Serve and Suffer!!!
#111 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 6:45:29 PM

I am sure there is a difference between the police force and the military.

Since when did policing turn into defending against militants, why have a police station kwa forest - what are they supposed to do shout you are under arrest and proceed to hand cuff the militants.

One joins kiganjo to be a police officer not a make shift military guy.

Sasa wewe ndio umechanganyikiwa. Kazi ya polici ni ku defend mwananchi against any threat, iwe mwizi wa ngombe ama shabab in the country. Ya army ni kulinda nchi against external threats until they are authorized to do otherwise by the commander in chief and national assembly

Al Shabaab are as an external threat as they come!!! Armed militia trained in military warfare, armed to the teeth with guns, grenades, IEDs etc., holed inside our country and engaging in guerilla warfare!!!

both you guys are right in some sense... AlshaShutup is technically a 'non-nation/state actor'.

Non-nation/state actor but these guys are Kenyan aren't they?

I thought they shot some muzungu huko - lakini hata a muzungu can be a Kenyan, still a non-nation/state needs some nationals to make up its populace.
PeterReborn
#112 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 6:46:09 PM

I am sure there is a difference between the police force and the military.

Since when did policing turn into defending against militants, why have a police station kwa forest - what are they supposed to do shout you are under arrest and proceed to hand cuff the militants.

One joins kiganjo to be a police officer not a make shift military guy.

Sasa wewe ndio umechanganyikiwa. Kazi ya polici ni ku defend mwananchi against any threat, iwe mwizi wa ngombe ama shabab in the country. Ya army ni kulinda nchi against external threats until they are authorized to do otherwise by the commander in chief and national assembly

Al Shabaab are as an external threat as they come!!! Armed militia trained in military warfare, armed to the teeth with guns, grenades, IEDs etc., holed inside our country and engaging in guerilla warfare!!!

both you guys are right in some sense... AlshaShutup is technically a 'non-nation/state actor'.

They may not be alkabab. Bandits have been roaming that area for ages. Also alkabab do not attack local muslim villagers. These should be bandits. The police station is 100km inside kenya.

smile so the cops huko just deal with bandits, I wonder how they differentiate between the perennial roaming bandits from the others

smile smile
Consistency is better than intensity
#113 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 6:57:16 PM

Ati the police should walk for 2 kilometres to go fetch water in the same water hole the Al Shabaab are fetching theirs because they are trained! Nonsense!!!

Laughing out loudly they should plant white flags hapo - that's a common resource they both need for survival.

#114 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:01:49 PM

"That is what they signed for" is such a tired line. "They are trained to work in hardship areas bla bla bla.". That is like driving your car totally drunk and with no headlights and when you are asked you say "That is why I 'signed for' the insurance".

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly hizi expample zako zina bamba.
Lakini ni ukweli, plus police are not trained nor meant to hold or set up combat positions for long periods - thats for the army and even the latter need to be well equipped especially communications wise and stable supply lines.
#115 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:02:41 PM

"That is what they signed for" is such a tired line. "They are trained to work in hardship areas bla bla bla.". That is like driving your car totally drunk and with no headlights and when you are asked you say "That is why I 'signed for' the insurance".

The training is done so that in the unlikely/unfortunate event, circumstances force you to be in such an environment (like you are ambushed and get separated from your team) you can survive till help arrives. It is not the work of the government to artificially make conditions as bad as possible because "you were trained". This is not a joke, training or attachment. These people are fighting armed militia. You have to do as much as possible to make sure they have as much advantage over the enemy as possible. Ati the police should walk for 2 kilometres to go fetch water in the same water hole the Al Shabaab are fetching theirs because they are trained! Nonsense!!!

In countries like the US and Israel (which of course we are thousands of years behind because of the mediocrity of the people we put in sensitive jobs), the police, armed forces etc. are trained far much better than their Kenyan counterparts - there is even no comparison. BUT the governments don't stop there, these officers are given unparalleled support - logistics, equipment etc.

I remember the officers who trekked for kilometres looking for cattle rustlers. Tired and hungry, they were ambushed! Most were killed but some survived. They radioed for help. None arrived! The bandits left came back the next day - never mind the officer had radioed for help the previous day - and killed some more!!! Some of the injured were eaten by hyenas while still alive up to three days later. Is this the kind of bullshit people are saying "They were trained", "They signed for it" bla bla bla????

unfortunately... it's what they signed up for! they knew the conditions of the force/service they were going to serve in so... peleka pressure Ronda! Quick question... hiyo River iko nchi gani? mbona Al KaFakap hawaogopi ati wana kunywa maji place moja na makarao? Anyway... pelekeni pressure kwingine... we started by reminding you that you live in a poor, corrupt 3rd world country so wacheni kutusumbua na examples za US sijui Israel! it's unfortunate but they did sign up for it....so usijali tutakukumbusha that 'it's what they signed up for' - ukisikia inakukasirisha.... utapona tu! usipopona utazoea!
#116 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:04:34 PM

Ati the police should walk for 2 kilometres to go fetch water in the same water hole the Al Shabaab are fetching theirs because they are trained! Nonsense!!!

Laughing out loudly they should plant white flags hapo - that's a common resource they both need for survival.

If a trained officer armed to the teeth is afraid to walk the whole length and breadth of kenya, then kuna shida. They should try rainwater harvesting. I saw a huge 10,000l plastic water tank next to that land cruiser. The place is very green and looks like it receives alot of rain being part of the coastal strip.

PeterReborn
#117 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:07:59 PM

The training is done so that in the unlikely/unfortunate event, circumstances force you to be in such an environment (like you are ambushed and get separated from your team) you can survive till help arrives. It is not the work of the government to artificially make conditions as bad as possible because "you were trained". This is not a joke, training or attachment. These people are fighting armed militia. You have to do as much as possible to make sure they have as much advantage over the enemy as possible. Ati the police should walk for 2 kilometres to go fetch water in the same water hole the Al Shabaab are fetching theirs because they are trained! Nonsense!!!

In countries like the US and Israel (which of course we are thousands of years behind because of the mediocrity of the people we put in sensitive jobs), the police, armed forces etc. are trained far much better than their Kenyan counterparts - there is even no comparison. BUT the governments don't stop there, these officers are given unparalleled support - logistics, equipment etc.

I remember the officers who trekked for kilometres looking for cattle rustlers. Tired and hungry, they were ambushed! Most were killed but some survived. They radioed for help. None arrived! The bandits left came back the next day - never mind the officer had radioed for help the previous day - and killed some more!!! Some of the injured were eaten by hyenas while still alive up to three days later. Is this the kind of bullshit people are saying "They were trained", "They signed for it" bla bla bla????

unfortunately... it's what they signed up for! they knew the conditions of the force/service they were going to serve in so... peleka pressure Ronda! Quick question... hiyo River iko nchi gani? mbona Al KaFakap hawaogopi ati wana kunywa maji place moja na makarao? Anyway... pelekeni pressure kwingine... we started by reminding you that you live in a poor, corrupt 3rd world country so wacheni kutusumbua na examples za US sijui Israel! it's unfortunate but they did sign up for it....so usijali tutakukumbusha that 'it's what they signed up for' - ukisikia inakukasirisha.... utapona tu! usipopona utazoea!

Hata wewe usitusumbue.Peleka upuzi huko!!Shame on you Shame on you
Consistency is better than intensity
#118 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:55:32 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Hata wewe usitusumbue.Peleka upuzi huko!!Shame on you Shame on you

ukweli wauma! karibu Kenya! I am right today... I will be right mbaka Next year... nyinyi endeleni kupiga kelele tu!
#119 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 8:26:58 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
They have complained about everything the govt has given them, housing, the vehicle, communication equipment, even blaming govt for their slow speed using the type writer, the poor safaricom mobile network etc etc. If any equipment develops a problem they should be pushing for it to be fixed (equipment sometimes fails even here in nairobi), not calling the press and sensationalizing the whole issue to seem like the govt has abandoned them.

I think the problem with them is that they are suffering from stress for serving in what has turned into the new warfront, especially now that the place used to be safe.

You cannot continue servicing dilapidated equipment.That is why there is a process called writing off equipment.Why the hell are they still using typewriters in this day and age?Where do all the billions that are allocated to the security docket go to?
Boinett launched a project to paint all the police stations.Is painting the stations more important than fixing this?

So instead of type writers you want them to be given iMacs and be connected to fibre to prepare & send their reports to hq? In a place without power?
#120 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 8:48:00 PM

My biggest concern is that the LAPSSET project will traverse this area from the lamu port. Also lots of the project workers and investors will be moving between garsen, witu, mpeketoni, mokowe and lamu island. The area needs serious policing. I was in lamu island 10yrs ago and even then residents were complaining about insecurity (majangili) between garsen and mokowe. There used to be police escorts between the two towns.
14 Pages«<1011121314>