29 Pages«<1314151617>»
Govt closses all schools
#141 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:18:44 PM

Matoe wrote:
Just pay them for ONE reason. The courts said so. All those other things like they're paid 7 times than Burundians are a side issue.

Totally agree with the above statement. Pay and then seal all loop holes for corruption and also take a firm stand on the vice in your govt

He should also tell us his salary vis a vis that of other presidents e.g Museveni.He should compare salaries for judges, mpigs, senators, governors, his hangers on like Itumbi with those of other countries.Enough is enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All we heard were the same things Murchr preaches here. Probably a state house hack who writes the speaches.

Listen Mr. President

A Court told you to pay.

You were elected through the same court to ensure that rules of law are followed.

Pay!!!!!!!

Hii ingine of sijui trillion dollars and funny posts on Business daily of increasing VAT ni nyef nyef.

Mr. President, if you can't follow a court order, I have no reason to follow any law in this country.

I respected raila for obeying the court but now he should rethink his decision and save the situation.We cannot accept court verdicts only when they suit us.Let us rethink the issue.
Coolbull
#142 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:34:30 PM

I know I should advise teachers to remain steadfast in agitating for their pay but I might be misleading them to compete with an elephant in a deficating contest.
#143 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:38:10 PM

Matoe wrote:
Just pay them for ONE reason. The courts said so. All those other things like they're paid 7 times than Burundians are a side issue.

Totally agree with the above statement. Pay and then seal all loop holes for corruption and also take a firm stand on the vice in your govt

He should also tell us his salary vis a vis that of other presidents e.g Museveni.He should compare salaries for judges, mpigs, senators, governors, his hangers on like Itumbi with those of other countries.Enough is enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All we heard were the same things Murchr preaches here. Probably a state house hack who writes the speaches.

Listen Mr. President

A Court told you to pay.

You were elected through the same court to ensure that rules of law are followed.

Pay!!!!!!!

Hii ingine of sijui trillion dollars and funny posts on Business daily of increasing VAT ni nyef nyef.

Mr. President, if you can't follow a court order, I have no reason to follow any law in this country.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I really doubt this is the real @Alma. For all his whining, Alma is known for good command of the English language.

That aside no one is focusing on these statements right here
The mandate of the SRC is to set, review and advise on the remuneration of all state and public servants, including teachers and myself, with a view to ensuring that the public wage bill is fiscally sustainable. At the moment, our public wage bill accounts for 52% of revenue.

The global average for middle-income countries like us is about 35%. Further, the public wage bill accounts for more than 10% of our Gross Domestic Product, well above the middle-income country average of about 5%.

All public and state officers, myself included, number 680,000, just about 1.5% of the entire Kenyan population.

It is important to point out that of the KSh 1.1 trillion collected in revenue last year, KSh 568 billion went to pay our wages, meaning that 1.5% of us consumed 52% of our revenues.

The TSC and the SRC took the view that their constitutional mandate had been usurped. They appealed, and they will be heard on Tuesday 22nd September 2015. There has been no final determination of this award.

Contrary to assertions in the public domain, the Supreme Court did not make any determination regarding the award: it decided only that it lacked jurisdiction to hear an application challenging the exercise of discretion by the Court of Appeal.

The claim that the TSC still owes our teachers money under the 1997 agreement is not true. Then, teachers were awarded a pay rise of between 150 and 200%. The award has been settled in full.

A P1 teacher who earned a gross salary of Ksh 7,762 then now earns a minimum of KSh 23,692, while the highest paid teacher who took home KSh 35,886 then now earns a minimum of KSh 140,089.

In any case, 55% (approx. 168,000) of all teachers employed by the TSC are in job groups J to N, earning between Ksh 35,000 and Ksh 75,000 a month. This is significantly higher than their counterparts in the private sector. Ironically, private schools often perform better than their public counterparts.

The claim that Kenyan teachers are paid less than their colleagues in the region is also not true. The lowest-paid teacher in Kenya earns seven times as much as his counterpart in Burundi.

The lowest paid teacher in Uganda earns the equivalent of KSh. 7,600; the lowest paid in Tanzania KSh. 15,800, compared to the lowest-paid Kenyan teacher who takes home over Ksh. 23,000. Indeed, Kenya’s teachers are the third-highest paid on the continent, after Morocco and South Africa both of whose economies are larger ours.

Those statements should be the focus of the argument but mediocrity in Kenya is at an all time high.

sitaki.kujulikana
#144 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:41:32 PM

Matoe wrote:

even if all loopholes for corruption are sealed it does not mean the cash will be available for teachers, the cash stolen is usually already allocated.
The corruption argument does not hold, I don't know why its being thrown around.

Whether corruption stops the wage bill will still be high.
#145 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:48:45 PM

2pm gang on the offensive hereLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Meanwhile our children to stay at home as the rest of the world moves on.
#146 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:54:42 PM

2pm gang on the offensive hereLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Meanwhile our children to stay at home as the rest of the world moves on.

Otoyo team were on the offensive earlier on Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Great debate we are having here, don't you think? Mind stimulating I must say!

Oh and the World will always move on regardless of what Kenyans do or don't.

#147 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 11:01:17 PM

Enyewe we are a poor corrupt 3rd world country! 1.5% of our population is digesting 52% of our revenues in wages alone? Wah! the rest has to be spread around for everything else including tenderpresureship? We have big problems!!
#148 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 11:11:56 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

even if all loopholes for corruption are sealed it does not mean the cash will be available for teachers, the cash stolen is usually already allocated.
The corruption argument does not hold, I don't know why its being thrown around.

Tikisa kichwa kitoko

Sema. Wajuguna. Nakuona. Even mawinder cant stand the fierce battle. The only man standing is alma reincarnate
#149 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 11:13:13 PM

The gov't with all their clothes from TSC to SRC should have argued your case in court.

There is only ONE issue here

Will Uhuru Kenyatta follow a court order or not?

Jibu swali.

Don't try holding press conferences to make emotional statements sijui ooh can't pay won't pay....Oh Kenyans let's be patriotic.

Will Uhuru Kenyatta follow a COURT ORDER or NOT?

Hii mambo yenu of sijui Uganda sijui Tanzania is null and void but your voting block is too stupid to understand.

You are pegging your political career on some fellows who believe that Mugo Wa Wairimu is innocent since the women can't be wet when sedated and Citizen hates Uhuru.

Now now. Apana...Nimekataa.

This is a serious issue. Even Moi said this is the wrong approach to a national issue.

Sio kupayuka hashtag kila saa.

Ohhh muthamaki, ohhhh Raira, ooohhh Ruto 2022.

The issue is simple

I have kids going to private schools. Your so called Doctor in education somehow decided that my kids are part of your contract.

But the thing I want to know from njumbiree is this.

Is Uhuru Kenyatta above the law?
Can he decide not to follow a court order?

Simple questions. I expect simple answers since I'm just a simple tax payer.

#150 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 11:33:02 PM

May God help the candidates esp in public schools.

29 Pages«<1314151617>»