wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Airtel might exit Kenya due to Safaricom dominance
ngapat
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:35:24 AM

Sad This is now getting ugly

business daily wrote:
Telecommunications firm Airtel could exit the Kenyan market if new regulations are not passed to curb Safaricom’s dominance, its chief executive Adil El Youssefi said on Tuesday

What would that mean for Equitel
http://www.businessdaily.../-/145sihyz/-/index.html
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:43:22 AM

Not due to dominance but abuse of it.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:46:25 AM

ngapat wrote:
Sad This is now getting ugly

[quote=business daily]Telecommunications firm Airtel could exit the Kenyan market if new regulations are not passed to curb Safaricom’s dominance, its chief executive Adil El Youssefi said on Tuesday

What would that mean for Equitel
http://www.businessdaily...-/145sihyz/-/index.html[/quote]
equity must start preparing to buy this Kenyan airtel when the worst comes
watesh
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:23:26 AM

Hahaha what Airtel wants is for CA to tell Safaricom to share a portion of its subscribers and prevent it from registering new ones. Safaricom is a brand trusted so much and people just keep going to it since for majority of the people their safaricom phone number is part of their identity just like the identity card....
Horton
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:31:34 AM

Instead of threats and complaints, airtel should up its game and improve its crappy network
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:40:09 AM

The fact of the matter is the interests of the government and its citizens, and the growth of any industry, should surpass that of one company.

If MTN/Airtel/Vodafone can compete quite well in Uganda or Airtel/Orange/Vodacom in Tanzania, what insight do we have in Kenya that long term will yield greater growth by having one player? Narrow-sightedness.

#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:41:35 AM

Horton wrote:
Instead of threats and complaints, airtel should up its game and improve its crappy network

i have alot of respect for airtel,were it not for airtel safcom calling rates could be 10bob per minute
innovator
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 11:12:48 AM

SafCon Should work even harder for dominance so that others can up their game.

But on another interesting note is helios bid for orange with their long relationship with equity and now wananchi group, plus hosting the transmitter masks.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 11:17:12 AM

Cry babies...
ngapat
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 11:38:15 AM

Banks should combine and buy this
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 12:17:01 PM

Airtel is missing the point here. Its their responsibility to ensure that they "steal" customers from Safaricom. Not SafCom to give them customers.

SafCom should actually be compelled to sell bundles at a quarter of their current price, and expand their 4G network to estates/villages where Fibre optic cable is not available.

Its senseless that Muthaiga/Runda/Karen etc have all sorts of Broadband connectivity (fiber, 3G, 4G, free wifi, Wimax, Canopy etc), yet most middle class areas are struggling with 2G and 3G. Hujuma!

Horton
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 12:39:22 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Horton wrote:

i have alot of respect for airtel,were it not for airtel safcom calling rates could be 10bob per minute

yes, however, they still control market share. I ditched my airtel line due to several dropped calls and internet inefficiencies. I'd rather pay more and get decent services vs cheap unreliable services.

I reckon, they should man up and take the competition by the proverbial nuts
mulla
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 12:41:40 PM

watesh wrote:
Hahaha what Airtel wants is for CA to tell Safaricom to share a portion of its subscribers and prevent it from registering new ones. Safaricom is a brand trusted so much and people just keep going to it since for majority of the people their safaricom phone number is part of their identity just like the identity card....

Shame on you Shame on you talk to the villagers and lower income earners who watch their pennies like a hawk and you get a different story...you find them using YU,orange,airtel and taking advantage of their offers.
For us middle/high income earners know safaricom is expensive but cant be bothered with the inconvenience of changing lines, checking rates etc plus Mpesa has locked us in. I like the new Equitel billboards with the phrase 'you now have the power to choose' or something like that.
mnandii
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 2:13:58 PM

Remeber Safaricom vs Kencell?

Safaricom won the race when it introduced Per Second Billing ahead of Kencell (now Airtel) back then. Now is just a matter of reaping what they sowed.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 4:02:28 PM

Cry babies...

You took the words right out of my mouth!!!

Airtel are the biggest cry babies ever!!! What do they want Safcom to do? Stop innovating? Stop marketing? Stop introducing new products?

Total nonsense!!!

Can someone tell me how Safaricom has abused it's dominance!! It is Airtel that gives free services and bonus airtime and all these kind of stuff. If it was Safcom that did that, we would never hear the end of it!!

I am all for competition. It is good for the customers. But you cannot go cutting someone's legs because the competitors are not creative or innovative enough!!! Provided the playing field is even/fair, you style up or ship out!!!
chris79
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 4:35:38 PM

mulla wrote:
watesh wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you talk to the villagers and lower income earners who watch their pennies like a hawk and you get a different story...you find them using YU,orange,airtel and taking advantage of their offers.
For us middle/high income earners know safaricom is expensive but cant be bothered with the inconvenience of changing lines, checking rates etc plus Mpesa has locked us in. I like the new Equitel billboards with the phrase 'you now have the power to choose' or something like that.

The numbers tell a different story...
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 4:59:45 PM

Too much talk of dominance yet no one is stating how Safcom is abusing it. It would be abuse of dominance if...Safcoms did not allow transaction across other networks, if safcom had locked up subscribers in contracts that they wouldn't get off from, if mpesa agents weren't allowed to sell the other networks merchandise.

Let's take an example of ATMs...how much would it cost for a KCB customer to withdraw from Stanchart ATM or vise-versa? Charges may be higher for transactions across other networks but that's the industry standard.

Now Airtel can go...there will be nothing that the GOK will do against Safcom, after all they own 35%. No one cuts the hand that feeds them
philipkigo
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 5:40:25 PM

I like to use Safaricom over Airtel and other telco, however i think Airtel should be listened to very carefully and encouraged to thrive in the Kenyan market. Without competition, Safaricom will also fail.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 7:00:45 PM

Too much talk of dominance yet no one is stating how Safcom is abusing it. It would be abuse of dominance if...Safcoms did not allow transaction across other networks, if safcom had locked up subscribers in contracts that they wouldn't get off from, if mpesa agents weren't allowed to sell the other networks merchandise.

Let's take an example of ATMs...how much would it cost for a KCB customer to withdraw from Stanchart ATM or vise-versa? Charges may be higher for transactions across other networks but that's the industry standard.

Now Airtel can go...there will be nothing that the GOK will do against Safcom, after all they own 35%. No one cuts the hand that feeds them

safcom will not laugh forever time will come,I wish banks can team up to buy airtel and offer free voice
hisah
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 7:26:01 PM

mlennyma wrote:

safcom will not laugh forever time will come,I wish banks can team up to buy airtel and offer free voice

@mlennyma, who has disrupted the other, mpesa bank or the banks? History states that once a new entrant disrupts a market it's game over! Don't expect the banks to take back their banking cherry. They missed seeing the disruptive storm and missed it by the oceans to boot!

After the bear storm passes, load up on mpesa bank until the next disruption happens.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!