wako sawa.....industrial area for body parts,direct imports of small parts eg sensors and you're good to go. No fakes no imitations at friendly prices.
josimar
#9 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2015 12:35:53 PM

What was the landing cost for Your unit ? Am thinking of getting a 2009 model to land in Jan 2016.
wilyum
#10 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2015 2:13:41 PM

josimar wrote:

What was the landing cost for Your unit ? Am thinking of getting a 2009 model to land in Jan 2016.

exactly 870k, but you need 130k on top of that if its landing in jan.