wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Airtel might exit Kenya due to Safaricom dominance
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:02:14 PM

watesh wrote:
Hahaha what Airtel wants is for CA to tell Safaricom to share a portion of its subscribers and prevent it from registering new ones. Safaricom is a brand trusted so much and people just keep going to it since for majority of the people their safaricom phone number is part of their identity just like the identity card....

Trusted according to you, I don't trust safaricom at all!
#22 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:03:57 PM

Horton wrote:
Instead of threats and complaints, airtel should up its game and improve its crappy network

That's wassup; but safaricom outside of cbd is shitty too. Very shitty.
enyands
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:36:48 PM

kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:
Hahaha what Airtel wants is for CA to tell Safaricom to share a portion of its subscribers and prevent it from registering new ones. Safaricom is a brand trusted so much and people just keep going to it since for majority of the people their safaricom phone number is part of their identity just like the identity card....

Airtel should stop being whinning babies . Simple ideas will make this company grow.
Perfect on the weaknesses of safaricom .

a) Make calls far much cheaper .

b) Make money transfers cheaper or even free from airtel to airtel apart from govt taxes.

c) After all this has been laid down do aggressive marketing .

d) Then take a couple of hundreds MPs and lobby them in form of awarding them shares for them to pass legislation to allow anyone to keep their numbers as they switch from one company to another .

e) Finally list in NSE and wait for money to roll in.
That's what T-Mobile did exactly once an underdog but now one of the more dominant in usa market . Starategy helps but whinning destroys and makes you weak .
shocks
#24 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:54:55 PM

enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

Airtel should stop being whinning babies . Simple ideas will make this company grow.

b) Make money transfers cheaper or even free from airtel to airtel apart from govt taxes.

d) Then take a couple of hundreds MPs and lobby them in form of awarding them shares for them to pass legislation to allow anyone to keep their numbers as they switch from one company to another .

That's what T-Mobile did exactly once an underdog but now one of the more dominant in usa market . Starategy helps but whinning destroys and makes you weak .

d is already in, umesahau porting access
enyands
#25 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:44:25 PM

shocks wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
[quote=watesh]Hahaha what Airtel wants is for CA to tell Safaricom to share a portion of its subscribers and prevent it from registering new ones. Safaricom is a brand trusted so much and people just keep going to it since for majority of the people their safaricom phone number is part of their identity just like the identity card....

[/quote.]

Meaning that I can change my number 0722**** from safcom to airtel and still keep the 0722*****
#26 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:49:27 PM

enyands wrote:
shocks wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
[quote=watesh]Hahaha what Airtel wants is for CA to tell Safaricom to share a portion of its subscribers and prevent it from registering new ones. Safaricom is a brand trusted so much and people just keep going to it since for majority of the people their safaricom phone number is part of their identity just like the identity card....

[/quote.]

Meaning that I can change my number 0722**** from safcom to airtel and still keep the 0722*****

Yes sir...that has been happening for like 3 years now. Airtel has cheaper calling rates and they claim to have a better network.

What they want is GOK to stop Safcom from introducing new products...that's just retrogressive
enyands
#27 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 11:00:40 PM

enyands wrote:
shocks wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:

[/quote.]

Yes sir...that has been happening for like 3 years now. Airtel has cheaper calling rates and they claim to have a better network.

What they want is GOK to stop them from introducing new products...that's just retrogressive

That makes them qualify for whinning babies.ill advise my people to change my numbers too .thanKS for the tip
watesh
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 8:43:18 AM

enyands wrote:
shocks wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:

[/quote.]

The number portability process seemed a way too complex process for the common mwananchi to want to bother with it. You have to really want it to go ahead and try do it
watesh
#29 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 8:45:48 AM

kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

Am sure u still throw money at them to get their services, that's trust. If u dont use any of safaricom services then I hope u enjoying these other networks
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 8:53:17 AM

watesh wrote:
kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

Am sure u still throw money at them to get their services, that's trust. If u dont use any of safaricom services then I hope u enjoying these other networks

seconded,I don't trust them at all,many customers of saf live a complaining life
subzero
#31 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 9:40:14 AM

i like the way everyone believes that they are the expert in this matter and they can advise Airtel on what they should or should not do.
Matoe
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 10:08:09 AM

enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

B is also in place, transfering money airtel to any network is free even making utility payments for zuku, dstv, kenya power e.t.c.
arkard
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 12:44:38 PM

Matoe wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

B is also in place, transfering money airtel to any network is free even making utility payments for zuku, dstv, kenya power e.t.c.

The telecom industry in Kenya is an Oligopoly and a peculiar one for that matter. Lowering the calling rates will not necessarily improve the demand. Orange has the lowest calling rates and their network is quite reliable but they still don't have the numbers.
And you can see how aggressive these firms are in their marketing.
Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#34 Posted : Saturday, September 12, 2015 10:15:00 PM

innovation under sieke
#35 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 8:34:38 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
innovation under sieke

airtel is a company without strategy. They are still to learn that Kenya is a peculiar market of 40 million souls. What works for a 1B+ people in India will not necessarily work in Kenya. Safaricom has the mass market and airtel can only make money by finding a niche a exploiting it.
#36 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 10:30:35 AM

innovation under sieke

airtel is a company without strategy. They are still to learn that Kenya is a peculiar market of 40 million souls. What works for a 1B+ people in India will not necessarily work in Kenya. Safaricom has the mass market and airtel can only make money by finding a niche a exploiting it.

One area I believe they have a chance is in data, if they're willing to invest in it.
#37 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 1:55:24 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
innovation under sieke

One area I believe they have a chance is in data, if they're willing to invest in it.

Only innovation will save them. Let them do stuff Safaricom has not yet done. But I am not holding my breath!!!

All they do is copy paste.

From bonga points to Okoa jahazi to Sambaza credo to mobile money to everything. They never think! Even simple things like partnering with Banks to offer different financial services or Paybill etc. Just wait for what Safaricom does next and copy paste!!! Then complain to anyone who cares to listen. Last time they had petitioned to have the MPesa platform open to all providers. They went all the way to Central Bank!!! Seriously??? I come up with something then you want me to be forced to share it with you? Ever heard of the word capitalism???

God luck to them.
#38 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 3:13:04 PM

Matoe wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

Even if Airtel's money transfer charges are lower Safaricom is still one up as their mpesa shops are ubiquitous. Airtel shops are few and far between
#39 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 4:18:22 PM

Shak wrote:
Matoe wrote:
enyands wrote:
kyt wrote:
watesh wrote:

Even if Airtel's money transfer charges are lower Safaricom is still one up as their mpesa shops are ubiquitous. Airtel shops are few and far between

Their money transfer and paybills are FREE. And still people are not interested!!!
#40 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 4:23:48 PM

Safaricom has a team of people employed to do a very difficult job. THINK!!! Come up with new products and improve the ones that exist. And they pay good money for that!!!

India is overflowing with IT experts. Airtel cannot pay them to innovate? Kenya also has a very huge number of smart individuals but given Airtel's knack for outsourcing...