wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

IRB 7s Adelaide
#1 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 6:18:11 AM

I'm with you on this one @bkismat. So will we make it past the semis this time?

bkismat wrote:
The mboys are off to Adelaide Australia. Hope they trained their asses off.Wish them the best of luck

Excerpt:
Kenya coach Benjamin Ayimba has named a strong and experienced squad of 13 players for the two upcoming legs of the IRB Sevens World Series, in Adelaide and Hong Kong on 19-21 and 26-28 March.

http://www.irb.com/irbsevens/edition=9/index.html
#2 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 11:52:09 AM

...I can't wait the day we will win one of these fixtures. I think I will gulp down all my EABL shares...
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 13, 2010 6:59:29 AM

what i don't understand is how the marketing mandarins at EABL let the Safari Sevens slip out of their fingers. I mean the sevens team is Kenya's most successful team sport. the team will be at the 2016 rio games and may even win an olympic gold medal. and unlike our world beating long distance runners, the guys can actually interact well with the world media. the runners usually have a stock answer."i trained hard and hard and god helped me.
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 13, 2010 7:23:02 AM

B...
I always see Tusker on the screen. Who are they sponsoring?
...and again, once EABL gets people hooked on the stuff, do they have to waste money on advrets. They only do so when they start seeing sales coming down...
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 13, 2010 8:37:05 AM

Bkismat....The Sevens team are without doubt the most successful team in Kenya but locally the sport is not as popular compared to Football or perhaps athletics. EABL biggest consumers are in Kenya and not somewhere in Adelaide or Hong kong The Safari Sevens tournament needs fresh ideas to make it more relevant to the audience. Instead of inviting small teams to the tournament they should be thinking of how Kenya (as hosts) can be included in the IRB series.

However, the Kenya Airways sponsorship makes alot of sense because it flies to most of the destinations in the Sevens calendar. That was a good business decision.
#6 Posted : Sunday, March 14, 2010 8:04:01 AM

@Taz,
What would it take to bring IRB to Kasarani?.
#7 Posted : Sunday, March 14, 2010 9:45:48 AM

Kenya 7 - Samoa 19.
Kenya 17 - Scotland 0.
Kenya 33 - Chile 7.

1/4 Cup.
Kenya 26 - England 21.

Lost in the semis of the cup to New Zealand 7-21.
#8 Posted : Sunday, March 14, 2010 11:22:04 AM

@njunge, those numbers look suspicously similar to the Las Vegas ones on Valentines Day. Adelaide will be on 19th, next weekend. Kwani hiyo DSTV yako bado unalipa the old rates ndiyo inakushow delayed broadcast??
JkMwatha
#9 Posted : Sunday, March 14, 2010 2:02:11 PM

njunge ????

@GG - delayed broadcast ...LOL.
#10 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 10:23:46 AM

Adelaide is where Kenya seven reached it 1st ever IRB finals, and it was an all-african finals, I luved it!!!!

I hope we better our performance this time round and lift the cup!!!!
#11 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 10:25:59 AM

Friday kwa mtungi and Saturday as well..!!....I think i need formatting!!
Kausha
#12 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 11:25:09 AM

@Njung'e
Finya fwd>> ama play> kwa hiyo remote! I bet it's on rewind!

@Taz
Are u an employee of EABL? or a friend of an EABL marketing employee. I find most marketers in kenya (and no offence) behaving like a board of directors when it comes to sporting events. They want you to bring the problem, solution, plan etc. Their work is to fund it and get immediate sales off it, yet ironically they will get into first world concepts like reality shows (TPF) and fashion show sponsorships which are quite elite and dislocated from the rest of the town. Problem is our market is not that advanced and so expecting a bunch of part timers (KRFU) to come up with grandiose marketing schemes like TPF will take long and when they do come, they will be expensive. The solution is EABL should have dirtied their hands and created greater marketing opportunities for themselves off safari sevens and off the shujaa team but they didn't, I don't mind helping them. We all saw what virgin did from their sponsorship of 13m. Safaricom will even do greater things, you can bet on MJ. From day one, tournament already changes name to Safaricom 7's, don't be surprised to see vodafone boards adorning the side pitch hapa na pale. KQ are slowly learning and cleverly pushing their brand locally and internationally using Shujaa. Bamburi have been extremely smart pushing bamburi locally and lafarge internationally through super sport coverage. We have seen Supersport dirty their hands covering kenyan soccer everywhere inlcuding ongwaro and naivasha. Kenyan club soccer has the lowest stadium attendance in east and central africa. But these kaburus are not foolish when they start reaping the fruits you will skia the usual hue and cry from marketers. Sometimes i can't help but think the disconnect between sport and corporate sponshorship has a lot to do with too many of our sisters in decision making roles in marketing departments of corporates, even when they do sponsor, their press communication sounds unconvincing and borders on corporate drivel. We can't blame them sports is positioned as a male dormain in most of our families. I am sure sfaricom sponsorship was an MJ call 100%.

EABL want a full stadium the size of kasarani with everyone getting high on tusker, which to me is not marketing but sales. This is what pre-occupies EABL and has lost them such gem opportunities. Safari sevens still remains a beer company's dream marketing opportunity, there may be on average 10K guys in each of the two days, but bear in mind they are there for more than 5 hours and for two days partying. Look at soccer which EABL likes to comfort/deride themselves with, ignore the english premier league, our games last 2-3 hrs, the spend on beer is very low, FIFA banned alcohol in stadiums. The pub crowd will always be there and you can't tweak their decisions much at that point, they are already in the bar.

Taz I also find the argument of EABL market being only Kenya very inward looking and a horse in blinkers view of things. Nothing stops EABL from selling outside Kenya where Diageo is not selling, EABL claims to sell in UK and US, what better and cost effective way than to position the brand in those markets than using the IRB circuit or sports, it's relatively cheap compared to sticking logos on DSTV and running old black american ads in between the games. I remember when EABL sponsored the sevens team, none of the marketing folk ever bothered to go and see a tournament outside kenya. We all know they come to safari sevens for showbiz at the hopitality tents. When virgin first sponsored the team the Commercial director and austalasia regional honcho flew into dubai for the first leg of the series. I am told their marketing guys including Branson closely followed the team for the rest of the legs.

Sample this Dubai consumes at least two times beer consumption of nairobi (nai popn, 4m, dubai 4m) largely due to the high disposable income and profile of residents-3m is expatriates. There is no brewery there and the key brands are Heineken, Forsters, Windhoek and Millers. From my limited geography, Ruaraka brewery is only 5 hours away from dubai by flight, it surely must take shorter time to ferry Tusker there than to ferry Windhoek, incidentaly Tusker was also a better beer than all these a while ago, can't vouch for their quality nowadays? but how will they discover these markets if the marketers in EABL confine their thoughts to Nairobi, Safari sevens and DSTV viewership in kenya. Safari sevens is the premier 7's tournament in Africa, the audience and in turn market should be measured using the people accessing DSTV globally when the tournament is on at the very least not the numbers entering RFUEA gates and beer sales at the village and stands.

PS. It's almost impossible to hold an IRB circuit leg in nairobi due to altitude. We would have to go to Msa which is zero alt or dala- which is not very high. I reckon MSA would be ideal coz of hotels and party atmosphere, lakini wapi uwanja....
#13 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 11:50:54 AM

@Kausha,
I guess that's what they call going back in time.....BTW,what is the title of your essay aboveBrick wall ??...lol.
#14 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 12:25:56 PM

Applause Applause Tell em Kausha
DonBen
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:57:22 AM

Kenya kick off their campaign for the Adelaide Sevens, the fifth round of the 2009/2010 IRB Sevens World Series with a match against Papua New Guinea on Friday 19th March 2010. This match kicks off at 11.36am Kenya Time. Their next matches are against Wales at 7.51am and Fiji at 11.56am on Saturday 20th March 2010.

The full order of play appears below with timings converted to Kenyan time..

Day One Fixtures
1 19-03-2010 10:30 SAMOA 0 - 0 FRANCE Pool B
2 19-03-2010 10:52 SOUTH AFRICA 0 - 0 JAPAN Pool B
3 19-03-2010 11:14 FIJI 0 - 0 WALES Pool C
4 19-03-2010 11:36 KENYA 0 - 0 PAPUA NEW GUINEA Pool C
5 19-03-2010 11:58 NEW ZEALAND 0 - 0 SCOTLAND Pool A
6 19-03-2010 12:20 ARGENTINA 0 - 0 TONGA Pool A
7 19-03-2010 12:42 ENGLAND 0 - 0 UNITED STATES Pool D
8 19-03-2010 13:04 AUSTRALIA 0 - 0 NIUE Pool D

Day Two Fixtures
9 20-03-2010 06:45 SAMOA 0 - 0 JAPAN Pool B
10 20-03-2010 07:07 SOUTH AFRICA 0 - 0 FRANCE Pool B
11 20-03-2010 07:29 FIJI 0 - 0 PAPUA NEW GUINEA Pool C
12 20-03-2010 07:51 KENYA 0 - 0 WALES Pool C
13 20-03-2010 08:13 NEW ZEALAND 0 - 0 TONGA Pool A
14 20-03-2010 08:35 ARGENTINA 0 - 0 SCOTLAND Pool A
15 20-03-2010 08:57 ENGLAND 0 - 0 NIUE Pool D
16 20-03-2010 09:19 AUSTRALIA 0 - 0 UNITED STATES Pool D
17 20-03-2010 09:56 FRANCE 0 - 0 JAPAN Pool B
18 20-03-2010 10:18 WALES 0 - 0 PAPUA NEW GUINEA Pool C
19 20-03-2010 10:40 SCOTLAND 0 - 0 TONGA Pool A
20 20-03-2010 11:02 UNITED STATES 0 - 0 NIUE Pool D
21 20-03-2010 11:34 SAMOA 0 - 0 SOUTH AFRICA Pool B
22 20-03-2010 11:56 FIJI 0 - 0 KENYA Pool C
23 20-03-2010 12:18 NEW ZEALAND 0 - 0 ARGENTINA Pool A
24 20-03-2010 12:40 ENGLAND 0 - 0 AUSTRALIA Pool D

Day Three Fixtures
25 21-03-2010 03:08 3rd Pool A 0 - 0 4th Pool B 1/4 final Bowl
26 21-03-2010 03:30 3rd Pool D 0 - 0 4th Pool C 1/4 final Bowl
27 21-03-2010 03:52 3rd Pool C 0 - 0 4th Pool D 1/4 final Bowl
28 21-03-2010 04:14 3rd Pool B 0 - 0 4th Pool A 1/4 final Bowl
29 21-03-2010 04:36 1st Pool A 0 - 0 2nd Pool B 1/4 final Cup
30 21-03-2010 04:58 1st Pool D 0 - 0 2nd Pool C 1/4 final Cup
31 21-03-2010 05:20 1st Pool C 0 - 0 2nd Pool D 1/4 final Cup
32 21-03-2010 05:42 1st Pool B 0 - 0 2nd Pool A 1/4 final Cup
33 21-03-2010 06:14 Loser Game 25 0 - 0 Loser Game 26 SF Shield
34 21-03-2010 06:36 Loser Game 27 0 - 0 Loser Game 28 SF Shield
35 21-03-2010 06:58 Winner Game 25 0 - 0 Winner Game 26 SF Bowl
36 21-03-2010 07:20 Winner Game 27 0 - 0 Winner Game 28 SF Bowl
37 21-03-2010 07:42 Loser Game 29 0 - 0 Loser Game 30 SF Plate
38 21-03-2010 08:04 Loser Game 31 0 - 0 Loser Game 32 SF Plate
39 21-03-2010 08:26 Winner Game 29 0 - 0 Winner Game 30 SF Cup
40 21-03-2010 08:58 Winner Game 31 0 - 0 Winner Game 32 SF Cup
41 21-03-2010 09:20 Winner Game 33 0 - 0 Winner Game 34 Final Shield
42 21-03-2010 09:50 Winner Game 35 0 - 0 Winner Game 36 Final Bowl
43 21-03-2010 10:20 Winner Game 37 0 - 0 Winner Game 38 Final Plate
44 21-03-2010 10:50 Winner Game 39 0 - 0 Winner Game 40 Final Cup
#16 Posted : Friday, March 19, 2010 9:25:34 AM

Latest Results
Samoa 33 France 12

SA 40 Japan 0
Fiji 12 Wales 17

Kenya is up next.
DonBen
#17 Posted : Friday, March 19, 2010 9:40:05 AM

Pool C has been thrown wide open. FIJI just got beaten by Wales.

This is a chance for Kenya to top this pool if they can win all their games!
DonBen
#18 Posted : Friday, March 19, 2010 9:59:51 AM

KENYA 27 - 7 PAPUA NEW GUINEA

Perfect start, nice warm-up
DonBen
#19 Posted : Friday, March 19, 2010 10:16:09 AM

OK, with reliable internet connection you can follow the games live via the web at this link.

http://www.justin.tv/motorfc#r=cZcKe4A~&s=li
DonBen
#20 Posted : Friday, March 19, 2010 10:29:25 AM

Kenya's Shujaa next match will against Wales (who just caused the biggest upset of the games by beating Fiji) at 07:51am Kenya time on tomorrow (Saturday) 20th March.

Shujaa then face wounded Fiji at 11:56am the same morning in what should be a fierce encounter.

Congratulations to Innocent "NAMCOS" Simiyu for reaching a career high 50 tries in the IRB Series.