Nakumatt to buy Woolmatt
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:21:25 AM

Interesting thread
Zakumi
#22 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:45:57 AM

at this rate i'm just hoping that walmart does not also trace its roots from matresses or Nakuru for that matter.
The Strong Do What They Want,The Weak Do What They Must!
akowally
#23 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 12:54:03 PM

@ zakumi

ati Walmart

Maybe imetoka Nax (Nakuru) ya US

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Zakumi
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2010 6:09:09 PM

@akowally,hehe! Maybe nashville.

@VVS,by the way what is the source of ur info on that latema road site,coz ive noticed the renovations behind those brown garney bags sio mchezo.if its true then i think their precence in the cbd wil be pervasive..imagine all the walmarts oh! sorry woolmatts plus this site! It surely wil be game over for the other competitors.
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2010 6:42:49 PM

I am surprised some jamaa has not started a Wal-matt in Kenya!

Wal(ton) Mart = Walmart & the HQ is Bentonville, Arkansas

Lakini... someone needs to check if Sam Walton has roots/ancestor from Nakuru!!!

@zakumi - Those renovations have been going on for a while... Odeon Cinema I think...
Zakumi
#26 Posted : Saturday, March 06, 2010 9:47:55 AM

Its seems the Nakumatt take-over of Woolmart is nigh.The woolmart chains have been closed for what is believed to be stock taking in readiness for the complete buy-out.

As the battle for Supermarket chains in the CBD shapes up,the next frontier is set to be Upper Hill with Tusky's in the process of securing a location in one of the Commercial buildings in Upperhill.
centerbolt
#27 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 11:09:54 AM

woolmatt city hall is now nakumatt city hall...25% discount on anything and everything..I only hope they will not come with highly inflated items like many of their branches....otherwise its a welcomed move for nakumatt Applause
#28 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 11:45:58 AM

A Tuskys or any other supermarket in Upperhill would be a great sell, I'm sure most guys working there who drive would prefer to shop there before going home.
Layman
#29 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 1:54:10 PM

Wooiiiii, the number of people I have met trying to buy the discounted clearance at the former woolmatt was just overwhelming, the queues outside are just too long plus the inside of the shop is packed to capacity. kenyans love "cheap" things. I only hope the prices were not inflated so that the 25% discounts brings the price back to where it was, the trick adopted by Bata Shoes.
www.eastafricanized.com
#30 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 2:03:43 PM

It sure is an interesting turn of events in the retail arena. Uchumi gets out of receivership and Nakumatt is bouncing back, while Tuskys is on a major expansion plan. Naivas and chandaria are also trying to flex what they've got. Looking at most of their websites they have been attempting to sell online. i wonder how they are fairing. Is online shopping the next frontier? click this link and give your comment/complaint Pray
ruby
#31 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 9:51:22 AM

The 25% sale going on is not on inflated prices.Most shelves are empty, The electronics were all bought on day one and most people were buying to sell. The employees are already in Nakumatt uniform.
centerbolt
#32 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 10:48:27 AM

next sale .....the one near afya center, is it called development house.....hii wednesday! tupatane
#33 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 11:05:44 AM

@Layman; don't you remember the "Everything at 200bob - no pushing, no biting..." promotion at Village market a few years ago?

Nakumatt does not get involved in fictitious sales. They have a reputation to protect! Indeed; none of the major supermarkets will do that sort of thing. That habit is left to "jua-kali" fellows in the village and estates
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 1:03:20 PM

Even today there were long queues out side the woolmat as early as 7.00am.

BTW why is it that these big supermarkets dont allow their employees to be unionised including even Walmat.